Go Back   FileForums > Support Forums > FileForums Support
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 20-02-2010, 16:19
slopok's Avatar
slopok slopok is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: New Mexico, USA
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
slopok is on a distinguished road
Send a message via ICQ to slopok Send a message via AIM to slopok Send a message via MSN to slopok Send a message via Yahoo to slopok
Is this real or phishing...?

I just received this email to my real email and came here to see what's up with it. I find this person has 0 posts to his credit and figured it must not be real but a phishing attempt. Can anyone clear this up for me?
Quote:
Rubieeallenn
Registered User
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: US
Posts: 0



Spam
Your computer was noticed in email spam. It is quite possible that it is a part of botnet (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Botnet). Strongly recommend you to scan your computer for malware. You can do it online, for example, at:

http://**************************spamm...y.prime;IceAIM

Please, follow this. Otherwise I have to send abuse mail to your ISP with all the ensuing consequences.
Thank you, Reuben Allen.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 20-02-2010, 16:37
Wanderer Wanderer is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Wanderer is on a distinguished road
I recieved the following which is simular, suprised me a little, so had to come on and find out, needless to say I did NOT click the links:
Quote:
Dear Wanderer,
You have received a new private message at FileForums from Rubieeallenn, entitled "Spam".
To read the original version, respond to, or delete this message, you must log in here:
http://fileforums.com/private.php

This is the message that was sent:
***************
Your computer was noticed in email spam. It is quite possible that it is a part of botnet (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Botnet). Strongly recommend you to scan your computer for malware. You can do it online, for example, at:

http://***********************************Stiv Rex;shareware;Wanderer;licker23;superdude2

Please, follow this. Otherwise I have to send abuse mail to your ISP with all the ensuing consequences.
Thank you, Reuben Allen.
***************

Again, please do not reply to this email. You must go to the following page to reply to this private message:
http://fileforums.com/private.php

All the best,
FileForums

Last edited by Wanderer; 20-02-2010 at 16:39.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 20-02-2010, 18:50
Joe Forster/STA's Avatar
Joe Forster/STA Joe Forster/STA is offline
Senior forum member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Hungary
Posts: 9,836
Thanks: 20
Thanked 342 Times in 224 Posts
Joe Forster/STA is on a distinguished road
Never read, make use of or reply to such suspicious messages - be it a PM or an E-mail, be it this forum or any other. User permbanned.

@Empire: These PM spams are getting frequent lately. Can you disable the sending of PM's for all users under a post count of X (X = 5, 10, 20, whatever)?
__________________
Joe Forster/STA
For more information, see the FileForums forum rules and the PC Games forum FAQ!
Don't contact me via E-mail or PM to ask for help with anything other than patches (or software in general) done by me, otherwise your request may be deleted without any reply!
Homepage: http://sta.c64.org, E-mail: [email protected]; for attachments, send compressed (ZIP or RAR) files only, otherwise your E-mail will bounce back!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 21-02-2010, 15:49
slopok's Avatar
slopok slopok is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: New Mexico, USA
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
slopok is on a distinguished road
Send a message via ICQ to slopok Send a message via AIM to slopok Send a message via MSN to slopok Send a message via Yahoo to slopok
Thanks guys I figured it was a phishing scam and never click internal links like that but needed to be sure that in some way my computer hadn't been compromised. I play security pretty close to the belt and couldn't figure out how it could be real, since I hadn't been here on this site fr quite a long while and especially over the last three OS system installs.

Regards...
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 14-06-2010, 02:34
John1 John1 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Watford, HE
Posts: 26
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
John1
Hi,

Yes, a promotional gimmick.
I have just recieved a PM from INIKEY inviting me to d/l HOT MOVIES.

If inikey has only one or even none posts then its probably a registration from a 'bot'.

I agree that the PM service should only be available to members with some minimum of posts.

John
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 14-06-2010, 02:50
John1 John1 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Watford, HE
Posts: 26
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
John1
I see that Inikey is not in the members list.
Maybe its been removed.

John
Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Real Pikachu?! donutman123 Chit Chat 10 14-01-2010 18:32
pro evo 5 real clubs patch Whos_Ur_Paddy? PC Games 5 27-10-2005 23:06
real pool 2 cyclops12m PC Games 2 08-05-2002 11:55
REAL WARS REAL PROBLEM Mel CD/DVD Copy Protections & Utilities 1 10-11-2001 03:54
REAL WAR HELP m@tt4fun PC Games 0 27-09-2001 13:07



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 15:32.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2026, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
FileForums @ https://fileforums.com