FileForums

FileForums (https://fileforums.com/index.php)
-   FileForums Support (https://fileforums.com/forumdisplay.php?f=31)
-   -   Is this real or phishing...? (https://fileforums.com/showthread.php?t=89073)

slopok 20-02-2010 16:19

Is this real or phishing...?
 
I just received this email to my real email and came here to see what's up with it. I find this person has 0 posts to his credit and figured it must not be real but a phishing attempt. Can anyone clear this up for me?
Quote:

Rubieeallenn http://www.fileforums.com/images/sta...ser_online.gif
Registered User
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: US
Posts: 0
http://www.fileforums.com/images/rep...tation_pos.gif
http://www.fileforums.com/images/misc/im_icq.gif

Spam
Your computer was noticed in email spam. It is quite possible that it is a part of botnet (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Botnet). Strongly recommend you to scan your computer for malware. You can do it online, for example, at:

http://**************************spamm...y.prime;IceAIM

Please, follow this. Otherwise I have to send abuse mail to your ISP with all the ensuing consequences.
Thank you, Reuben Allen.

Wanderer 20-02-2010 16:37

I recieved the following which is simular, suprised me a little, so had to come on and find out, needless to say I did NOT click the links:
Quote:

Dear Wanderer,
You have received a new private message at FileForums from Rubieeallenn, entitled "Spam".
To read the original version, respond to, or delete this message, you must log in here:
http://fileforums.com/private.php

This is the message that was sent:
***************
Your computer was noticed in email spam. It is quite possible that it is a part of botnet (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Botnet). Strongly recommend you to scan your computer for malware. You can do it online, for example, at:

http://***********************************Stiv Rex;shareware;Wanderer;licker23;superdude2

Please, follow this. Otherwise I have to send abuse mail to your ISP with all the ensuing consequences.
Thank you, Reuben Allen.
***************

Again, please do not reply to this email. You must go to the following page to reply to this private message:
http://fileforums.com/private.php

All the best,
FileForums

Joe Forster/STA 20-02-2010 18:50

Never read, make use of or reply to such suspicious messages - be it a PM or an E-mail, be it this forum or any other. User permbanned.

@Empire: These PM spams are getting frequent lately. Can you disable the sending of PM's for all users under a post count of X (X = 5, 10, 20, whatever)?

slopok 21-02-2010 15:49

Thanks guys I figured it was a phishing scam and never click internal links like that but needed to be sure that in some way my computer hadn't been compromised. I play security pretty close to the belt and couldn't figure out how it could be real, since I hadn't been here on this site fr quite a long while and especially over the last three OS system installs.

Regards...

John1 14-06-2010 02:34

Hi,

Yes, a promotional gimmick.
I have just recieved a PM from INIKEY inviting me to d/l HOT MOVIES.

If inikey has only one or even none posts then its probably a registration from a 'bot'.

I agree that the PM service should only be available to members with some minimum of posts.

John :)

John1 14-06-2010 02:50

I see that Inikey is not in the members list.
Maybe its been removed.

John :)


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 19:09.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2026, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
FileForums @ https://fileforums.com