Go Back   FileForums > Game Backup > PC Games

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 31-08-2010, 09:29
xy_ashley.exe's Avatar
xy_ashley.exe xy_ashley.exe is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: South Africa
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
xy_ashley.exe is on a distinguished road
Rise of The Argonauts "Not Enough Memory" fix?

Hi guys.I got Rise of The Argonauts today.I know the game is old and didn't score good ratings but I'd still like to play it but this annoying "You do not have enough memory" message pops up when I launch the game preventing me from running the game.Is there any workaround/fix to this problem?

I know I'm getting this because I only have 1gb of RAM on Windows 7 but surely 1gb is enough to run the game on lower settings.

I've noticed the game uses Unreal Engine.Maybe there's a setting somewhere in the games configuration files that can help-maybe something like a "no requirements check" type of settings switch.

Please help and excuse my bad grammar.

Last edited by xy_ashley.exe; 31-08-2010 at 14:50.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 31-08-2010, 09:47
TippeX's Avatar
TippeX TippeX is offline
zeroes and ones.....
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 3,842
Thanks: 2
Thanked 35 Times in 23 Posts
TippeX is on a distinguished road
this can happen if you run an exe from a mini image (which is a bad idea)
__________________
bleh
DO NOT PM me with questions, leave that in the forums...ESPECIALLY if i dont know you...
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 31-08-2010, 09:57
xy_ashley.exe's Avatar
xy_ashley.exe xy_ashley.exe is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: South Africa
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
xy_ashley.exe is on a distinguished road
But I'm not even doing that.Like I said I know I don't have enough RAM but if I am able to run Gears of War which also uses the Unreal Engine to almost the same level as Rise of The Argonauts then surely I must able to run the game on my system if only I can get passed this stupid "Not enough memory" message.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 31-08-2010, 10:11
TippeX's Avatar
TippeX TippeX is offline
zeroes and ones.....
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 3,842
Thanks: 2
Thanked 35 Times in 23 Posts
TippeX is on a distinguished road
well you do have enough ram, even with 1gig physical, there is still virtual memory.. or hmm.. have you disabled virtual memory (page file) ?
__________________
bleh
DO NOT PM me with questions, leave that in the forums...ESPECIALLY if i dont know you...
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 31-08-2010, 10:20
xy_ashley.exe's Avatar
xy_ashley.exe xy_ashley.exe is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: South Africa
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
xy_ashley.exe is on a distinguished road
I have 1gb on-board,1gb physical and I haven't disabled the page file.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 31-08-2010, 11:45
Joe Forster/STA's Avatar
Joe Forster/STA Joe Forster/STA is offline
Senior forum member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Hungary
Posts: 9,433
Thanks: 6
Thanked 172 Times in 106 Posts
Joe Forster/STA is on a distinguished road
It may simply not be compatible with Windows 7. (It may use something not-so-compatible which doesn't work anymore, at least that way, on a newer Windows.)
__________________
Joe Forster/STA
For more information, see the FileForums forum rules and the PC Games forum FAQ!
Don't contact me via E-mail or PM to ask for help with anything other than patches (or software in general) done by me, otherwise your request may be deleted without any reply!
Homepage: http://sta.c64.org, E-mail: [email protected]; for attachments, send compressed (ZIP or RAR) files only, otherwise your E-mail will bounce back!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 31-08-2010, 12:42
Cowsheep Cowsheep is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Near OEP;)
Posts: 352
Thanks: 0
Thanked 12 Times in 4 Posts
Cowsheep is on a distinguished road
This game got Unreal Engine 3, means 2 GB RAM minimum on Win XP.
For Vista and 7 you should have at least 2,5 GB physical RAM.

You can upload all exe and dll files (inside Binaries folder). Then i can try to remove the memory check. But if the game works then, is the other question.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 31-08-2010, 14:44
xy_ashley.exe's Avatar
xy_ashley.exe xy_ashley.exe is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: South Africa
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
xy_ashley.exe is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by Joe Forster/STA View Post
It may simply not be compatible with Windows 7. (It may use something not-so-compatible which doesn't work anymore, at least that way, on a newer Windows.)
Sorry for taking long to reply but I have found the solution.

Thank you for pointing that out Joe Forster.I seemed to have tricked the game in thinking that I'm running XP (and thus that I have the minimum 1gb RAM required to run the game on XP) by simply using XP compatibility mode!Now the game is running perfectly on Win7!

Thank all you guys for trying to help.I appreciate it very much.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Rise of the Argonauts (DVD9 to 2x DVD5) senseman PC Games - CD/DVD Conversions 14 06-05-2009 12:10
The Settlers: Rise of an Empire cdkiller PC Games - Protection List 13 19-03-2009 09:54
Rise of the Argonauts ShadowDuke PC Games - Protection List 0 11-12-2008 11:25
Rise Of Nations 1.2 Crack No-cd? hackerlazer PC Games 0 13-06-2003 09:37



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 19:18.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2000-2018, FileForums @ https://fileforums.com