Go Back   FileForums > Game Backup > PC Games > PC Games - CD/DVD Conversions

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 27-09-2008, 02:13
ravd ravd is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: ???
Posts: 188
Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
ravd is on a distinguished road
The Witcher Enhanced Edition [English Only]

The Witcher Enhanced Edition ENGLISH Only DVD5

You need atleast 20GB of free space on harddrive (10GB for dvd content, 10GB for doing repacking of cabs)

1) Copy all files from DVD1 and DVD2 to SAME TEMP folder

2) Download needed files

twee-eng.zip
intro.7z 89.79 MB
outro.7z 38.17 MB

3) Extract intro.7z and outro.7z into TEMP folder

4) Extract twee-eng.zip into TEMP folder, overwrite when asked

5) Run batch files

1_remove_vo.bat
2_replace_biks.bat
3_clean_up.bat

6) Delete Docs* folders except DocsENG

7) Edit setup.ini and change EnableLangDlg=Y to EnableLangDlg=N

8) Add crack folder

9) Burn or make iso with label of your choice

NOTES

When installing you don't need to uncheck languages which was removed

Intro.bik and outro.bik is replaced with highly compressed biks.

Intro.bik Original 1280x720 Avg Data Rate: 1,128,090 / Compressed 640x360 Avg Data Rate: 213,989 (Compressed to 20% of the original)
Outro.bik Original 1280x720 Avg Data Rate: 1,200,124 / Compressed 640x360 Avg Data Rate: 240,556 (Compressed to 20% of the original)

Videos are still very watchable when scaled, some blockiness and just not sharp as original

Last edited by ravd; 05-11-2008 at 04:48.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 28-09-2008, 11:25
emrahcey emrahcey is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: istanbul
Posts: 12
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
emrahcey is on a distinguished road
This work Perfect , Thank you.

Last edited by Grumpy; 01-02-2011 at 06:21.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 28-09-2008, 12:46
ravd ravd is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: ???
Posts: 188
Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
ravd is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexvander View Post
thanks very much for this but what exactly does the "1_remove_vo.bat" actually remove?
Voice-overs, spoken speech during game. Only english voice-over is kept

My 2xDVD5 conversion explains about what is removed

http://fileforums.com/showpost.php?p=361458&postcount=7

Last edited by ravd; 28-09-2008 at 12:51.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-10-2008, 14:33
mouradou mouradou is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: tn
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
mouradou is on a distinguished road
big thx for your effort
could you pls do a french only conversion or tell how whats needed for it?

Last edited by mouradou; 08-10-2008 at 14:39.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-10-2008, 15:09
ravd ravd is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: ???
Posts: 188
Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
ravd is on a distinguished road
follow conversion steps to point where you should run batch files, don't run any of them yet.

instead delete vo.txt and then open notepad and copy paste this into it
Code:
ISCAB data1.cab -l -i"vo.txt"
select "Save As..." File name: make_list.bat Save as type: All files (*.*)

and but make_list.bat into your TEMP folder, then run it, this then makes list of all files which are in cabs

Now edit vo.txt

remove all files which you want keep, so leave only [Voice***], [M1_***], [M2_***] entries (but remember remove French ones, if you are making french only]

So it should look similar like this (you can leave subtitle files too, if you don't need them)
Code:
[ISCAB Info]
Product=ISCAB
Version=2.0

[VoiceITA]
File1="lang_13.key"
File2="voices_13_00.bif"

[VoiceGER]
File1="lang_10.key"
File2="voices_10_00.bif"

[M1_ITA]
File1="M1_13.key"
File2="voices\M1_13_00.bif"

[M1_GER]
File1="M1_10.key"
File2="voices\M1_10_00.bif"

[M2_ITA]
File1="M2_13.key"
File2="voices\M2_13_00.bif"

[M2_GER]
File1="M2_10.key"
File2="voices\M2_10_00.bif"

and so on...
Save vo.txt and run 1_remove_vo.bat

change Default=0x0009 to your language code too in setup.ini (i think french was 0x040c)
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-10-2008, 06:25
mouradou mouradou is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: tn
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
mouradou is on a distinguished road
thx ravd for the french conversion
it s working perfect
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 27-10-2008, 07:38
fracicone fracicone is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Venezuela
Posts: 15
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
fracicone is on a distinguished road
Hi there!
Thanks for the conversion but I found a little flaw (and a fix for it):
if the OS is in certain languages (in my case my PC came with Vista Home Premium in SPANISH), the games tries to install itself in the OS language.
In order to FORCE the game to install in english the last portion of the setup.ini must be:

[Languages]
Default=0x0009
count=1
key0=0x0009

otherwise it keeps asking for the DVD.
Hope this helps, and thanks again for the TERRIFIC conversion.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 23-12-2008, 07:37
voodoo_nbgd voodoo_nbgd is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Serbia, Europe
Posts: 63
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
voodoo_nbgd is on a distinguished road
The sound problem is related to semi-updated Miles and Bink libraries in v1.4 (that is, the versions of those libraries don't like each other, and make problems for many users). I got similar problems (the game crashed when tried to reproduce .bik clips, and also EAX didn't work).

Some guy took working dlls from version 1.3 and placed them in the tech support section of the official forum.

Here's the link: TheWitcher1.4EE_EAX_fix_TRY3.zip

Just extract them into Witcher/System folder, overwriting the existing files. Tried this, works great.
You can also take these dlls from version 1.3 if you have first, non-EE Witcher. Also update DirectX to the latest november version, just in case.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 30-12-2008, 14:07
voodoo_nbgd voodoo_nbgd is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Serbia, Europe
Posts: 63
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
voodoo_nbgd is on a distinguished road
Update: there is the new official patch called TWEE_EAX_HotFix_2.3.exe (106 MB), which also solves this problem (I don't know why is it so big, though).
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 26-04-2009, 01:59
ch2rom's Avatar
ch2rom ch2rom is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Vietnam
Posts: 32
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
ch2rom is on a distinguished road
Send a message via Yahoo to ch2rom
Thank ravd, it work perfect
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 27-04-2009, 07:39
Ticcer Ticcer is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Right Here
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Ticcer is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by voodoo_nbgd View Post
Update: there is the new official patch called TWEE_EAX_HotFix_2.3.exe (106 MB), which also solves this problem (I don't know why is it so big, though).
The update is so big because it includes several different versions of The Witcher executables to cover the many different upgrade paths (i.e from original edition or the DVD enhanced edition).

However. Applying the EAX/Blur hotfix renders the intro movie annoyingly frustrating to watch due to new sound issues that seem to relate to codecs already installed.... after applying the hotfix to version 1.4.5.1303, the sound cuts in and out of the movies in the game as well as the intro.

Still searching for a solution.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 01-06-2009, 12:33
ale100 ale100 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Scotland,UK
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
ale100 is on a distinguished road
when you say non Russian files do you mean English ones as well i have identified all the non English files including Russian ones and added them to vo.txt but i want my game to be English only not in Russian at all. The only thing is by default it is the Russian version of the game. My version supports about 8 language's and i have set the default to install in to English in setup.ini as said above by changing
Code:
[Languages]
Default=0x0019
count=1
key0=0x0019
to
Code:
[Languages]
Default=0x0009
count=1
key0=0x0009
Now i would like to rip all other language's out (including Russian) except English. The French example in previous post managed to rip English (and all other language's except French) out of the English version and have it only in French so it should be possible to rip Russian (and all other language's except English) out of the Russian version and have it only in English.
version and have it only in English
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 01-06-2009, 12:55
peterf1999's Avatar
peterf1999 peterf1999 is offline
Die Hard Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Italy
Posts: 928
Thanks: 14
Thanked 948 Times in 233 Posts
peterf1999 is on a distinguished road
@ale100

1) type:

Code:
 iscab data1.cab -i"list.ini" -l
(for generate content's list of cabs)

2) edit it with your favorite text editor to remove english files.

3) type:

Code:
iscab data1.cab -i"list.ini" -r
(for repacking cabs)

Last edited by peterf1999; 01-06-2009 at 13:30.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 01-06-2009, 13:00
peterf1999's Avatar
peterf1999 peterf1999 is offline
Die Hard Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Italy
Posts: 928
Thanks: 14
Thanked 948 Times in 233 Posts
peterf1999 is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by ale100 View Post
sounds good to me but now i have done it like mondragon said only keeping Russian files oh well Guess i will have to start again !LOL!
yep, keep russian files in list.ini to remove them from cabs

Only the files in list.ini will be removed from cabs

Last edited by peterf1999; 01-06-2009 at 13:06.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 01-06-2009, 14:16
ale100 ale100 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Scotland,UK
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
ale100 is on a distinguished road
suppose not but i should have been intelligent to work that out as i have done many similar things in the past. The Result works fine but couldn't fit DirectX on and had to overburn it no big deal though. Just put the DirectX web Setup On.
So Thanks Again for all you help. However i am still experiencing a minor bug the game installer will refuse to start if the setup.ini reads.
Code:
[Languages]
Default=0x0009
count=1
key0=0x0009
so i have to leave it as the Russian default
Code:
[Languages]
Default=0x0019
count=1
key0=0x0019
My only problem with this is the installer is still in Russian and the menu is still by default in Russian. This can be changed via options menu but i would like to know how it could by default make it in English. Baring in mind that when the Default or key0 or both is changed to 0x0009 (English Default) the installer starts (in English) but comes up with a blank error before actually starting installing. Thanks in advanced

Last edited by ale100; 02-06-2009 at 14:28.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The Witcher Enhanced Edition (Multi 6) theimperatorum PC Games - CD/DVD Conversions 19 13-03-2017 18:29
The Witcher [UK Only] (DVD9 To DVD5) FREEMAN100 PC Games - CD/DVD Conversions 9 25-09-2008 04:41
The Witcher - Enhanced Edition cdkiller PC Games - Protection List 0 23-09-2008 02:00



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:10.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2000-2018, FileForums @ https://fileforums.com