Go Back   FileForums > Game Backup > Sony PlayStation > PS2 Games

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-02-2005, 19:54
woo124 woo124 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 109
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
woo124 is on a distinguished road
HD Loader FAQ

Hi,

I came ascross HD Loader FAQ, and I wanted to have a few points verified.
http://homepage.ntlworld.com/casey.m...D%20Loader.htm

1.around 2GB will be used by HD Loader as a system file
I was told on this forum thaty HD Loader doesn't take up any space. So, which one is true?

2.Also be aware that Sony has implied that they may start scanning the official hard drive for HD Loader files.
Does anybody know if this is true, or if it started to happen?

3.If you install one of the games that can be played online off the hard drive, do not let anyone else use you disc because online play discs have specific IDs and if the same ID is online at the same time, all PS2s using it receive a permanent ban on all online PS2 services including games, content and central station.
I was told earlier on this forum that unlike XBox, there's no permanent ban on PS2 online games even if I try to use backup disks. Although this is not exactly the same situation, but I think it's similar enough. Does anybody know if what they are saying is true that you can get banned permanently from PS2 network?

One last question. Can you use 3rd party HDD to transfer some of your game saves to HDD?

I'm sorry for the long post, but I just wanted to verify some of the info based on your expertise. I thank you in advance for any information

Last edited by woo124; 10-02-2005 at 19:57.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 10-02-2005, 20:32
barkroc2's Avatar
barkroc2 barkroc2 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: ny
Posts: 221
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
barkroc2 is on a distinguished road
1>yes- hdloader does use a couple gb for sys. files not sure exactly maybe 4?
2>dont know
3> certain things can get you a perm ban from sony server, dont think chip detection is one though, but i heardupe ids will---keep your origs anyway, good peace of mind!
4>yes hdd --> hdd w/hdldumb ..but i still cant figure out that damn flashfxp!!!!!!!!!!!!
__________________
[COLOR=Red]xBox 360 elite yet to be "fixed"/modded ps2 120gb hdd [/COLOR]
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-02-2005, 23:51
khafan khafan is offline
Die Hard Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Nakoja abad
Posts: 408
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
khafan
Send a message via AIM to khafan Send a message via MSN to khafan
yeah when you format the hdd, about 2GB been used for system partitions but hdloader only use 128MB partiton to save its settings. also since hdloader is based on dms hdd format tool, it'll create 1GB BOOT partition too. this partition was used to boot homebrew elfs of the hdd with dms3 and if you don't have dms chip then it's a waste of space. anyway 3GB waste of space shouldn't be a big problem with 200GB hdd.

the only online ban that I've experienced was socom 2 and it was temp ban on the dna$ id and noting else.

yeah you can transfer your saves from MC to 3rd party HDD, look for MCManager V0.1 .
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-02-2005, 20:39
woo124 woo124 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 109
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
woo124 is on a distinguished road
1. How long was the temp ban?
2.So, you can't transfer your saves from MC to 3rd party HDD without something extra such as MCManager V0.1? If you have Sony Official one, couldn't you do it without anything?
3. With Sony Official HDD, can you use it just like Memory Card (e.g. just save games directly to HDD)? Or, do you always have to go through the memory card to transfer the saves?
4. Are operations (copy & delete) using HDD faster or is the MC faster?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-02-2005, 03:23
khafan khafan is offline
Die Hard Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Nakoja abad
Posts: 408
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
khafan
Send a message via AIM to khafan Send a message via MSN to khafan
1.I think the first time was 2 hours and it'll increase if you don't wait and login again immediately.

2.with $ony official hdd, you should first install the $ony hdd utility and then you can see the hdd icon in browser screen.

3.the game itself should support direct save on hdd, maybe some of those Japanese games have this feature.

4.copy speed from MC to hdd or vice versa is limited to MC transfer speed, but managing files in the hdd obviously is faster.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-02-2005, 09:36
woo124 woo124 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 109
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
woo124 is on a distinguished road
Thank you for your answers. I greatly appreciate it.
There's just one thing that hasn't been answered.
So, you can't transfer your saves from MC to 3rd party HDD without something extra such as MCManager V0.1?
Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-02-2005, 11:20
spedmetal's Avatar
spedmetal spedmetal is offline
Die Hard Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: California , USA
Posts: 1,573
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
spedmetal is on a distinguished road
Send a message via ICQ to spedmetal Send a message via AIM to spedmetal Send a message via Yahoo to spedmetal
Quote:
Originally Posted by woo124
Thank you for your answers. I greatly appreciate it.
There's just one thing that hasn't been answered.
So, you can't transfer your saves from MC to 3rd party HDD without something extra such as MCManager V0.1?
Thanks
No you cant, and I dont think you can do this even with an official sony HDD.
__________________
[color=blue][size=2][b]Click[url=http://www.ps2-scene.org/forums/showthread.php?t=25770] here [/url]to view refes. Click[url=http://www.norcalmods.com/gallery] here [/url]to view install gallery[/b][/size][/color]
[size=2][b][color=red]Mod chip installs and repair [/color][/b][/size] [url]www.norcalmods.com[/url]
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 14-02-2005, 18:34
woo124 woo124 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 109
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
woo124 is on a distinguished road
khafan
Hi,

I did manage to find MC Manager. But, how would I actually go about running it? It looked like just a .rar file.

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 14-02-2005, 19:25
TylerDurden's Avatar
TylerDurden TylerDurden is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: FileForums
Posts: 5,530
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
TylerDurden is on a distinguished road
Send a message via AIM to TylerDurden
Unrar it maybe?



Tyler!
__________________
[B]V7 Ps2 Messiah 2
V13 PSTwo DMS4 Pro and HD-Connect(Installed myself)[/B]
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DVD Loader help please. Distearth2 PS2 Games 3 24-10-2004 06:51
Machina's Diablo 2 1.10 BNET loader remix - PROPER Machina PC Games 25 16-08-2004 04:51
Will HD Loader work on old PS2? HBK114 PS2 Games 2 15-07-2004 06:34
Warcraft3 B-Net Loader for v1.3 patch [Fate] PC Games 5 24-10-2002 04:43
Vga Box + Boot Loader THeM4tRiX DC Games 0 11-07-2001 09:54



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 21:03.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2000-2018, FileForums @ https://fileforums.com