Go Back   FileForums > Game Backup > PC Games > PC Games - CD/DVD Conversions > Conversion Tutorials

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #16  
Old 31-12-2011, 21:00
seventhorama seventhorama is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: outer space
Posts: 29
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
seventhorama is on a distinguished road
there it is
Attached Files
File Type: 7z sample.7z (18.80 MB, 373 views)

Last edited by seventhorama; 31-12-2011 at 21:33.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #17  
Old 31-12-2011, 22:41
pakrat2k2's Avatar
pakrat2k2 pakrat2k2 is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 6,877
Thanks: 2,678
Thanked 7,834 Times in 2,784 Posts
pakrat2k2 is on a distinguished road
just a couple things need changing under the [setup] in main iss script

DefaultDirname={pf}..... change to {pf32}..... ( this is so that if using X64 windows it will install in the correct path NOT place it in program files ( like {pf} states. look in help under inno program )

also under [registry] section change the language valuedata en to {code:GetLngID} that way if someone installs in language other then english, the correct value gets written in the registry.

missed changing EXE under #ifdef AddToFireWallList in main iss section.

the autorun.iss also had quite a few changes as you had Install Folder, but game had no Install Folder Registry entry so those were changed to InstallPath ( like the entry in reg setion of main iss script)

The last couple things you need to do is change the images in the wizard_res folder to match your game, and change the autorun.inf in compiled folder(s) to match your game.

I've made the corrections as noted above and added a comment for what was changed ( starts with //, so you should easily spot them ) & reuploaded the corrected files ( ISS script files )

oh... HAPPY NEW YEAR !!!
Attached Files
File Type: rar seventhorama_ISS.rar (14.3 KB, 127 views)

Last edited by pakrat2k2; 31-12-2011 at 22:44.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 01-01-2012, 07:39
seventhorama seventhorama is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: outer space
Posts: 29
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
seventhorama is on a distinguished road
happy new year too

play button and uninstall button works now

thx mate
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 07-01-2012, 23:57
seventhorama seventhorama is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: outer space
Posts: 29
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
seventhorama is on a distinguished road
can i make patcher using innosetup with silent parameter? so it install directly to game installation folder without configure patcher path first

i still havent found a way to do it
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 08-01-2012, 08:20
pakrat2k2's Avatar
pakrat2k2 pakrat2k2 is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 6,877
Thanks: 2,678
Thanked 7,834 Times in 2,784 Posts
pakrat2k2 is on a distinguished road
just add the patch to source files, then in run section add the exe and any switches needed to have it run silently
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 14-01-2012, 11:54
seventhorama seventhorama is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: outer space
Posts: 29
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
seventhorama is on a distinguished road
i have a problem

the patcher cant automatically detect the game installation folder

i put this in [Setup] section

[Setup]
AppName={#MyAppName}
AppVerName={#MyAppVersion}
AppPublisher={#MyAppPublisher}
AppPublisherURL={#MyAppURL}
AppSupportURL={#MyAppURL}
AppUpdatesURL={#MyAppURL}
DefaultDirName={app}\
DefaultGroupName={#MyAppName}
InfoBeforeFile=ReadMe.txt
OutputDir=E:\Installer
OutputBaseFilename=setup
Compression=none
DiskSpanning=yes
SlicesPerDisk=3
DiskSliceSize=1400000000

when i run it, it shows this error

"internal error: an attempt was made to expand the "app" constant before it was initialized"

do i need something? like registry section or something?

about the patcher, i need it separated from original installer. this one is kind of old games that have 2 disk and needed disk 2 to do the patch, so i get some files in the game installation folder that changes and put them in some folder.

then i try to make this patcher automatically detects the game installation folder and move needed files to replace the old files. and i need it to run silently (without user need to browse game installation folder). is it possible? where do i put silent parameter for this installer?
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 14-01-2012, 17:58
pakrat2k2's Avatar
pakrat2k2 pakrat2k2 is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 6,877
Thanks: 2,678
Thanked 7,834 Times in 2,784 Posts
pakrat2k2 is on a distinguished road
the defaultdirname must be set first. then after the [setup] section you use the {app}

try using the help in inno as everything youve asked is in there.
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 14-01-2012, 22:41
seventhorama seventhorama is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: outer space
Posts: 29
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
seventhorama is on a distinguished road
need help to get this install dir thing works
Attached Files
File Type: 7z inno.7z (1.4 KB, 87 views)

Last edited by seventhorama; 14-01-2012 at 22:47.
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 19-01-2012, 01:33
peterf1999's Avatar
peterf1999 peterf1999 is offline
Die Hard Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Italy
Posts: 928
Thanks: 14
Thanked 948 Times in 233 Posts
peterf1999 is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by seventhorama View Post
need help to get this install dir thing works
[Files]
Source: D:\TS2_ISOS\The Sims 2 Exp1 University\Patchfiles\*; DestDir: {code:GetAppPath}; Flags: ignoreversion recursesubdirs
Code:
var installDir : string;

function InitializeSetup(): Boolean;

Begin
  // Checking running application
if FindWindowByWindowName('The Sims 2 University') <> 0 then
begin
      MsgBox('The Sims 2 University is running.'#10'Please close the application first.', mbInformation, MB_OK);
      exit;
end;
    
if not RegQueryStringValue(HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE, 'Software\EA GAMES\The Sims 2 University', 'Install Dir', installDir)
  then  MsgBox('The Sims 2 University is not installed on this computer..'#10'Cancelling Update.', mbInformation, MB_OK) 
else Result := True

End;

function GetAppPath(Param: string): string;
begin
  Result := installDir;
end;
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 19-01-2012, 15:55
seventhorama seventhorama is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: outer space
Posts: 29
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
seventhorama is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by peterf1999 View Post
[Files]
Source: D:\TS2_ISOS\The Sims 2 Exp1 University\Patchfiles\*; DestDir: {code:GetAppPath}; Flags: ignoreversion recursesubdirs
Code:
var installDir : string;

function InitializeSetup(): Boolean;

Begin
  // Checking running application
if FindWindowByWindowName('The Sims 2 University') <> 0 then
begin
      MsgBox('The Sims 2 University is running.'#10'Please close the application first.', mbInformation, MB_OK);
      exit;
end;
    
if not RegQueryStringValue(HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE, 'Software\EA GAMES\The Sims 2 University', 'Install Dir', installDir)
  then  MsgBox('The Sims 2 University is not installed on this computer..'#10'Cancelling Update.', mbInformation, MB_OK) 
else Result := True

End;

function GetAppPath(Param: string): string;
begin
  Result := installDir;
end;
it works now

thx mate
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 08-04-2012, 15:28
HellRazor HellRazor is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: x
Posts: 186
Thanks: 219
Thanked 102 Times in 56 Posts
HellRazor is on a distinguished road
How can I make Inno install certain files at some other location?

Example: You have files in folder A that need to be installed like anything else,
C:\Program Files\A
But, in folder B, you have files that should go to System32 folder.

How can I set that up?
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 08-04-2012, 21:52
pakrat2k2's Avatar
pakrat2k2 pakrat2k2 is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 6,877
Thanks: 2,678
Thanked 7,834 Times in 2,784 Posts
pakrat2k2 is on a distinguished road
while in inno script click on help > constants


but be very careful installing into system fodler as can make a user's system unbootable if writing files into system folder, that are not for that version of windows.

just generally not a good idea to force install those types of files ( usually dll's ), safer to run a main exe ( in run section ) that will install the proper files for that OS.
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 05-05-2012, 01:54
GlassER GlassER is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: PL
Posts: 28
Thanks: 5
Thanked 5 Times in 3 Posts
GlassER is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by REV0 View Post
Allright, i'm opening this thread because there are people who's asking 'how to ansi version of INNO' to prevent this question here's the tutorial for ya.

1. Go to their page first:

Code:
http://www.jrsoftware.org/isdl.php#stable
2. Download 'isetup-5.4.2.exe' :



3. Install the setup, during the setup, select the language, select the installation folder etc.

During the install you will see optional install about a ISPP add-on. Install it also.

4. Installation will complete and you can use INNO Setup directly.

No matter what you'll do, you will use ANSI type of INNO now. TO be sure if it's ANSI or not check the bar:



If you see (a) this means it's ANSI version.

Conversion makers can use this info in their conversion threads to prevent ANSI related questions. (Don't copy whole thread just give the link of it)
After reading this post to appear at my doubts.
I do not know what Inno Setup Compiler (with the letter (a) or (u) use to
properly ran your language in the installer.
I always thought that Unicode is correct because it has built-in ANSI, according to the author of Inno setup according to this information:
"Unicode Inno Setup
Beginning with Inno Setup 5.3.0, there are two versions of Inno Setup available: Non Unicode Inno Setup and Unicode Inno Setup.

Key features of Unicode Inno Setup are its ability to display any language on any system regardless of the system code page, and its ability to work with Unicode filenames. One could consider Unicode Inno Setup as the new standard Inno Setup and Non Unicode Inno Setup as an old special Inno Setup for those who still need to support NT/9x or who want the very smallest size possible.

If you don't remember which version you installed, click the "Inno Setup Compiler" shortcut created in the Start Menu. If the version number displayed in its title bar says "(a)" you are running Non Unicode Inno Setup. If it says "(u)" you are running Unicode Inno Setup.

For the most part the two versions are used identically, and any differences between them are noted throughout the help file. However, the following overview lists the primary differences:

•Unicode Inno Setup uses the existing ANSI .isl language files and you should not and may not convert these to Unicode or anything similar since it does so automatically during compilation using the LanguageCodePage setting of the language. However, you do need to convert existing [Messages] and [CustomMessages] entries in your .iss files to Unicode if the language used a special LanguageCodePage.
•The automatic conversion is also done for any language specific plain text ANSI LicenseFile, InfoBeforeFile, or InfoAfterFile used so you should not convert these either (but you may do so if you wish anyway, unlike ANSI .isl language files).
•The [Setup] directive ShowUndisplayableLanguages is ignored by Unicode Inno Setup.
•Unicode Inno Setup is compiled with Delphi 2009 instead of Delphi 2 and 3, leading to slightly larger files. The source code however is still compatible with Delphi 2 and 3, and a non Unicode version will remain available.
•Unicode Inno Setup and installers created by it require Windows 2000/XP or newer. The non Unicode version still works on NT/9x.
•Existing installations of your programs done by non Unicode installers can be freely updated by Unicode installers, and vice versa.
•Unicode Pascal Scripting notes:
◦The Unicode compiler sees type 'String' as a Unicode string, and 'Char' as a Unicode character. Its 'AnsiString' type hasn't changed and still is an ANSI string. Its 'PChar' type has been renamed to 'PAnsiChar'.
◦The Unicode compiler is more strict about correct ';' usage: it no longer accepts certain missing ';' characters.
◦The new RemObjects PascalScript version used by the Unicode compiler supports Unicode, but not for its input source. This means it does use Unicode string types as said, but any literal Unicode characters in the script will be converted to ANSI. This doesn't mean you can't display Unicode strings: you can for example instead use encoded Unicode characters to build Unicode strings (like S := #$0100 + #$0101 + 'Aa', or load the string from a file using LoadStringsFromFile.
◦Some support functions had their prototype changed: some parameters of CreateOutputMsgMemoPage, RegQueryBinaryValue, RegWriteBinaryValue, OemToCharBuff, CharToOemBuff, LoadStringFromfile, SaveStringToFile, and GetMD5OfString are of type AnsiString now instead of String.
◦Added new SaveStringsToUTF8File, and GetMD5OfUnicodeString support functions.
◦If you want to compile an existing script that imports ANSI Windows API calls with the Unicode compiler, either upgrade to the 'W' Unicode API call or change the parameters from 'String' or 'PChar' to 'AnsiString'. The 'AnsiString' approach will make your [Code] compatible with both the Unicode and the non Unicode version.
•Unicode Inno Setup supports UTF-8 encoded .iss files (but not UTF-16).
•Unicode Inno Setup supports UTF-8 and UTF-16LE encoded .txt files for LicenseFile, InfoBeforeFile, and InfoAfterFile.
Note: Unicode Inno Setup can only create Unicode installers and like wise the non Unicode version can only create non Unicode installers. If you want to be able to create both Unicode and non Unicode installers on one computer, you have to install both versions of Inno Setup into different folders."
http://www.jrsoftware.org/ishelp/ind...?topic=unicode


Please write what version you use, and dispel my doubts ...
Thank you!
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 05-05-2012, 02:52
REV0 REV0 is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Hawaii
Posts: 1,131
Thanks: 70
Thanked 1,813 Times in 287 Posts
REV0 is on a distinguished road
Depends the conversion.

a is ANSI and u is Unicode, and you have to use one of them according to conversion.

For example old yener setup bases (which i was using) needed ansi version of INNO setup, however after 1.8 version yener changed the codes and now you have to use Unicode version of INNO setup. Regardless you'll know which one you'll have to use, it'll be described in conversion thread.
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 05-05-2012, 03:36
GlassER GlassER is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: PL
Posts: 28
Thanks: 5
Thanked 5 Times in 3 Posts
GlassER is on a distinguished road
@ REV0

For now, thank you for the information and best regards
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
INNO TROUBLESHOOT - Tutorials and Answers about INNO Setup REV0 Conversion Tutorials 125 13-03-2016 18:39
yener90's Inno Project Source Codes yener90 Conversion Tutorials 1475 21-10-2014 09:50



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:15.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2000-2018, FileForums @ https://fileforums.com