Go Back   FileForums > CD & DVD > CD/DVD Software & Utilities

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 22-04-2004, 04:33
themis_t's Avatar
themis_t themis_t is offline
Die Hard Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Greece!Athens....(You know the place with the Parthenon,don't you?)
Posts: 1,493
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
themis_t
dvd playing problem...

hello guys,i don't know how this happened but my creative playcenter started playing all my mp3 files on double speed,i tried unistalling it and install it again but the problem was still there..this wasn't a great mess for me because i used winamp istead..at the beggining the problem was located only in tha programm but yestarday,when i tried to watch a dvd movie on my computer i saw that my dvd playing programm (powed dvd) had the same problem..the speed it had as 1x was the double og the normal speed...i thought that this could be a hardware problem so i tried to watch a dvd movie which was stored in my HDD..but the problem was there again..as for today,i realized that this is happening to all the players i have for multimedia files appart from winamp...do you have any idea why this is happening?is this some kind of virus??
thanx in advance,themis_t
__________________
You don't believe it?it's Magic!

Oloi oi ellines [URL=http://www.forums.gr/forumdisplay.php?s=&forumid=63]edo[/URL]!!!
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 22-04-2004, 07:35
TylerDurden's Avatar
TylerDurden TylerDurden is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: FileForums
Posts: 5,530
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
TylerDurden is on a distinguished road
Send a message via AIM to TylerDurden
Dang man, that sounds terrible. I would personally suspect virus. Get your pc checked and cleaned up.




Tyler!
__________________
[B]V7 Ps2 Messiah 2
V13 PSTwo DMS4 Pro and HD-Connect(Installed myself)[/B]
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 22-04-2004, 09:23
themis_t's Avatar
themis_t themis_t is offline
Die Hard Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Greece!Athens....(You know the place with the Parthenon,don't you?)
Posts: 1,493
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
themis_t
i have already checked it with mcafee antivirus and norton antivirus..nothing found..i suspect that somehow something is messed in the windows registry but i don't know how to fix because i don't know where exactly this option is located..well..i am open to all suggestions

p.s. do you know of any other more "dedicated" to these problems forums where i can post this topic
__________________
You don't believe it?it's Magic!

Oloi oi ellines [URL=http://www.forums.gr/forumdisplay.php?s=&forumid=63]edo[/URL]!!!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 22-04-2004, 09:51
TylerDurden's Avatar
TylerDurden TylerDurden is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: FileForums
Posts: 5,530
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
TylerDurden is on a distinguished road
Send a message via AIM to TylerDurden
Did you do an online virus scan? I think that would be the one to do because the virus may have been made to get passed the ones that are on your system.


Im sorry to say I wouldnt know where to direct you as to other forums that could help better. Maybe someone else has some ideas.



Tyler!
__________________
[B]V7 Ps2 Messiah 2
V13 PSTwo DMS4 Pro and HD-Connect(Installed myself)[/B]
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 22-04-2004, 23:44
Sams choice Sams choice is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: usa
Posts: 99
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Sams choice
Quote:
Originally posted by themis_t

p.s. do you know of any other more "dedicated" to these problems forums where i can post this topic

Maybe here under the Apps or Windows catagory. http://forums.tweaktown.com/

But first I would try disabling everything running in the background in the system configuation utility under the startup and Services tabs (Check hide all Microsoft programs first) assuming your running Win XP. If it's some type of program cuasing some type of conflict with your players then that should take care of it, I can't really think of what else it could be other than a virus or a setting.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 23-04-2004, 23:07
themis_t's Avatar
themis_t themis_t is offline
Die Hard Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Greece!Athens....(You know the place with the Parthenon,don't you?)
Posts: 1,493
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
themis_t
i am searching for the setting i don't think that someone owuld make a virus like that this is so ...
__________________
You don't believe it?it's Magic!

Oloi oi ellines [URL=http://www.forums.gr/forumdisplay.php?s=&forumid=63]edo[/URL]!!!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 20-10-2004, 14:44
Ace 'o All Spades Ace 'o All Spades is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Earth, Solar System, Milky Way...
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Ace 'o All Spades is on a distinguished road
Cool

I'm afraid it is very unlikely this is a virus issue. The same thing just happened to my sys. (U gots an Intel "Pheonix" Bios chipset by any chance?)
Check it out mang:

What is going down is, as you guested, a registry problem. Don't try to fix it with regedit, you - Will - go insane. (I almost did myself.)
If your video is behaving more like its very choopy; as in jumping forward to keep sync with the audio, chances are 99% this is your answer. Prob. is anyways.

First: Don't boot into 'Last Known Good'. It mangles things worse.

What To Do Then:
Uninistall all audio drivers & non M$ OEM codecs (including player softs like the creative trash - I gots a CL. Audigy and hate that app). Now uninstall every non-oem vid codec. This means all ur software DVD playes too.

DONT uninstall your actual graphics drivers!

From M$, Download the "DirectX 9.0c Redistributable" (Its For sysadmins, search the site.) Now, Install it (HRESULT=overwrite everything). Re-install any DvD players and all mpeg-2 tools. Next, D/L the "Gordian Knot Codec Pack" from http://sourceforge.net (not the 'rip' pack). Install this beast, (skip the lame player. - ))`Don't,(( - installl ffdshow; it's unstable when things are flakey already.

Relax, you are A_lmos-t done. You should now have an app installed called the "G-spot Codec Appliance". (If it wasn't in Gordian Knot; get K-Lite codec pack. Fuzzy mem.) G-spot has a feature to scan your system for misconfigured codecs, but you should have few, if any, misconf. at this point. Now is the time to re-install your audio drivers, sans the Creative Media Center (Its Bad I tell You!).

Final advices: if you use Nero Showtime, OR NVDVD, make sure to set them to use their own internal audio routines, instead of an external AAC decoder. Also, I suggest trying "The Core Media Player" for non-dvd movies; it provides exponentially more control and tweaking possibilities than the Creative Labs Bloatware Centre. (i.e., changing the default DirectShow renderer on the fly && individual configs of many codecs from within the player itself.,etc.)

Sorry for much verbs; been awake all night. Someone in the forum PLEASE let me know if I'm F.O.S in this post. And if it helped of course... peace and anarchism kids - and throw in some Lllove; like Barry White was jiven at ya.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:48.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2000-2018, FileForums @ https://fileforums.com