Go Back   FileForums > CD & DVD > CD/DVD Software & Utilities

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 14-02-2004, 07:09
Aussie_guy Aussie_guy is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 11
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Aussie_guy
Suddenly can't burn DVD's

Hi,

I have had no problem in the past backing up my DVD's onto DVD-R/WR. However, one day it just stopped working.

The burner is fine as it can burn data but not movies.

I am using a Sony DRU-510A. Windows XP. DVD burner is set to master and my CD-RW drive set to slave.

I thought it may have been a software clash or something so did a clean install on XP on my C:/
After formatting my c:/ I did not update windows or install any programs except for the original drivers and the burning software.

I formatted c:/ to install XP again, but left d:/ and e:/ untouched. C and D drives are from the same HDD but are different partitions. E drive is a separate drive.

Before formatting my HDD I checked with Norton (which was updated) to clear my system of any virus' and turned system restore off.

Ok, here is what happened. Usually I use smartripper to rip the DVD onto my HDD. Then I use InterVideo DVD Copy to compress the files to fit on a single DVD disc. Then use Nero to burn onto DVD.
I have had no problems with this in the past.

Then one day InterVideo DVD copy is compressing the files for me and then when it finishes, it just deletes the files. So there are no files in that directory for me to burn. ie. it deletes the compressed DVD files before I get a chance to burn them onto a disc.

I then decide instead of compressing I will use InterVideo DVD copy to split the files so I can burn them onto 2 discs. It does this fine and the files are still there after it splits them. I go ahead and use nero to burn them and theres an error.

So I then decide to use Elby's CloneDVD to put the DVD onto a disc for me (source is the ripped DVD on my HDD which was done by smartripper). ConeDVD processes the files normally and when it goes to burn says "burn error 11 5".

I also tried using DVDFab and also error.

All these programs have worked for me in the past and then they just do not work anymore. I have tried updating drivers, updating windows, removing virus' and spyware, no effect.

Even after I formatted my hard drive same problem.

What can I do? DO you think formatting my whole computer(c, d, and e:/) might do the trick by getting everything back the way it was. I do not think this will work as I formatted by system drive which is c:/ and after cleanly installing windows I get the same crap.

I would be truly greatful to anyone who has any ideas as I have formatted my hard drive so many time in the last 2 1/2 days and done so much **** it is getting gruesomely unnerving.
I am so frustrated at this stage and have spent the last few days doing nothing but this **** and I dun want to lose any more sleep on this matter.

Please Help.

Thanks heaps for anyone who has read this far and I greatly appreciate any advice I get.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 14-02-2004, 07:10
Aussie_guy Aussie_guy is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 11
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Aussie_guy
Oh yeh, forgot to mention, I also tried using DVD X Copy express which I had no trouble with before. Now this doesn't work either.
I have spent so much money on software and hardware and now it's all useless.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 14-02-2004, 07:17
Aussie_guy Aussie_guy is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 11
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Aussie_guy
The exact message Elby's cloneDVD is giving me is:

"Writing to video DVD was not successful: Write DVD 11 5"
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 14-02-2004, 08:10
Aussie_guy Aussie_guy is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 11
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Aussie_guy
When I use Intervideo DVD Copy to split the DVD after it has been ripped, it doesn't delete the files.

I then try to use nero and it then says
"Invalid field in command"
"Could not perform start of disc at once"


I'll keep trying to sort this out and I will post a solution if I can find one
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 15-02-2004, 09:21
Aussie_guy Aussie_guy is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 11
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Aussie_guy
Well, this problem has me stumped at the moment.
I'm gonna take my system to my mate's place later this week and install the burner into his computer. I'll download trial versions of DVD X Copy and Intervideo DVDCopy and install them on his computer.

If there are no problems on his compuer with that set up, then I guess I will have to format all my hard drives. That should solve the problem.

I do not think this is a virus problem. I think it's got more to do with settings or drivers. The thing that bugs me is that how come everything didn't return to normal after formatting c:/?

I'm getting a removable hard drive later this week to back up the info on my hard drives before formatting them.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 15-02-2004, 09:24
Aussie_guy Aussie_guy is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 11
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Aussie_guy
I haven't updated firmware yet. I have read in a few places that updating firmware might solve some problems.

Can someone tell me what firmware is and what is the latest version? My girlfirend says it has somethign do with the bios but she's not sure. Is it necessary to update firmware or can I just leave it as be after I format everything?

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 16-02-2004, 17:20
FutureProof FutureProof is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Canberra Oz
Posts: 11
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
FutureProof
This will explain the write error

http://www.fileforums.com/showthread...threadid=58565

Intervideo DVD Copy - behaviour by design

This behaviour is deliberately configured by Intervideo. This program only allows you to burn the DVD or save to the HDD as an .AVI file. The program deliberately does not allow you to save the AUDIO_TS and VIDEO_TS folders and .VOBs etc to the HDD. It will only let you burn them to a DVD.

I have used InterVideo's DVDCopy Platinum more to convert to VCD rather than to make a DVD. In this function is does as well as any other DVD to VCD program. It is fairly quick on the conversion and will save the files to the HDD. The program is, of course, unable to work with CSS encrypted movies by itself.

You can also use a good undelete program or after transcoding your DVD to HDD, Intervideo is going to parse the files (takes about 4 minutes). In those 4 minutes you select all files and make them read only. when DVDCopy is done the files are ... still there
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 17-02-2004, 01:22
Aussie_guy Aussie_guy is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 11
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Aussie_guy
Thanks FutureProof!!!

I totally disregarded the fact that it could be a media issue as I have only used the same media all this time.

However, after I had problems I stopped using my DVD-R's as I was making too many coasters. I have begun using DVD-RW's to test the burning to see if it would work to save my DVD-R's from corruption.

However, I have only 1 DVD-RW left which is useable and this stuffed up before I formatted c:/. Nero can't erase it cos something is wrong with it. I format it using my Pioneer DVD burner (the one which is connected to the television). Now I tried burning data off this one and it doesn't work. So the Sony one can't read or write to it but the Pioneer one can. I will pick up some more DVD-RW tomorrow and start fresh. So maybe formatting c:/ did work after all. I have just been burning with a bad disc all this time.

Thanks heaps and I'll let you know how it goes. I had a removable hard drive on order so I could back up my data to format the whole computer. I might not need it after all. So you may have saved me 300 bucks dude.

Quote:
You can also use a good undelete program or after transcoding your DVD to HDD, Intervideo is going to parse the files (takes about 4 minutes). In those 4 minutes you select all files and make them read only. when DVDCopy is done the files are ... still there
I never thought of this. It is quite ingenious. I found that Norton can restore the files if you open up the protected recycle bin. I have not tried changing the files to read only yet, but will give it a go.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 18-02-2004, 21:18
Aussie_guy Aussie_guy is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 11
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Aussie_guy
Yes that was it. You were right FutureProof. It was a media issue.

I bought some Verbatim media today and it worked fine. The strange thing is that I tried using the cheap media (Shintaro) again and it now works too. Maybe I just hit a bad batch of DVD-R's, who knows.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 19:41.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2000-2018, FileForums @ https://fileforums.com