Go Back   FileForums > Game Backup > Sony PlayStation > PS2 Games

Old 03-01-2005, 11:34

beermonster is on a distinguished road
PS2 Media issues

hi im relatively new to the scene, so bear with me, i have a v5/6 pal ps2 with what i believe is a magic 3 modchip, its been playing original DVD games/films no problem, i since got a dvd burner nec 1100a ive gone to backing up dvds, being new to this i bought some mirror DVD+Rs and its fine with DVD films but struggles like hell with PS2 backups, i tried the laser adjustment wheel to some degree of success, but it still takes 5 attempts to even boot the game, a mate of mine copied the disk onto a philips +R for me to see if it was a media problem and it boots 1st time every time and is much quicker/quieter in accessing it, now from all the this concluded that my laser is ok, the chip is ok and its either my burner or my media, i obviously need to give him one of my disks to burn on his burner to eliminate this but wont see him for a few weeks, i dont really want to get a new chip/ps2 but a multi format burner is reasonable now so would i be better switching to -r media? or can someone recommend me some +R media, the philips ones are very expensive btw
thanks and sorry for the long post
Sponsored Links
Old 03-01-2005, 12:54
Die Hard Member

lufcfan is on a distinguished road
Send a message via AIM to lufcfan Send a message via MSN to lufcfan
Your media is crap (as are +R btw).

Taiyo Yuden -R are what you want, or even get some cheaper Ritek G04...
[SIZE=3][COLOR=orange][B][COLOR=blue]PS2, [/COLOR][COLOR=yellowgreen]XBOX[/COLOR] & [COLOR=darkolivegreen]Xbox 360[/COLOR] installs / repairs in [U][COLOR=red]West Yorkshire,[/COLOR][COLOR=red] UK[/COLOR][/U] - [COLOR=#ff0000]Nationwide Service [/COLOR][COLOR=darkorange]-[/COLOR]Please Contact me by PM for more info[/B][/COLOR][/SIZE] :)