Go Back   FileForums > CD & DVD > DVD Backup Forum

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-12-2002, 02:33
jasonfinal jasonfinal is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 17
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
jasonfinal
problems with dvd decrypter

I've had a quick look at some of the dvd backup tutorials. But the learning curve is pretty steep.

Is there another way to backup a protected dvd other than using such programs as dvd decrypter?

When I use dvd decrpter it comes up with an error, something about having to change the region of my burner (dvr-a04). So do i need a new firmware? And there was a warning on the firmware download page that it could damage the burner? Is that true?

Thanks in advance
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 11-12-2002, 06:30
bighap's Avatar
bighap bighap is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: US Oregon
Posts: 5,656
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
bighap is on a distinguished road
Send a message via AIM to bighap
You don't need new firmware. Download the region setter at the bottom of this page and follow the instructions of the readme file.
__________________
[size=3][color=red][b]Retired[/size][/b][/color]

[size=2][color=blue][b]
US V7 PS2 w/ Apple Pro
Pioneer DVR-112D
LG GCC-4480B 48X24X48X16 CD-RW/DVD-ROM Combo[/color][/b][/size]
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-12-2002, 14:52
jasonfinal jasonfinal is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 17
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
jasonfinal
I followed the instructions, and I thought that I might be able to set the region to 4, since I'm in Australia, but I ended setting it to region 1.

Since I want to copy region 4 dvds, should I set it to region 4?

Alright, I've 4 more times to get it right!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-12-2002, 15:12
bighap's Avatar
bighap bighap is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: US Oregon
Posts: 5,656
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
bighap is on a distinguished road
Send a message via AIM to bighap
Yes, if it allows you to. When you put in the region number try putting 4 and see how it goes.
__________________
[size=3][color=red][b]Retired[/size][/b][/color]

[size=2][color=blue][b]
US V7 PS2 w/ Apple Pro
Pioneer DVR-112D
LG GCC-4480B 48X24X48X16 CD-RW/DVD-ROM Combo[/color][/b][/size]
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-12-2002, 23:06
jasonfinal jasonfinal is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 17
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
jasonfinal
That dos program only allows for setting to region 1. But I found this Toshipa program, much easier to use, and change it to region 4. Burned my first successful region coded dvd.

Thanks for your help.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-12-2002, 23:44
bighap's Avatar
bighap bighap is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: US Oregon
Posts: 5,656
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
bighap is on a distinguished road
Send a message via AIM to bighap
Nice job. Have fun.
__________________
[size=3][color=red][b]Retired[/size][/b][/color]

[size=2][color=blue][b]
US V7 PS2 w/ Apple Pro
Pioneer DVR-112D
LG GCC-4480B 48X24X48X16 CD-RW/DVD-ROM Combo[/color][/b][/size]
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:46.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2000-2018, FileForums @ https://fileforums.com