Go Back   FileForums > Game Backup > PC Games > PC Games - CD/DVD Conversions > Conversion Tutorials

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 22-07-2017, 01:31
shazzla shazzla is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Hunnia
Posts: 132
Thanks: 223
Thanked 50 Times in 30 Posts
shazzla is on a distinguished road
Question Exdupe with stdout ?!

Hi guys !

Few days ago i tried to use Exdupe with stdout in arc.ini ,but i failed.
Anyone succeeded with this ?

Yes ,i know,there is SREP. Its okay,but in some case,it eats insanely hughe amount of RAM,even with -dngb parameter.

Any help appreciated !
Thanks.
(Atm away from PC,im on tablet)

Last edited by shazzla; 25-07-2017 at 10:12.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 22-07-2017, 05:07
Bulat Bulat is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Moscow
Posts: 63
Thanks: 26
Thanked 51 Times in 27 Posts
Bulat is on a distinguished road
increase -l parameter in srep, it should be always better than exdupe
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 22-07-2017, 08:10
shazzla shazzla is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Hunnia
Posts: 132
Thanks: 223
Thanked 50 Times in 30 Posts
shazzla is on a distinguished road
Thank Bulat!

I know about the - l - parameter ,but it doesnt decrease the decompression memory req. Only a little bit!
Real example :
Approx 40 Gb dataset with L512 ,decomp memory 4.8 Gb
l1024-l4096 ,decomp memory around 3.9 gb.
-dngb n=1-4 ,M3F-M5F used in both case !
Those decomp.mem.reqs are too much for me.
Thats why i want to use exdupe without tempfile.
Btw i love SREP...

Any idea to decrease decomp mem reqs?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 22-07-2017, 08:27
Bulat Bulat is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Moscow
Posts: 63
Thanks: 26
Thanked 51 Times in 27 Posts
Bulat is on a distinguished road
-m0 -d1g will definitely use less than 1 GB
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Bulat For This Useful Post:
shazzla (22-07-2017)
  #5  
Old 22-07-2017, 08:34
78372's Avatar
78372 78372 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Bangladesh
Posts: 573
Thanks: 644
Thanked 714 Times in 259 Posts
78372 is on a distinguished road
m0 is the rep method, so it's memory usage is obviously low.


BTW, in case of x86 srep, how can we prevent srep from creating virtual temp file(I have only 4GB RAM)?

Last edited by 78372; 22-07-2017 at 09:46.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 22-07-2017, 08:49
FD_RLT FD_RLT is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: In my reality
Posts: 10
Thanks: 2
Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
FD_RLT is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by 78372 View Post
m0 is the rep method it's memory usage is obviously low.


BTW, in case of x86 srep, how can we prevent srep from creating virtual temp file(I have only 4GB RAM)?
Why you don't want it to create virtual temp file if you only have 4 GB RAM ?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 22-07-2017, 09:34
78372's Avatar
78372 78372 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Bangladesh
Posts: 573
Thanks: 644
Thanked 714 Times in 259 Posts
78372 is on a distinguished road
Because of the massive read and writes in hdd
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 22-07-2017, 09:49
shazzla shazzla is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Hunnia
Posts: 132
Thanks: 223
Thanked 50 Times in 30 Posts
shazzla is on a distinguished road
uses razor's CLS-SREP.DLL.
it uses memory for TMP ,but u need to keep decomp memory req within considerable values.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 22-07-2017, 09:55
78372's Avatar
78372 78372 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Bangladesh
Posts: 573
Thanks: 644
Thanked 714 Times in 259 Posts
78372 is on a distinguished road
That's the problem. I know razor's cls is helpful, but hey it's only useful if you use 64bit srep because it allows you to use that. But the problem is, I use x86 editions and when you use that, you need the virtual memory.

Srep is a big problem for me when repacking games bigger as GTA V, because I use solid compression which requires a lot of ram to compress and decompress
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 22-07-2017, 16:07
ChronoCross's Avatar
ChronoCross ChronoCross is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Acacia Dragons
Posts: 254
Thanks: 145
Thanked 196 Times in 115 Posts
ChronoCross is on a distinguished road
Code:
[External compressor:exdupe]
packcmd   = exdupe.exe  -x0 -m512  $$arcdatafile$$.tmp $$arcpackedfile$$.tmp  
unpackcmd = exdupe.exe  -R  $$arcpackedfile$$.tmp $$arcdatafile$$.tmp   
datafile   = $$arcdatafile$$.tmp
packedfile = $$arcpackedfile$$.tmp
Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to ChronoCross For This Useful Post:
EzzEldin16 (22-07-2017), shazzla (23-07-2017)
  #11  
Old 23-07-2017, 05:26
shazzla shazzla is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Hunnia
Posts: 132
Thanks: 223
Thanked 50 Times in 30 Posts
shazzla is on a distinguished road
thanks ,its okay ,but how can i use STDOUT ?
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 24-07-2017, 16:40
ChronoCross's Avatar
ChronoCross ChronoCross is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Acacia Dragons
Posts: 254
Thanks: 145
Thanked 196 Times in 115 Posts
ChronoCross is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by shazzla View Post
thanks ,its okay ,but how can i use STDOUT ?
why you make so complicated?, go for the most simple way(freearc ->arc.ini)

Quote:
7z.exe -an -ttar a -bd "D:\TEST\*" -so | exdupe.exe -x0 -m512 -stdin - -stdout | zstd.exe -f -19 -v - -o test.zst
Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to ChronoCross For This Useful Post:
shazzla (24-07-2017), Simorq (25-07-2017)
  #13  
Old 24-07-2017, 22:37
shazzla shazzla is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Hunnia
Posts: 132
Thanks: 223
Thanked 50 Times in 30 Posts
shazzla is on a distinguished road
Sorry for the noob question,but how can i use this in arc.ini?
I mean pack and unpack command..

i tried several combination to pack/unpack. sadly without success.

Arc.ini PACK command :

packcmd = exdupe.exe -x1 -m512 -stdin -p -stdout <stdin> <stdout>

working on UNPACK......

Last edited by shazzla; 27-07-2017 at 08:43.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 26-08-2019, 05:08
shazzla shazzla is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Hunnia
Posts: 132
Thanks: 223
Thanked 50 Times in 30 Posts
shazzla is on a distinguished road
2 years passed and no success. Anyone ? :/
Attached Files
File Type: 7z Exdupe.7z (784.0 KB, 11 views)
File Type: 7z arc-ini.7z (249 Bytes, 11 views)

Last edited by shazzla; 26-08-2019 at 07:46.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 20-09-2019, 01:21
shazzla shazzla is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Hunnia
Posts: 132
Thanks: 223
Thanked 50 Times in 30 Posts
shazzla is on a distinguished road
hmmm..
tried many versions,but what is the unpack command for this ?

7z.exe -an -ttar a -bd "D:\TEST\*" -so | exdupe.exe -x0 -m512 -stdin - -stdout | zstd.exe -f -19 -v - -o test.zst

As the topic describes ,the main goal is use exdupe with stdio with freearc.
It would be nice.
Please ,anybody ?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:26.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2000-2018, FileForums @ https://fileforums.com