Go Back   FileForums > Off Topic > Software

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-02-2008, 09:50
green777 green777 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: uk
Posts: 48
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
green777
2 questions

Hi i have a computer with 2 gig of ram and windows xp, im supposed to have administrator rights. But recently whem i start using programs suck as disk burner or other stuff i now get up this message and nothing works, files or folders, the message is :- Windows cannot access the specified device,path or file. You may not have the appropiate permission to access the item Anyone has a step by step to sort this out id be most greatful.

2nd question my partner brought home a play school compurt for me to look at as im told one of the kids messed about with it. its a dell optiplex L60 when it boots up it goes to the safety screen and although ive tried all the settings it stops on a blue screen and says windows stopped to save damage check for badly connected hardware and the error that comes up is :-
unmovable boot volume and a load of 000000000000. The machine has windows xp on it, Any ideas what this error means,do i need to reinstall xp or what ? thanks for any help
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 09-02-2008, 10:27
Joe Forster/STA's Avatar
Joe Forster/STA Joe Forster/STA is offline
Senior forum member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Hungary
Posts: 9,432
Thanks: 6
Thanked 171 Times in 106 Posts
Joe Forster/STA is on a distinguished road
General solutions for a general problem description... Log in as a real Administrator user - it must exist as it was created upon the installation -, not as a user that is "supposed" to have administrator rights. As for the blue screen of death, note down the first hexadecimal error code (such as 0x0000007B) exactly onto paper and search for it at the Micro$oft homepage on another PC. (Also try to look it up in the Dell machine's own manual or its installation CD/DVD.)
__________________
Joe Forster/STA
For more information, see the FileForums forum rules and the PC Games forum FAQ!
Don't contact me via E-mail or PM to ask for help with anything other than patches (or software in general) done by me, otherwise your request may be deleted without any reply!
Homepage: http://sta.c64.org, E-mail: [email protected]; for attachments, send compressed (ZIP or RAR) files only, otherwise your E-mail will bounce back!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-02-2008, 11:51
green777 green777 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: uk
Posts: 48
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
green777
questions

understood the dell problem, thanks for that,My computer boots up to windows no admin access there, used the swop accounts but only got 1 which is mine, how do i access the place to put admin status in? thanks,
for your help peter
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-02-2008, 12:39
Joe Forster/STA's Avatar
Joe Forster/STA Joe Forster/STA is offline
Senior forum member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Hungary
Posts: 9,432
Thanks: 6
Thanked 171 Times in 106 Posts
Joe Forster/STA is on a distinguished road
You need to be an administrator to add a user into the Administrators group so find out the Administrator password. (Is that your own PC? If not, ask its owner.) What is "swop"?
__________________
Joe Forster/STA
For more information, see the FileForums forum rules and the PC Games forum FAQ!
Don't contact me via E-mail or PM to ask for help with anything other than patches (or software in general) done by me, otherwise your request may be deleted without any reply!
Homepage: http://sta.c64.org, E-mail: [email protected]; for attachments, send compressed (ZIP or RAR) files only, otherwise your E-mail will bounce back!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-02-2008, 13:03
DABhand DABhand is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Near my PC
Posts: 5,411
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
DABhand is on a distinguished road
He means swap (as in the log in screen).

There is a chance there is system files missing from your machine, this could have been due to a Virii, deleting files by mistake and/or through sillyness, or perhaps even a Hard Disk error.

Try this.

Goto Start > Run > sfc

Make sure your Windows XP disc is about (asuming it is XP you have installed), sfc (system file checker) will systematically check system files to make sure they are correct and are not missing.

If anything is corrupt or missing it should find them and replace with original files from the CD.

Also do a check disk with all options (right click Hard Disk in My computer > properties > tools > check now button)
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-02-2008, 04:13
green777 green777 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: uk
Posts: 48
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
green777
thanks for help, i tried the sfc but all that came up was a black screen for a few seconds, did the check disk and that came up ok,I am using xp but this was pre-installed.as for admin status i tried the swop user but no other users came up only my own, I have an advent computer and made a restart disk when bi first got it, but dont wan t to reset the whole lot back to default as i still have alot of stuff on my hard drive that i do not want to lose.

My other problem for the dell optiplex L60 the error i get up and stops windows loading is this unmountable boot volume with the following
xxx stop: ox82f56900,oxc0000006,ox00000000,ox00000000 this machine also has xp thanks again for all help

Last edited by green777; 10-02-2008 at 04:14. Reason: spelling
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-02-2008, 16:11
DABhand DABhand is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Near my PC
Posts: 5,411
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
DABhand is on a distinguished road
sorry type in

sfc /scannow
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-02-2008, 00:50
green777 green777 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: uk
Posts: 48
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
green777
Thanks for the info much appreciated I tried again using the sfc etc but it says not found, tried a search and could not find it. I tthink the problem is due to service packs then having to use the in built advent recovery ass although that set the computer back it seems that ive lost alot of files, admin status . the only thing i feel will work is a total reformat using the advent disk i had to make when i first got the machine.But thanks for your help

Last edited by green777; 11-02-2008 at 01:09. Reason: tested
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-02-2008, 05:04
DABhand DABhand is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Near my PC
Posts: 5,411
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
DABhand is on a distinguished road
thats weird, it worked before (flash of the dos prompt window) and now your saying it isnt?

did you type it correctly?

sfc /scannow (do remember the space between and sfc and /scannow)
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11-02-2008, 05:44
TippeX's Avatar
TippeX TippeX is offline
zeroes and ones.....
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 3,842
Thanks: 2
Thanked 35 Times in 23 Posts
TippeX is on a distinguished road
think he might need to navigate to the system32 folder etc..
its a system component, so definately should be there post windows install... odd
__________________
bleh
DO NOT PM me with questions, leave that in the forums...ESPECIALLY if i dont know you...
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 11-02-2008, 06:05
green777 green777 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: uk
Posts: 48
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
green777
hI dab hand,Thick or what did not use the space, works on now thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 11-02-2008, 12:47
DABhand DABhand is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Near my PC
Posts: 5,411
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
DABhand is on a distinguished road
Hehehe no probs it happens, hope it helps you fix some things.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 25-05-2008, 02:33
Softix Softix is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 20
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Softix is on a distinguished road
There are good information in here.. Many thanks, I faced BOSD before... and I solved it after searched how to overcome the problem from internet.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Frequently Asked Questions Joe Forster/STA PC Games - Frequently Asked Questions 0 29-11-2005 09:48
Newbie with 1,000 questions ( not really 1,000, but close enough) tdoran70 PS2 Games 3 29-05-2002 00:47
A few questions from a newb DeadLader PS2 Games 4 09-10-2001 19:27
Compatibility questions Revenged DC Games 2 24-08-2001 01:58
A few questions, PLLeaase Read Bill-Something PSX Games 6 18-08-2001 08:18



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 21:22.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2000-2018, FileForums @ https://fileforums.com