Go Back   FileForums > Game Backup > Sony PlayStation > PS3 Games

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 17-10-2007, 11:39
A03's Avatar
A03 A03 is offline
Die Hard Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Home
Posts: 750
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
A03
Send a message via AIM to A03
Blue Disc Recorder

Maybe in a year or two it seems like the process is starting all over again..
As Blue Laser Recorder is coming out with 4x and then eventually 8x etc..
Question is when is Ps3 modchip coming and then which one is the best one..
__________________
My Newest Toy(My Former P4 3.4 Ghz Sold!)
Pentium D 3.2 Ghz Dual Core Socket 775 2Mb Cache
PC5300 512 DDR2 Ram Kingston x 2
250 Gig 16 Meg Cache SATA Maxtor x 2 :eek:
Plextor 716a x 2 (Firmware 1.06)
Plextor 8/20 x 2 Scsi
Geforce 6600 256 Meg Agp
Samsung 215TW 21 LCD Screen
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 17-10-2007, 21:28
snake2's Avatar
snake2 snake2 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: In bed by 8, and home by 11
Posts: 961
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 1 Post
snake2 is on a distinguished road
Send a message via AIM to snake2 Send a message via MSN to snake2
i read you can install a switch inside the ps3 to eject the disc to play backups you put the real game in hit the switch put in the burn then hit the switch again then you can load the burn but with how expensive blu-ray burners are right now your prolly better off buying your games
__________________
"[B]I am Neptoon king of the sea; I sink ships and conger up storms[/B]" -Me
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 18-10-2007, 11:54
A03's Avatar
A03 A03 is offline
Die Hard Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Home
Posts: 750
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
A03
Send a message via AIM to A03
Quote:
Originally Posted by snake2 View Post
i read you can install a switch inside the ps3 to eject the disc to play backups you put the real game in hit the switch put in the burn then hit the switch again then you can load the burn but with how expensive blu-ray burners are right now your prolly better off buying your games
It seems like lot of work involved. Yeah, Blue Ray Recordables are at $25.00 a blank at least for a decent Sony,Verbatim or TDK..Not sure how much Generics cost if even generics exist at all..All at 2x..

Give it time, it will drop like the DVD-R's..When I first tried to backup Devil May Cry 1 back like 5 odd some years ago I paid $5.00 a blank for Verbatims..Funny thing is that I destroyed all 5 trying to backup the game. And then next day I finally figured out what I did wrong..Ouch!
__________________
My Newest Toy(My Former P4 3.4 Ghz Sold!)
Pentium D 3.2 Ghz Dual Core Socket 775 2Mb Cache
PC5300 512 DDR2 Ram Kingston x 2
250 Gig 16 Meg Cache SATA Maxtor x 2 :eek:
Plextor 716a x 2 (Firmware 1.06)
Plextor 8/20 x 2 Scsi
Geforce 6600 256 Meg Agp
Samsung 215TW 21 LCD Screen
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 22-10-2007, 19:51
KaneUK KaneUK is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 22
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
KaneUK
What snake2 is referring to only applies to Playstation 2 games. To begin with, you need to insert a genuine PS2 game belonging to the same region as the PS3. So if you have a Japanese PS3, you need a Japanese PS2 game (initially).

Creating and using a switch which you can find on the web, allows you to "switch" the disc without the PS3 knowing any disc has been ejected at all. You can then insert a genuine or copied PS2 game from any region and it will play on any PS3 console.

This only works with what I will refer to as first generation PS3 consoles, as newer PS3 consoles like the new 80GB and 40GB versions have PS2 compatibility removed completely, so this only works with 20GB and 60GB PS3 versions.

As far as I am aware, this method does not work with PS3 games. Copying the Blu-ray discs themselves isn't the problem, but the PS3 can still recognise a genuine Blu-ray disc from a copied disc. It's the copy protection mechanism which is coming into play. Any copy protection mechanism is breakable however, purely for the fact it has to be read by the PS3 to play. The PS3 itself would need to be modified in some way - firmware or hardware.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 27-10-2007, 12:58
A03's Avatar
A03 A03 is offline
Die Hard Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Home
Posts: 750
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
A03
Send a message via AIM to A03
Any copy protection mechanism is breakable however, purely for the fact it has to be read by the PS3 to play. The PS3 itself would need to be modified in some way - firmware or hardware.[/QUOTE]

Of course it's breakable..Thats where the modchip comes into play..reading the backups..Personally PS3 lacks too many titles as is but only b/c its kinda fresh on the market..Give it time I think it will catch up hopefully anyway..

Otherwise 360 will kill it..Personally I don't have a preference on systems rather I'll purchase both..
__________________
My Newest Toy(My Former P4 3.4 Ghz Sold!)
Pentium D 3.2 Ghz Dual Core Socket 775 2Mb Cache
PC5300 512 DDR2 Ram Kingston x 2
250 Gig 16 Meg Cache SATA Maxtor x 2 :eek:
Plextor 716a x 2 (Firmware 1.06)
Plextor 8/20 x 2 Scsi
Geforce 6600 256 Meg Agp
Samsung 215TW 21 LCD Screen
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Unable to Backup "Oz" Season 2 Disc 2 soulvids DVD Backup Forum 1 25-08-2007 13:57
Laser reads blue disc but not white disc???? Torex88 PS2 Games 3 01-11-2006 02:28
If DC sees disc as AUDIO, ##### it for files on CDROM!! Wayne DC Games 0 26-06-2001 19:43
alright i know you all hate winers and sh*t but please hear me out! whatdoisay DC Games 7 01-01-2001 21:44



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 13:20.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2000-2018, FileForums @ https://fileforums.com