Go Back   FileForums > Game Backup > PC Games > PC Games - CD/DVD Conversions > Conversion Tutorials

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #361  
Old 09-06-2018, 12:35
masen485 masen485 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: safras
Posts: 129
Thanks: 16
Thanked 8 Times in 6 Posts
masen485 is on a distinguished road
xtool VERSION
0.8,0.7,0.09
xtool(:c32m,t4odle) WHICH VERSION
HELP PLEASE
Assassins Creed IV Black Flag
DataPC.forge
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #362  
Old 09-06-2018, 12:38
doofoo24 doofoo24 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: canada
Posts: 343
Thanks: 73
Thanked 239 Times in 124 Posts
doofoo24 is on a distinguished road
KaktoR already told you use lzo instead of oodle

[External compressor:xprecomp]
header = 0
packcmd = xtool.exe e:precomp:t4:lzo - - <stdin> <stdout>
Reply With Quote
  #363  
Old 09-06-2018, 13:44
KaktoR KaktoR is offline
Lame User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: From outer space
Posts: 2,293
Thanks: 566
Thanked 3,291 Times in 1,173 Posts
KaktoR is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by doofoo24 View Post
but xtool 0.10 only x86, i thought odle only x64
Ok, didn't realized 0.10 was just an update for x86. But problem remains
__________________
Haters gonna hate
RIP GOD
Reply With Quote
  #364  
Old 10-06-2018, 01:13
Edison007 Edison007 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: EC
Posts: 13
Thanks: 0
Thanked 27 Times in 9 Posts
Edison007 is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by KaktoR View Post
oodle for ACO

DataPC.forge (273.088.512 Bytes)

with srep64:m3f+lzma2

Code:
xtool(:c32m,t4:oodle)
260mb => 548mb => 195mb (205.152.256 Bytes)
Compression time: 192secs
Decompression time: 62secs

AFR(:a2) with in/out patch 
260mb => 548mb => 195mb (204.939.264 Bytes)
Compression time: 144secs
Decompression time: 118secs
For decompression used all threads

Only precompress:
Code:
xtool
Precompress time: 63secs
Decompress time: 55secs

AFR
Precompress time: 18secs
Decompress time: 105secs
So xtool is at least two times faster than AFR in decompression, but ~3.5 times slower in precompression
Give me please this file.)
Reply With Quote
  #365  
Old 10-06-2018, 07:20
KaktoR KaktoR is offline
Lame User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: From outer space
Posts: 2,293
Thanks: 566
Thanked 3,291 Times in 1,173 Posts
KaktoR is on a distinguished road
@Edison
Wait (wrong file)

will upload for you
__________________
Haters gonna hate
RIP GOD

Last edited by KaktoR; 10-06-2018 at 07:23.
Reply With Quote
  #366  
Old 10-06-2018, 09:13
doofoo24 doofoo24 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: canada
Posts: 343
Thanks: 73
Thanked 239 Times in 124 Posts
doofoo24 is on a distinguished road
ya afr:a2 ac origin slow at decompression...
i guess because of oodle, afr:a2 on syndicate and unity much faster...
Reply With Quote
  #367  
Old 14-06-2018, 19:01
Razor12911's Avatar
Razor12911 Razor12911 is offline
Coder
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: South Africa
Posts: 3,190
Thanks: 1,722
Thanked 7,666 Times in 1,762 Posts
Razor12911 is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by elit View Post
I apologize for stupid question but was there specific reason for using extra "precomp" word, aka erecomp... instead of just e:... d:... as was in ztool? To me it seems redundant as e: and d: already imply default behavior(encode vs decode) and precomp seem'd to me at first confused with precomp tool by schnaader. Also using different separators, aka ',' and ':' for specific areas of cmd make it prone to type error, as happened to me before and I seem to be not the only person. Pure ':'s in ztool were fine and easier for inclussion with other utilities IMO. BTW I am not complaining, this tool is fantastic and ultimate, just being curious about new design.
There methods planned apart from precomp to be added in xtool, stuff like preprocessing of data, encryption, data reconstruction (rebuild), compression and etc.

Quote:
Originally Posted by felice2011 View Post
Razor but for the decompression of the archive the folder can only contain the file xtool.exe, without any *.dll right?
xtool requires dll at all times, even zlib requires dll. no code of compresssion algorithms are stored within xtool except for special cases but even those special cases do not execute if a specific dll that goes hand in hand with aren't available.

Quote:
Originally Posted by dixen View Post
And?
And I think there is something wrong with the parser for FAT v9 (FC3, FC4) for big dat files, I kinda rushed adding this feature without conducting any proper tests.

Quote:
Originally Posted by KaktoR View Post
Yes tested with 0.9 and 0.10

Code:
Compressing 122 files, 69,051,449,344 bytes. Processed  10.0% ==>> xtool
Compressing 69,353,227,695 bytes with ==>> srep
Correction: xtool is just working for about ~250mb, then stop
Bugs everything, when are they gonna stop .... -_-
__________________
Looking for something?
Visit the
Tutorial Index


Last edited by Razor12911; 14-06-2018 at 19:07.
Reply With Quote
The Following 5 Users Say Thank You to Razor12911 For This Useful Post:
Andu21 (15-06-2018), elit (24-06-2018), ffmla (15-06-2018), hasandgn34 (06-10-2018), KaktoR (15-06-2018)
  #368  
Old 17-06-2018, 18:34
doofoo24 doofoo24 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: canada
Posts: 343
Thanks: 73
Thanked 239 Times in 124 Posts
doofoo24 is on a distinguished road
any update
Reply With Quote
  #369  
Old 17-06-2018, 20:53
chum chum is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: South America
Posts: 56
Thanks: 46
Thanked 9 Times in 7 Posts
chum is on a distinguished road
Great tool. Thanks Razor!
Reply With Quote
  #370  
Old 21-06-2018, 12:54
dixen dixen is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Russia
Posts: 67
Thanks: 65
Thanked 44 Times in 25 Posts
dixen is on a distinguished road
What about decompress *.mega2 & *.pages files from DOOM 2016?
Reply With Quote
  #371  
Old 21-06-2018, 17:51
Razor12911's Avatar
Razor12911 Razor12911 is offline
Coder
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: South Africa
Posts: 3,190
Thanks: 1,722
Thanked 7,666 Times in 1,762 Posts
Razor12911 is on a distinguished road
Development will resume after the first week of July
__________________
Looking for something?
Visit the
Tutorial Index

Reply With Quote
The Following 7 Users Say Thank You to Razor12911 For This Useful Post:
COPyCAT (15-07-2018), JRD! (22-06-2018), KaktoR (22-06-2018), kassane (22-06-2018), saeid (17-07-2018), shazzla (21-06-2018), ShivShubh (21-06-2018)
  #372  
Old 21-06-2018, 22:46
ShivShubh ShivShubh is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: India
Posts: 51
Thanks: 31
Thanked 41 Times in 20 Posts
ShivShubh is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by dixen View Post
What about decompress *.mega2 & *.pages files from DOOM 2016?
Its pointless to decompress pages files of idTech games for further compression because you will end up having a bad ratio. In previous games they are heavily packed with some texture compression. I tried with DOOM 2016 and as far as I remember ratio was worse compared to their original compressed size.
Reply With Quote
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to ShivShubh For This Useful Post:
COPyCAT (15-07-2018), dixen (22-06-2018), Simorq (25-06-2018)
  #373  
Old 22-06-2018, 01:14
dixen dixen is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Russia
Posts: 67
Thanks: 65
Thanked 44 Times in 25 Posts
dixen is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by ShivShubh View Post
Its pointless to decompress pages files of idTech games for further compression because you will end up having a bad ratio. In previous games they are heavily packed with some texture compression. I tried with DOOM 2016 and as far as I remember ratio was worse compared to their original compressed size.
Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #374  
Old 23-06-2018, 18:21
doofoo24 doofoo24 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: canada
Posts: 343
Thanks: 73
Thanked 239 Times in 124 Posts
doofoo24 is on a distinguished road
@Razor12911 i tested xtool 0.10 on mass effect 2 type8 files when i use t100p seems like prime95 THE TEMP are very hot around 90c ?
because when i use t100p with zlib or lz4 it uses all cpu threads but the temp around 70c with lzo around 90c...
i am using i7 8700k with NH-D15...
Reply With Quote
  #375  
Old 23-06-2018, 22:23
Razor12911's Avatar
Razor12911 Razor12911 is offline
Coder
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: South Africa
Posts: 3,190
Thanks: 1,722
Thanked 7,666 Times in 1,762 Posts
Razor12911 is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by doofoo24 View Post
@Razor12911 i tested xtool 0.10 on mass effect 2 type8 files when i use t100p seems like prime95 THE TEMP are very hot around 90c ?
because when i use t100p with zlib or lz4 it uses all cpu threads but the temp around 70c with lzo around 90c...
i am using i7 8700k with NH-D15...
shows that it's a shitty algorithm causing me headaches for no reason whatsoever
__________________
Looking for something?
Visit the
Tutorial Index

Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Information about ZTool 78372 Conversion Tutorials 72 05-03-2018 17:13
ztool info doofoo24 Conversion Tutorials 2 24-12-2017 23:08
ZTool (Ultimate Precompressor) Razor12911 Conversion Tutorials 16 20-07-2017 08:56



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 23:39.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2000-2018, FileForums @ https://fileforums.com