Go Back   FileForums > Game Backup > Sony PlayStation > PSX Games

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 28-05-2003, 05:37
MrJigi MrJigi is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
MrJigi
Problem with Backups

yesterday i bought a neo-chip for my ps2. the man who installd the chip told me, that i can play backups without a action replay.

finaly at home i tried 3 backups, but all i have seen was a black screen, or the red "please put in a ps2/dvd...." screen.

can somebody help me out of this?
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 28-05-2003, 08:29
bighap's Avatar
bighap bighap is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: US Oregon
Posts: 5,656
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
bighap is on a distinguished road
Send a message via AIM to bighap
Yes, you need an action replay or gameshark 2. Sorry to hear about the mod you bought. You do know that they kill your laser right? Follow the boot proedures below:

Normal Boot Method (PS2 Backups)

That standard method for PS2 backups using AR2/GS2
Insert the AR2/GS2 CD1
Power off the PS2 for 5 seconds
Turn on the machine - will boot to a menu
Select START GAME
Select WITHOUT CODES
Press Eject
Swap AR2/GS2 disc with your PS2 backup
Press eject to close tray
Press X AS SOON as the tray closes
The game will now load

Alternative Boot Method (PS2 Backups & AR2/GS2 v1.1)

NOTE: This alternative method has had greater success with v1.1 AR2/GS2

Insert the AR2/GS2 CD1
Power off the PS2 for 5 seconds
Turn on the machine - will boot to a menu
Select START GAME
Select WITHOUT CODES
Screen will say Insert Disc - Press X
Press Eject
Swap AR2/GS2 disc with your PS2 backup
Press X - Wait for it to say Loading and background animation stops
Press eject to close tray
The game will now load

EA Boot Method (PS2 Backups)

NOTE: This is the method for PS2 backups that won't boot with normal method.

Insert the AR2/GS2 CD1
Power off the PS2 for 5 seconds
Press and hold the reset button - machine will boot
Menu screen will appear
Select START GAME (Still holding Reset)
Select WITHOUT CODES (Still holding reset)
Let go of reset - tray will eject and stay open for 4 seconds
The disc will still be spinning when using AR2/GS2 v1.4 & above
Swap AR2/GS2 disc with your PS2 backup
Do not press eject - the tray will close automatically
Press X AS SOON as the tray closes
For AR2/GS2 v1.4 & above you need to select O + R1 instead of X
The game will now load

You also have the option to patch your EA game.

EA Boot Method 2 (PS2 Backups)

NOTE: This is the alternative EA Method that seems to work for some people.

Insert the AR2/GS2 CD1
Power off the PS2 for 5 seconds
Press and hold the reset button - machine will boot
Menu screen will appear
Let go of reset - tray will eject and stay open for 4 seconds
The disc will still be spinning when using AR2/GS2 v1.4 & above
Leave the AR2/GS2 disc in and let the tray close
Select START GAME
Select WITHOUT CODES
Press Eject
Swap AR2/GS2 disc with your PS2 backup
Press Eject - Game will now load
Press X
If you have v1.4 & above you may need to press O + R1 instead of X
The game will now load

You also have the option to patch your EA game.

DVD Rip Boot Method (PS2 DVD Rips)

NOTE: Another alternative method for troublesome discs.

Insert the AR2/GS2 CD1
Power off the PS2 for 5 seconds
Press and hold the reset button - machine will boot
Menu screen will appear
Let go of reset - tray will eject and stay open for 4 seconds
The disc will still be spinning when using AR2/GS2 v1.4 & above
Swap AR2/GS2 disc with your DVD Rip backup
Select START GAME
Select WITHOUT CODES
Press eject till tray comes out halfway then press eject again
Press X AS SOON as the tray closes
For AR2/GS2 v1.4 & above you need to select O + R1 instead of X
The game will now load

Ready to Rumble 2 Boot Method (Alternative Method)

NOTE: Some people had trouble with Ready to Rumble 2 and this seemed to fix it.

Use the normal EA Boot Method to boot the game
As soon as the game starts to check the Memory Card Press EJECT
Wait a couple of seconds until the main R2R screen appears
Close the tray and the game should now work ok

Booting Playstation 1 backups & Playstation 2 originals

Wouldn't it be great if all backups booted like this !

Power off the PS2 for 5 seconds
Boot as normal - no special method

How to boot Playstation 1 originals

NOTE: This technique simply deactivates the chip

Insert your PSX original
Power off the PS2 for 5 seconds
Press reset for 1 second (Until blue light comes on) then let go
Game will now boot as normal - the chip is deactivated

How to boot PSX imports

Insert your PSX original
Power off the PS2 for 5 seconds
Turn on the machine
Press eject just before the PSX LOGO SCREEN
Swap with your PSX import backup
Press eject to close the tray
The game will now load

How to boot DVD-R (only) with AR2/GS2 V2x

Thanks to Nightstalker for this method!

Insert AR2/GS2
Power down console, wait 5 sec, and restart console by pressing and holding reset. (Dont let go)
After GS2 completely loads, swap with original dvd game.(high TOC)
Wait about 15 sec and select Gameshark codes (or ar2 codes) and turn on or off any code on any game.
Press start, select with codes and press x to load game.
You will see a black screen saying "updating codes please wait" at this time release the reset button, tray will eject, swap with backup, tray closes and game loads.
__________________
[size=3][color=red][b]Retired[/size][/b][/color]

[size=2][color=blue][b]
US V7 PS2 w/ Apple Pro
Pioneer DVR-112D
LG GCC-4480B 48X24X48X16 CD-RW/DVD-ROM Combo[/color][/b][/size]
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 28-05-2003, 17:19
BG's Avatar
BG BG is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: ?? No Idea ??
Posts: 2,673
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
BG is on a distinguished road
Ewwww.... NEO 2.......

Take it OUT NOW....... BEFORE it destroys your PS2......

By the way.....

NICE POST Bighap.......
__________________
[COLOR=blue][B]**V5 PAL** SCPH-30004 R W/[/COLOR][COLOR=red]Messiah[/B][/COLOR][b][color=blue][/b][/color]
[color=blue][b]**V7 NTSC** SCPH-39001 W/ [/color][color=red] Messiah 2 [/color][color=blue](Installed by My M8: [/color][color=red]Dust2Dust[/color][color=blue])[/color][/b] :)
[COLOR=blue][B]Pioneer DVR-A05 [/color][color=red] (FW 1.30) w/2X Ritek hack![/color][/b] :D
[b][color=blue]Lite-On LTD-166S DVD-Rom W/[/color][color=red]Smart-X[/color][/b]
[COLOR=blue][B]LG GCE-8320B W/[/color][color=red]8MB Buffer[/COLOR][/B]
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 30-05-2003, 04:52
MrJigi MrJigi is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
MrJigi
i also have heard, that the neo 2.5 chip destroys your laser.

i didnt heard yet, that this also happens with the 2.2 version wich i got.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 30-05-2003, 11:33
bighap's Avatar
bighap bighap is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: US Oregon
Posts: 5,656
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
bighap is on a distinguished road
Send a message via AIM to bighap
All Neo chips destroy your laser.
__________________
[size=3][color=red][b]Retired[/size][/b][/color]

[size=2][color=blue][b]
US V7 PS2 w/ Apple Pro
Pioneer DVR-112D
LG GCC-4480B 48X24X48X16 CD-RW/DVD-ROM Combo[/color][/b][/size]
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 23:13.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2000-2020, FileForums @ https://fileforums.com