Go Back   FileForums > Game Backup > Sony PlayStation > PS2 Games

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 17-10-2004, 02:45
alluneedislove alluneedislove is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Norway
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
alluneedislove is on a distinguished road
PS2 Burnout 3 backup problem

Hi you all. My first post here.
I made a backup of my Burnout 3 PS2 game, but I can only play one track/one country. I am pretty knew to backup games with more advanced
protections. So, how do I get around this problem. What do I need, what do I do? I usually use alcohol or Instant copy to make backups of my PS2 games.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 17-10-2004, 06:05
Warlock's Avatar
Warlock Warlock is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: US
Posts: 3,536
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts
Warlock is on a distinguished road
Did you get any read errors? I backed this game up without any problems using Recordnow DX
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 18-10-2004, 08:41
alluneedislove alluneedislove is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Norway
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
alluneedislove is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by Warlock
Did you get any read errors? I backed this game up without any problems using Recordnow DX
No, it read through the original perfectly. Maybe my modchip is too old?
Both copies I made (latest alcohol 120 and Instant copy) started just fine in my console, but as I mentioned, I can only play USA and one track, regardless of what gamemode I choose... frustrating.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 18-10-2004, 08:45
ajmi982 ajmi982 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: DC/MD
Posts: 100
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
ajmi982
Send a message via AIM to ajmi982
that is interesting. I used dvd decoder and burned with nero and with plextors flexdrive software and I have nearly completed the game with no issues at all.

I also have an OLD PS2 and an OLD modchip. I would try ripping the game at a slower speed or using different media. What blank media are you using??
__________________
What I Got:

Playstation 2 V7 w/ APPLE
Plextor 712-A (THE BEST)
ASUS 48x24x48 (100% CloneCD)
P4 3.2GHz Hyper Threaded
1.5 GIGS DDR PC2700
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 18-10-2004, 08:56
alluneedislove alluneedislove is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Norway
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
alluneedislove is on a distinguished road
Hm... strange. I don't think my dvd burner/dvdrom or the speed is the problem, because other issues I can't mention here, also shows that there's many people who's got this problem with Burnout 3 takedown.
I have an NEC burner and a Pioneer rom... and I have made only successful backups of PS2 games so far, with this combination. Last game i backed up was Richard Burns rally. It worked like a charm. I use verbatim discs for the most. I don't get this...
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 18-10-2004, 09:18
Jay_83's Avatar
Jay_83 Jay_83 is offline
Die Hard Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Midlands UK
Posts: 611
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Jay_83
I've got burnout 3 takedown backup up with Nero.

Sounds like a media issue to me, just because your media plays fine in the pc doesn't mean the ps2 is gonna like it. .....come to think about it the ps2's about as picky with media as my women is
__________________
[COLOR=Blue]v1.0 Xbox - Matrix
v7 Pal Ps2 - NSMOD
V12 Ntsc PS2 - Now A Reborn Virgin :rolleyes: [/COLOR]
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 18-10-2004, 09:45
alluneedislove alluneedislove is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Norway
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
alluneedislove is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jay_83
I've got burnout 3 takedown backup up with Nero.

Sounds like a media issue to me, just because your media plays fine in the pc doesn't mean the ps2 is gonna like it. .....come to think about it the ps2's about as picky with media as my women is
Ok... but why does the other games work fine with the same media?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 18-10-2004, 11:12
Warlock's Avatar
Warlock Warlock is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: US
Posts: 3,536
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts
Warlock is on a distinguished road
Probably because they are smaller games. Most PS2's have issues with cheap media that is burned all the way to the outer edge.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 18-10-2004, 12:19
Jay_83's Avatar
Jay_83 Jay_83 is offline
Die Hard Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Midlands UK
Posts: 611
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Jay_83
For the same reason why a lot of people have had problems with GTA games in the past. Each game loads differently,

For example tekken etc loads the entire stage/characters in RAM, whereas GTA and Burnout 3 read on a buffer (on the fly)
__________________
[COLOR=Blue]v1.0 Xbox - Matrix
v7 Pal Ps2 - NSMOD
V12 Ntsc PS2 - Now A Reborn Virgin :rolleyes: [/COLOR]
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 18-10-2004, 14:32
alluneedislove alluneedislove is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Norway
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
alluneedislove is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by Warlock
Probably because they are smaller games. Most PS2's have issues with cheap media that is burned all the way to the outer edge.
Well, I would'nt say that Verbatim is cheap media... but I could always try another brand. Besides, R.B rally was huge, 4,28 GB and plays fine, but Burnout 3 is only 3,38 GB... But thanks for the advices guys. If it doesn't work with other media I will consider a new console with a newer modchip. Which I was anyway...

Last edited by alluneedislove; 18-10-2004 at 14:43.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 18-10-2004, 14:35
Jay_83's Avatar
Jay_83 Jay_83 is offline
Die Hard Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Midlands UK
Posts: 611
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Jay_83
OH MY GOD,

I think...note I said THINK I know what the problem here is.

You state above you have a NEC writer and a Pioneer Rom.

You're not doing DVD to DVD are you? Ie disc to disc.

You really should be creating a image to your HD before burning.

I might be completely wrong here but at a guess you're doing it on the fly.

am i right or wrong?
__________________
[COLOR=Blue]v1.0 Xbox - Matrix
v7 Pal Ps2 - NSMOD
V12 Ntsc PS2 - Now A Reborn Virgin :rolleyes: [/COLOR]
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 18-10-2004, 14:47
alluneedislove alluneedislove is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Norway
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
alluneedislove is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jay_83
OH MY GOD,

I think...note I said THINK I know what the problem here is.

You state above you have a NEC writer and a Pioneer Rom.

You're not doing DVD to DVD are you? Ie disc to disc.

You really should be creating a image to your HD before burning.

I might be completely wrong here but at a guess you're doing it on the fly.

am i right or wrong?
Read my previous post also.
No, I'm not copying on the fly. I never do. I always create an image, because I know it's most reliable. I always use the Pioneer to read discs, the NEC is a little more picky as a reader.
This Burnout 3 problem is really strange.. makes me want to try other new games. You guys don't think that EA games has added something new to the game for copyprotection??

Last edited by alluneedislove; 18-10-2004 at 14:50.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 18-10-2004, 14:51
Jay_83's Avatar
Jay_83 Jay_83 is offline
Die Hard Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Midlands UK
Posts: 611
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Jay_83
First of all I don't appreciate you telling me to read your previous posts when I have already done so. NOWHERE in your previous posts does it state that you create an image rather than burn on the fly.

As for protection burnout 3 takedown doesn't have any. I've clocked the entire game using my backup with no problems at all.

It's either,

1) Ps2 laser dirty/on it's way out
2) Media Problem
3) DVD Burner Problem - Low power Frequency
__________________
[COLOR=Blue]v1.0 Xbox - Matrix
v7 Pal Ps2 - NSMOD
V12 Ntsc PS2 - Now A Reborn Virgin :rolleyes: [/COLOR]
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 18-10-2004, 14:59
alluneedislove alluneedislove is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Norway
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
alluneedislove is on a distinguished road
No no, you misunderstood. I meant my post where I mention that RB burns rally is 4,28 GB and Burnout 3 is just 3,38 GB. But i apologize, ok?

Thanks for all help though. I will keep on trying...
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 18-10-2004, 15:04
Jay_83's Avatar
Jay_83 Jay_83 is offline
Die Hard Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Midlands UK
Posts: 611
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Jay_83
It was warlock that made the point about games finding it difficult to read at the edge of the disc---a good and valid point to.

I own Burns rally too and it's no where near as intensive as Burnout 3. I honestly do think that it's a media problem as I used to have a v4 ps2 that would read EVERY single backup ever...exept GTA 3 which caused a read error at times.

From there on it started to go downhill and when that started I then realised how some media was better than others. When your laser is on deaths door the difference between cheap media and high grade really shows.

You have PM
__________________
[COLOR=Blue]v1.0 Xbox - Matrix
v7 Pal Ps2 - NSMOD
V12 Ntsc PS2 - Now A Reborn Virgin :rolleyes: [/COLOR]
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
playing backup problem tdog73 PS2 Games 3 13-04-2003 16:48
Project zero dvd backup problem Obsal33t PS2 Games 6 03-04-2003 11:29
Problem making backup with crack on it Stokesy PC Games 3 15-08-2002 18:20
Time Crisis2 backup problem neo key v4ps2 slapdot007 PS2 Games 2 02-02-2002 19:24
Croc 2. Problem creating backup gooch PSX Games 2 15-04-2001 17:09



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 22:04.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2000-2020, FileForums @ https://fileforums.com