Go Back   FileForums > Game Backup > Sony PlayStation > PS2 Games

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 19-12-2003, 17:24
modyouup modyouup is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: New York
Posts: 21
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
modyouup
installing a switch on my messiah2ed ps2

I wanna give $ony the finger and install a switch on my messiah2ed V7 ps2 so that I can play my backups online.

Please advise me on how to do this. I'm not good at soldering at all when it comes to a ps2 but I hear it's pretty simple to install it soooo yeah, please tell me how to do it and what switch i should get and whatnot.

If I can't do this myself, what trusted online store will install it for me?

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 19-12-2003, 18:58
charlie_ps2's Avatar
charlie_ps2 charlie_ps2 is offline
Die Hard Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 1,812
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
charlie_ps2
You can put yopur wires out to a 25 pin rs232 socket, wire your M2 to a RS232 male plug and bingo. Either the chip's in or it's out.

it's what I do on a number of PS2s I have here.
__________________
[b][color=red]Charlie[/b][/color]
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 20-12-2003, 06:39
modyouup modyouup is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: New York
Posts: 21
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
modyouup
What is an rs232 socket? Is that the same as the rs232 socket that connects to a computer?

Would this switch work? http://www.radioshack.com/product.as...t%5Fid=275-654

And ummm, where do I connect the wires to in the ps2.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 20-12-2003, 15:22
charlie_ps2's Avatar
charlie_ps2 charlie_ps2 is offline
Die Hard Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 1,812
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
charlie_ps2
Probably if you have to ask these questions you should get everything done professionally.

I am advising that instead of connecting the wires to the modchip, you connect the wires to a 25 pin socket that is fixed to the rear of the PS2. You then attache the modchip to the right pins of a complementary plug and then plug the modchip in when you want to use it and take it out at other times.

If you want to put a power interrup switch on 3.3v, you can do that to0. Make sure that you bring the switch out to the plastic case and fix it tight.I couldn't be bothered to look at the Radioshack site - it loads more cookies than I could eat and that pisses me off big time!
__________________
[b][color=red]Charlie[/b][/color]
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 23-12-2003, 06:08
Gurm's Avatar
Gurm Gurm is offline
Die Hard Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 450
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Gurm
In order, the "best" methods are:

- Somehow switch EVERY WIRE
- Somehow switch POWER

The RS-232 method is the best one I've tried for switching every wire. Other methods are just a pain in the arse. For PSX's with 8 wires I used to get an 8-pin dipswitch bank from Radio Shack and wire that up - flip them all on or off (or just power) depending on the application.

The big ol' toggle switch you propose would, in fact, be overkill for power. You want something smaller, and less ugly. But the RS-232 idea is really the best. I've been experimenting with plastic cases for the chip... hehe. It's like an illicit USB drive. LOL.

- Gurm
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:35.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2000-2020, FileForums @ https://fileforums.com