Go Back   FileForums > Game Backup > PC Games

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 27-11-2007, 00:59
tyrone biggums tyrone biggums is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: JuJu Land
Posts: 16
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
tyrone biggums is on a distinguished road
Gothic III Community Patch

How bout a crack for gothic III's community patches.
__________________
"There's nothing better than Peanut Butter and crack sandwiches!"
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 27-11-2007, 01:04
TippeX's Avatar
TippeX TippeX is offline
zeroes and ones.....
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 3,843
Thanks: 2
Thanked 35 Times in 23 Posts
TippeX is on a distinguished road
only crack for gothic 3 is from razor... no others seem to exist....
__________________
bleh
DO NOT PM me with questions, leave that in the forums...ESPECIALLY if i dont know you...
  #3  
Old 27-11-2007, 01:45
wolfsrain wolfsrain is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Europe
Posts: 500
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
wolfsrain is on a distinguished road
You are not big on reading, arent you?
http://forum.jowood.com/forumdisplay.php?f=661
http://forum.jowood.com/showthread.php?t=146793
The latest community patch is v1.5.
It doesn't need a crack because the installation method is something like that:
1.Install the game
2.Install the official patch 1.12
3.Apply Razor1911 crack
4.Install the latest community patch(v1.5 a.t.m.)

The community patch needs only Razor's crack. It doesn't change the exe file or alter the protection. They are just redoing the scripts for the quests.
Enjoy the nice work made by the fans!
  #4  
Old 27-11-2007, 01:56
TippeX's Avatar
TippeX TippeX is offline
zeroes and ones.....
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 3,843
Thanks: 2
Thanked 35 Times in 23 Posts
TippeX is on a distinguished road
Quote:
You are not big on reading, arent you?
me or him?
__________________
bleh
DO NOT PM me with questions, leave that in the forums...ESPECIALLY if i dont know you...
  #5  
Old 27-11-2007, 02:44
wolfsrain wolfsrain is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Europe
Posts: 500
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
wolfsrain is on a distinguished road
Him, of course.
He has two thread on the official forums, explaining the fact that the community patch doesn't affect the exe file or the protection in any way.
I know, there is a lot of reading involved, but also a lot of answers are there.
Official forums are there to support people who bought the game and people who are using mods or community patches(of course the mention of the word crack it's pretty much forbidden, but you can read between the lines)
He really should lurk on the official forums, before asking for a question with an obvious answer.
  #6  
Old 27-11-2007, 08:49
tyrone biggums tyrone biggums is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: JuJu Land
Posts: 16
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
tyrone biggums is on a distinguished road
i am tryone biggums. I smoke rocks. and i am telling you, wolfsrain, that the razor crack dont work with community patches. OK. got that. ive tried it. its a no go. and whats more, then why did PAKHAN find a sudden need to release a crack for the community patch today Nov. 27, 2007 (it seems like he/she coincidentally complied with my request for some crack. i smoke rocks)? Now there is an obvious answer. Thank you ladies and gents, this thread is now useless.

It was a joke ladies and gents if you didnt catch that, the cracker making a crack upon my request, i mean...
__________________
"There's nothing better than Peanut Butter and crack sandwiches!"

Last edited by tyrone biggums; 27-11-2007 at 09:08.
  #7  
Old 27-11-2007, 09:03
Joe Forster/STA's Avatar
Joe Forster/STA Joe Forster/STA is offline
Senior forum member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Hungary
Posts: 9,471
Thanks: 6
Thanked 181 Times in 111 Posts
Joe Forster/STA is on a distinguished road
Well, the v1.5 community patch does contain a main game executable and quite a few DLL's, too. And, as it says, it requires the official v1.12 patch so I would say the executable and the DLL's are not from the v1.12 patch, rather contain later modifications, therefore, a new crack is needed for them.

[...] I manually unpacked the official v1.12 and the v1.5 community patches (not the cracks!). None of the files have the same contents in the two patches. Most importantly, engine.dll is encrypted (protected) in both but have different version numbers (v1.12 and v1.50).

But, no, there's no sense of reality in thinking that any cracker reads a thread on this forum and then breaks his (or her) arms and legs in the hurry of releasing the requested crack...
__________________
Joe Forster/STA
For more information, see the FileForums forum rules and the PC Games forum FAQ!
Don't contact me via E-mail or PM to ask for help with anything other than patches (or software in general) done by me, otherwise your request may be deleted without any reply!
Homepage: http://sta.c64.org, E-mail: [email protected]; for attachments, send compressed (ZIP or RAR) files only, otherwise your E-mail will bounce back!

Last edited by Joe Forster/STA; 27-11-2007 at 09:16.
  #8  
Old 27-11-2007, 09:11
tyrone biggums tyrone biggums is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: JuJu Land
Posts: 16
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
tyrone biggums is on a distinguished road
doesnt seem to work though, i tried it out and i got:

"The application failed to initialize properly (0xc00000005). Click OK to terminate the appllication."

I get it twice in a row. Oh well, maybe its just on my comp. Perhaps there are 2 messed up ddl's...
__________________
"There's nothing better than Peanut Butter and crack sandwiches!"
  #9  
Old 27-11-2007, 09:13
TippeX's Avatar
TippeX TippeX is offline
zeroes and ones.....
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 3,843
Thanks: 2
Thanked 35 Times in 23 Posts
TippeX is on a distinguished road
0xc0000005 usually when the exe is run, implies bad import / bad crack (only if ep is not hit already that is)
turn off dep if you have it on for the executable and try again....
__________________
bleh
DO NOT PM me with questions, leave that in the forums...ESPECIALLY if i dont know you...
  #10  
Old 27-11-2007, 09:19
tyrone biggums tyrone biggums is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: JuJu Land
Posts: 16
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
tyrone biggums is on a distinguished road
what exactly is ep and dep?
__________________
"There's nothing better than Peanut Butter and crack sandwiches!"
  #11  
Old 27-11-2007, 10:55
BarryB BarryB is offline
Die Hard Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: In a House
Posts: 1,972
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
BarryB is on a distinguished road
EP (Entry Point) is usually the address of a routine in a program that starts it running.

DEP (Data Execution Prevention) is a feature of Windows that protects certain memory locations from attacks by a virus!
  #12  
Old 27-11-2007, 11:17
Joe Forster/STA's Avatar
Joe Forster/STA Joe Forster/STA is offline
Senior forum member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Hungary
Posts: 9,471
Thanks: 6
Thanked 181 Times in 111 Posts
Joe Forster/STA is on a distinguished road
The best I could find is: in Control Panel (classic view), enter System, go to the Advanced tab, press Settings in the Performance tab and go to the Data Execution Prevention tab.

In my Windows XP, the setting is "Turn on DEP for essential Windows programs and services only" which, most probably, means that for non-system software, like game executables, DEP is disabled. I think this is the setting you should use. Alternatively, if you leave it at "Turn on DEP for all programs and services except those I select" then add this particular executable to the exception list below.

TippeX, is this what you're talking about?

[...] Well, I get the same message but with an error code of 0xc000007b. However, I don't have the game at all, only the files from the v1.5 community patch and the crack for it...
__________________
Joe Forster/STA
For more information, see the FileForums forum rules and the PC Games forum FAQ!
Don't contact me via E-mail or PM to ask for help with anything other than patches (or software in general) done by me, otherwise your request may be deleted without any reply!
Homepage: http://sta.c64.org, E-mail: [email protected]; for attachments, send compressed (ZIP or RAR) files only, otherwise your E-mail will bounce back!

Last edited by Joe Forster/STA; 27-11-2007 at 11:22.
  #13  
Old 27-11-2007, 11:56
wolfsrain wolfsrain is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Europe
Posts: 500
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
wolfsrain is on a distinguished road
Okay, mea culpa and I apologize. I have the game(loved the first two), but didn't checked the v1.5 to see if it modifies the exe and the protection files. I reinstalled it a few moments ago and to my surprise(until v1.41, the community patch worked with the crack v1.12 and didn't tampered with the exe or the protection files), i was asked the DVD. Original DVD worked fine with patch. Than I've applied Pakhan's crack, which works just fine. So BarryB and Tippex are right about something being wrong with the Windows.
The thanks and the beers are going to Pakhan for the crack.
No errors for me. But, hell, for me the russian crack for Witcher v1.1a worked on the UK version of the game...So either my system is doing things that i don't know, behind my back, either i'm the luckiest bastard around.
  #14  
Old 27-11-2007, 12:06
kosmiq's Avatar
kosmiq kosmiq is offline
Die Hard Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Sweden
Posts: 876
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
kosmiq is on a distinguished road
AFAIK some of the community patchers have been given access to some parts of the source-code and the ability to compile new .exe/.dll/whatever files for use in patches.
__________________
UAT - Users against twats

[URL]http://www.bf2player.com/index.php?page=stats&account=23459637&show=all[/URL]
  #15  
Old 27-11-2007, 12:10
wolfsrain wolfsrain is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Europe
Posts: 500
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
wolfsrain is on a distinguished road
As Piranha Bytes now belongs to EA, the support falls on the communty shoulders...
Why we were paying 50 euro for the game? The game got out in a poor shape, with a lot of broken quests and a poor optimization...Now the community is supposed to clean their mess. That's a sad thing...
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help me somebody....please... Gothic 3 Patch V1.08 darkpriest80 PC Games 4 06-11-2006 02:03
Need The Gothic 3 1.07 Patch faraz9 General Gaming 4 03-11-2006 08:19
Neuer Gothic Patch für Radeon Grafikkarten? UPR2000 PC Games 0 07-04-2002 12:36
I can't be the only ONE LOOKING for the american patch for GOTHIC!! goblersknob PC Games 0 17-01-2002 20:04
New Nocd Patch for Gothic 1.07c Please !!!!!! KOD PC Games 4 27-04-2001 16:06



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:53.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2000-2018, FileForums @ https://fileforums.com