Go Back   FileForums > Game Backup > PC Games

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 24-03-2005, 13:10
layziegtp layziegtp is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Michigan
Posts: 8
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
layziegtp is on a distinguished road
Exclamation The Sims 2 Blue Screen of Death

Hi everybody! I'm having a really, really bad problem with The Sims 2. I've emailed EA Technical Support about it, but I doubt they will be able to help. Maybe you guys can be my lifesaver. I don't want to retype the whole thing, so here's a copy of what I sent them.


Quote:
My problem has to do with the sims hard locking my computer. After I pop in the CD, the game autoruns and tries to start, but immediately after the Sims 2 splash screen disappears, the screen goes black, followed by a blue screen. The stop code is always the same, and begins with 0x0000008e, but no other information is given, no drivers are named, nothing.

My system specs are as follows:
3.2Ghz P4
1024MB RAM
Asus P5GD1-VM Motherboard
GeForce 6600GT (PCI Express)
Windows XP (SP2 installed)

I've checked everything I can think of. System temperatures are not a problem, I've made sure the RAM is set to "By SPD", I've tried disabling hyperthreading, there are no other applications running in the background at all, I'm using the newest certified Nvidia drivers (77.84)... I've even tried running in compatibility mode, windowed, lowering the refresh rate of the monitor, nothing works.

I really want to play this game, and the only other thing that comes to mind is uninstalling service pack 2, but I don't want to do that for just this one game. No other games or applications have this problem. Is there anything else I can do, or is there another patch in the works that might help?

Am I stuck not being able to play because of some poorly written code, or is the problem something that I'm doing (or not doing?) right?

I'm almost positive now that the problem is due to SP2, but maybe there is something that I havn't thought of. Help!!!
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 24-03-2005, 13:36
scaramonga scaramonga is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 59
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
scaramonga is on a distinguished road
Lookie

Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 24-03-2005, 13:52
layziegtp layziegtp is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Michigan
Posts: 8
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
layziegtp is on a distinguished road
Close... close, but not it.

1. It doesn't happen when I change hardware acceleration. In fact, I've tried using both full and none setting and got the crash when opening the game.

2. I get the stop code 0x0000008e, but no error message with it (eg. KERNEL_MODE_EXCEPTION_NOT_HANDLED, I don't see that message)

3. The solution in that article is to install SP2 .


Note - I've completely uninstalled the Nvidia drivers and used driver cleaner to finish em off, tried to run the game, and STILL get a lock up.

Thanks though, glad to see a reply so soon.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 25-03-2005, 08:14
Joe Forster/STA's Avatar
Joe Forster/STA Joe Forster/STA is offline
Senior forum member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Hungary
Posts: 9,470
Thanks: 6
Thanked 181 Times in 111 Posts
Joe Forster/STA is on a distinguished road
Hi layziegtp,

If you ask me, installing SP2 on your Windows XP will f*ck your gaming experience even more, in general... (No, fortunately, haven't tried it yet, "got stuck" with Windows 98 and Windows XP SP1... )

Joe
__________________
Joe Forster/STA
For more information, see the FileForums forum rules and the PC Games forum FAQ!
Don't contact me via E-mail or PM to ask for help with anything other than patches (or software in general) done by me, otherwise your request may be deleted without any reply!
Homepage: http://sta.c64.org, E-mail: [email protected]; for attachments, send compressed (ZIP or RAR) files only, otherwise your E-mail will bounce back!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 25-03-2005, 08:52
Grumpy's Avatar
Grumpy Grumpy is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 5,328
Thanks: 694
Thanked 1,208 Times in 516 Posts
Grumpy is on a distinguished road
@Joe
Quote:
installing SP2 on your Windows XP will f*ck your gaming experience even more
Not entirely true! I have Sp2 installed and I dont notice any difference with the games and I have never had any problems getting games to work.
There are some sites around which do suggest some games dont run with as many frames with Sp2 installed but then the same sites list other games as running better with Sp2. I think the worst I have read is maybe a 3% difference in performance either way. 3% is hardly noticeable. So it evens out. If the system is fast enough you wont notice the differences anyway. I have a P4 3.2ghz therefore any differences are hardly noticeable.
__________________
Can't find a Game Conversion? Check the 'Conversion INDEX'
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 25-03-2005, 09:10
krondike's Avatar
krondike krondike is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location:
Posts: 2,091
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
krondike is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by Grumpy
Not entirely true! I have Sp2 installed and I dont notice any difference with the games and I have never had any problems getting games to work.
Says a man that's only playing MS Minesweeper and Solitaire all day long.

@joe
Depands on what proccesor you are using.
Intel P4 had a bug in SP1 with result in slower computer speed, like a 2ghz akt as it was a 400mhz, and wasn't fix until SP2. This is both official and unofficial stories. But point is it acted wierd.

SP2 got some greats things to offer, but with the hole Windows XP thing you need a lot of RAM memory, I got 1.5 GB of ram, and I had a computer with a 256 mb. Gues if I experence any diffrence?!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 25-03-2005, 11:08
Joe Forster/STA's Avatar
Joe Forster/STA Joe Forster/STA is offline
Senior forum member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Hungary
Posts: 9,470
Thanks: 6
Thanked 181 Times in 111 Posts
Joe Forster/STA is on a distinguished road
Hi guys,

Hmmm, interesting what you say... But, as I have no Net access at home and NOD32 is taking good care of my PC (poor thing, there are no viruses for it to find ), I don't have much use for SP2... I might install it some time, though...

Joe

P.S.: I've always been an AMD fan, I'm not using Intel CPU's: the only one I've had was a 486DX2/66...
__________________
Joe Forster/STA
For more information, see the FileForums forum rules and the PC Games forum FAQ!
Don't contact me via E-mail or PM to ask for help with anything other than patches (or software in general) done by me, otherwise your request may be deleted without any reply!
Homepage: http://sta.c64.org, E-mail: [email protected]; for attachments, send compressed (ZIP or RAR) files only, otherwise your E-mail will bounce back!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 25-03-2005, 17:18
Grumpy's Avatar
Grumpy Grumpy is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 5,328
Thanks: 694
Thanked 1,208 Times in 516 Posts
Grumpy is on a distinguished road
@Krondike
Quote:
Says a man that's only playing MS Minesweeper and Solitaire all day long.
Hehehehe,
__________________
Can't find a Game Conversion? Check the 'Conversion INDEX'
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 25-03-2005, 22:08
layziegtp layziegtp is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Michigan
Posts: 8
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
layziegtp is on a distinguished road
To be honest, right now I wish all SP2 was doing was making the game run slower. This crash is really getting to me, and I can't find a single other person out there that's having the same problem!
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 26-03-2005, 01:31
DarkLeftos's Avatar
DarkLeftos DarkLeftos is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Greece
Posts: 121
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
DarkLeftos is on a distinguished road
First of all, install SP2, you never know where the solutions may come from... As for Windows XP memory needs, just make sure you download and use "Game XP", and then disable Windows Themes manually.
__________________
[B]~DaRkLeFtOs~[/B]

[I]"Mr. Worf, scan that ship." "Aye, Captain... 300 DPI?"[/I]

[SIZE=1]ALBATRON PX865PE PRO - Chieftec ATX 420W - Intel Celeron D 2.93GHz - 1GB DDR (333 MHz) - CHAINTECH GeForce FX 6800 128MB - Realtek AC'97 onBoard - Seagate 80GB (SATA) + WD 80GB (IDE) + WD 20 GB (IDE) - Windows XP Professional SP2[/SIZE]

[B]Want to convert your WAVs, MP3s and OGGs fast and easy? Newbie to audio encoding? Use [URL=http://wav2mp3lame.sourceforge.net]Wav2MP3 Wizard[/URL]![/B]
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 27-03-2005, 06:28
JediKnight JediKnight is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Brazil
Posts: 13
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
JediKnight is on a distinguished road
I have SP2 installed and I NEVER had problems with ANY game after installing the upgrade. In fact, I get the impression that WinXP is running a little faster with SP2 installed.

This is no bull****, I play games A LOT. When a game crashes, it means that a crack is poorly coded or the copy protection is too damn hard to break... or a bug in the game.

But I think that Win98SE is way better to play games than WinXP... if only Win98 had support for 1GB of RAM
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NFSU2 Blue Screen Seedmaker PC Games 6 23-11-2004 11:38
Red Screen of Death spoonb4u PSX Games 6 03-02-2004 19:38
TRUE CRIMES gives Purple Screen of DEATH ajmi982 PS2 Games 7 31-12-2003 21:37
blue screen sl1m XBox Games 17 02-12-2002 08:54
Black screen of death when using ced-8120b ausiewilson PSX Games 0 29-06-2001 21:36



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:31.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2000-2018, FileForums @ https://fileforums.com