Go Back   FileForums > Game Backup > PC Games

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-10-2001, 10:53
Silverfox2001 Silverfox2001 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Silverfox2001
Final Fantasy VIII

I`ve made a Final Fantasy VIII backup. But after installation it doesn`t work. If I use a crack the game crashes at disc2 when squall sees the other garden at edeas house. I need a better crack or patch, but I couldn`t find. Please help me!!!
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 08-10-2001, 07:04
GLH's Avatar
GLH GLH is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Berlin / Germany
Posts: 4,727
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
GLH is on a distinguished road
It seems there is something wrong with your discs.
I've the german version of FF8 and i've made a backup copy by copying all the files from cd (each cd alone) to a folder on hd and burn it to a cd-r using the same cd-label like the original cd.

It works fine... and no crash a second cd !!!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 16-06-2005, 07:51
01morbyp 01morbyp is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: England
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
01morbyp is on a distinguished road
O my god, I have the problem at exactly the same place but with the CD. A couple of questions (email me back upside_down_carrot**********com)

1. Is your PC windows xp Pentium 4?
2. Do you have a Nvidia GeForce 4 card?
3. Do you have the GeForce patch instaled?

Seriously wierd
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 16-06-2005, 08:15
GLH's Avatar
GLH GLH is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Berlin / Germany
Posts: 4,727
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
GLH is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by 01morbyp
O my god, I have the problem at exactly the same place but with the CD. A couple of questions (email me back upside_down_carrot**********com)

1. Is your PC windows xp Pentium 4?
2. Do you have a Nvidia GeForce 4 card?
3. Do you have the GeForce patch instaled?

Seriously wierd
Please take a look at the time/date, of my previous post in this thread !!!
It's 08-10-2001 !!!
I don't have the game anymore.
__________________
Please read the FileForums [URL="http://www.fileforums.com/showthread.php?t=54193"]BOARD RULES[/URL] and [URL="http://www.fileforums.com/showthread.php?t=73906"]FAQs[/URL].

This post may not be reproduced without prior written permission.
Copyright (c) 2000-2008 All rights reserved to makes me feel special. :-)
[COLOR=black]
[/COLOR]
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 16-06-2005, 08:47
Grumpy's Avatar
Grumpy Grumpy is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 5,659
Thanks: 1,172
Thanked 1,772 Times in 770 Posts
Grumpy is on a distinguished road
@GLH
But i will give him 100 points for using the search button! He just forgot to look at the date!
__________________
Can't find a Game Conversion? Check the 'Conversion INDEX'
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 16-06-2005, 09:49
DABhand DABhand is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Near my PC
Posts: 5,406
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
DABhand is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by 01morbyp
O my god, I have the problem at exactly the same place but with the CD. A couple of questions (email me back upside_down_carrot**********com)

1. Is your PC windows xp Pentium 4?
2. Do you have a Nvidia GeForce 4 card?
3. Do you have the GeForce patch instaled?

Seriously wierd
There is a Nvidia patch for FF8.

Look in at www.dlh.net then PC patches.


EDIT: Must learn to read me :P But anyways try the copy to HD then to disc idea :P
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-08-2007, 03:39
Rushkid Rushkid is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Sri Lanka
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rushkid is on a distinguished road
Ff 8

Hi,

can some one help me.? My 4 CD have scratch mark that make the game complete stuck after space station video,

I try copying the CD to hard disk/burning/images but the damage is to much.

I do not have a net connection at home so download this game is out of the question.


This game worked for last 7 years so no other problem.

If some one can tell me how to skip the video it will be great (PC)
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-08-2007, 04:06
DABhand DABhand is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Near my PC
Posts: 5,406
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
DABhand is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rushkid View Post
Hi,

can some one help me.? My 4 CD have scratch mark that make the game complete stuck after space station video,

I try copying the CD to hard disk/burning/images but the damage is to much.

I do not have a net connection at home so download this game is out of the question.


This game worked for last 7 years so no other problem.

If some one can tell me how to skip the video it will be great (PC)
1. If your discs are scratched contact Eidos who I believe is the publisher of FF8.

2. THIS FORUM DOES NOT SUPPORT WAREZ! So admitting you would download the game is very very bad, perhaps reading the rules would have been better.

3. Just incase you missed what I said, and you missed the big pop up and missed the bold text on the forum subheadings. READ THE RULES.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-08-2007, 01:57
Rushkid Rushkid is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Sri Lanka
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rushkid is on a distinguished road
Cool

2. THIS FORUM DOES NOT SUPPORT WAREZ! So admitting you would download the game is very very bad, perhaps reading the rules would have been better.

3. Just incase you missed what I said, and you missed the big pop up and missed the bold text on the forum subheadings. READ THE RULES
====================================

You misunderstood what I said.

My game is not a downloaded version Ė I only said I donít have net connection because to stop some one tell me to download it from xxxx site.

What I really need a way to skip the that one video.

What do I need to contact edios.? Because my cds are 3 hand CDS
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-08-2007, 02:31
DABhand DABhand is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Near my PC
Posts: 5,406
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
DABhand is on a distinguished road
1. You misunderstood what I said, I didnt say you downloaded the game, I said you admitted you would download it.

2. Eidos is the publisher and as such doesnt matter if your cd's are 2nd hand, 3rd hand, or whatever they can replace discs for a small fee. At least for that small fee you will have brand spanking new ones.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 14-08-2007, 13:16
Joe Forster/STA's Avatar
Joe Forster/STA Joe Forster/STA is offline
Senior forum member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Hungary
Posts: 9,719
Thanks: 10
Thanked 300 Times in 190 Posts
Joe Forster/STA is on a distinguished road
@Rushkid: Contact the publisher for replacement CD's. (And read forum rule #1 carefully.)
__________________
Joe Forster/STA
For more information, see the FileForums forum rules and the PC Games forum FAQ!
Don't contact me via E-mail or PM to ask for help with anything other than patches (or software in general) done by me, otherwise your request may be deleted without any reply!
Homepage: http://sta.c64.org, E-mail: [email protected]; for attachments, send compressed (ZIP or RAR) files only, otherwise your E-mail will bounce back!
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 21-07-2009, 10:56
Superhuman Superhuman is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: OH
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Superhuman is on a distinguished road
Problem...

Okay, gang, major problem here.

I've installed and re-installed the game. When I try to play it, it tells me constantly that I have the wrong disc inserted and to insert disc 1. My game is an original commercial version, so it makes no sense the the program won't run.

Any suggestions how to get this program to run as it's supposed to before I bother anyone at EA about it?
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 21-07-2009, 12:25
TippeX's Avatar
TippeX TippeX is offline
zeroes and ones.....
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 3,842
Thanks: 2
Thanked 32 Times in 22 Posts
TippeX is on a distinguished road
wrong place? publisher is eidos (as mentioned by dab).. not ea as mentioned by you..
__________________
bleh
DO NOT PM me with questions, leave that in the forums...ESPECIALLY if i dont know you...
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 21-07-2009, 13:33
Superhuman Superhuman is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: OH
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Superhuman is on a distinguished road
Eidos may be the publisher, but both Eidos and Square Enix sends me to Electronic Arts for support. If you notice in the opening screens, there is a credit which reads "Square Electronic Arts Ltd."

Still, I need help to get the program to run. The NV patches do not help.

Last edited by Superhuman; 21-07-2009 at 13:33. Reason: IOncomplete
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 21-07-2009, 13:43
Superhuman Superhuman is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: OH
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Superhuman is on a distinguished road
Just left a message with EA tech support, under "Final Fantasy VIII." Hopefully, the issue will be resolved so I can get back to enjoying this program. It's my favorite FF game.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 00:52.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2000-2020, FileForums @ https://fileforums.com