Go Back   FileForums > Game Backup > PC Games

Old 14-01-2013, 21:48

zakku1991 is on a distinguished road
Question NoDVD creation for rare games

Good afternoon,

Long story short, I'm a massive fan of the Tomb Raider series, and i've been learning Japanese for the past 13 years so I thought why not put the two together. After years of hard searching and buying, I've finally gotten every piece of my collection of Japanese dubbed Tomb Raider games. Alot of money spent, but score, I'm proud!

I detest playing games with a CD in. it's pointless and makes loading times ridiculous so I always search for a patch when I get a game and normally they work fine except in this situation.

My latest additions to arrive yesterday in the mail are the JP versions of Tomb Raider Legend, Anniversary and Underworld which cost me an arm and a leg due to their rarity. These games are all based on Securom protection so using virtualdrives etc.. make it difficult and either way, I'd rather just have a noCD patch rather than use virtualdrives.

I found a japanese blog online last night which actually showed me what Hex values to edit in the TRUnderworld exe. So I opened my hex editor, changed (like..3 values) and score, it works without the CD, no backup error or anything, yay! I went to do this to the TRLegend and Anniversary exe using the same value changes on the same areas but unfortunately didn't work.

Is there an easy way to find out how to do this for the other two games? I can't just download the NoDVD fixes (english nor multi) from gamecopyworld because this game is the JP localization, all the ingame fonts and audio end up being messed up if i use a different language exe. I need these original exes patched.

I have no idea about assembly, debugging etc.. so if it involves that, I might have to give it a miss and see if I could request it to be done. Is there a request form anywhere? I'd be willing to upload the executables themselves.

Kind Regards.

Zac,
Sponsored Links