Go Back   FileForums > Game Backup > PC Games > PC Games - CD/DVD Conversions

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #256  
Old 19-08-2017, 19:17
violet1143 violet1143 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: San Andreas
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
violet1143 is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by pakrat2k2 View Post
check the game index there are a few conversions for that game.
Yeah I know about those. What I am talking about are installers or install scripts that bear a resemblance to the original installer R* uses or similar.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #257  
Old 19-08-2017, 21:07
78372's Avatar
78372 78372 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Bangladesh
Posts: 345
Thanks: 400
Thanked 259 Times in 111 Posts
78372 is on a distinguished road
Are you talking about this?
__________________
BUSY IN EXAMS
Reply With Quote
  #258  
Old 29-08-2017, 23:11
hoyt's Avatar
hoyt hoyt is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Virginia Beach, VA
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
hoyt is on a distinguished road
I use Linux every day and I enjoy using it to play games. I'm following the instructions in this thread for COD2. I've installed Orca using Crossover and it would seem to be working normally. And I have changed permissions on the COD2.msi file to read/write from read-only, but I am unable to edit COD2.msi to change the VolumeLabel. It tells me "Could not change this cell to 'COD2' [or anything else]. The data was rejected by the database. It may be out of the valid range or formatted incorrectly."

I have searched the forum, but have not found a fix for this. I am not able to edit the table as directed. This is not a problem with COD2, but with Orca, so I chose to post here rather than the COD2 thread above.

Any advice?

Last edited by hoyt; 29-08-2017 at 23:17.
Reply With Quote
  #259  
Old 31-08-2017, 21:07
Grumpy's Avatar
Grumpy Grumpy is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 5,181
Thanks: 608
Thanked 947 Times in 421 Posts
Grumpy is on a distinguished road
@hoyt
I can not help you with your Linux problem, but I have attached the 'edited' MSI file you need in the COD2 thread where you asked your other question.
__________________
Can't find a Game Conversion? Check the 'Conversion INDEX'
Reply With Quote
  #260  
Old 22-10-2017, 00:53
shifu92 shifu92 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Malang
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
shifu92 is on a distinguished road
Hi im new member here, may i ask something
some post contain this

[Launch1]
Name=DirectX
32Exe={src}\_CommonRedist\DirectX\Jun2010\dxsetup. exe
Argument=/silent
BeforeInstall=1
Checked=0

[Launch2]
Name=Microsoft .NET Framework 4.0
32Exe={src}\_CommonRedist\DotNet\4.0\dotNetFx40_Fu ll_x86_x64.exe
Argument=/q /norestart
BeforeInstall=1

where and how i put this?
Reply With Quote
  #261  
Old 22-10-2017, 12:22
pakrat2k2's Avatar
pakrat2k2 pakrat2k2 is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 5,915
Thanks: 2,314
Thanked 6,446 Times in 2,326 Posts
pakrat2k2 is on a distinguished road
That just shows the structure of how the installer expects folders & files to be located.

make a _CommonRedist folder in output folder 1, then subfolder DirectX ... place all files for it in last subfolder. Same goes for DotNet.
Reply With Quote
  #262  
Old 26-10-2017, 06:05
shifu92 shifu92 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Malang
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
shifu92 is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by pakrat2k2 View Post
That just shows the structure of how the installer expects folders & files to be located.

make a _CommonRedist folder in output folder 1, then subfolder DirectX ... place all files for it in last subfolder. Same goes for DotNet.
yeah thx but i know that, so im confused with where do i put that line? in autorun.inf or record.ini or somewhere else? i tried to put it on record.ini, but when installation done, they do nothing to install dotnet directx etc..
Reply With Quote
  #263  
Old 26-10-2017, 06:16
mausschieber's Avatar
mausschieber mausschieber is offline
Conversion Designer
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: germany
Posts: 527
Thanks: 1,920
Thanked 1,536 Times in 382 Posts
mausschieber is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by shifu92 View Post
yeah thx but i know that, so im confused with where do i put that line? in autorun.inf or record.ini or somewhere else? i tried to put it on record.ini, but when installation done, they do nothing to install dotnet directx etc..
this is in setup.ini file under SETUP LAUNCHER Section
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to mausschieber For This Useful Post:
pakrat2k2 (26-10-2017)
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Frequently Asked Questions Joe Forster/STA PC Games - Frequently Asked Questions 0 29-11-2005 10:48
soft mod - opinions, questions dneray22 XBox Games 2 01-08-2003 07:36
A few questions I need answered. rms2001 XBox Games 5 05-12-2002 13:55
Newbie with 1,000 questions ( not really 1,000, but close enough) tdoran70 PS2 Games 3 29-05-2002 01:47
A few questions, PLLeaase Read Bill-Something PSX Games 6 18-08-2001 09:18



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 18:03.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2000-2017, FileForums @ http://fileforums.com