GameCopyWorld   -   ConsoleCopyWorld   -   CD Media World   -   CoverTarget   -   LinkWorld

Go Back   FileForums > Game Backup > PC Games

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 22-06-2007, 09:16
BarryB BarryB is offline
Die Hard Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: In a House
Posts: 1,983
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
BarryB is on a distinguished road
How to run HALO 2 under Windows XP

Not a joke, it does work! Tested on WinXP Pro SP2, 1Gb RAM, 2.2Ghz CPU and X850XT GPU!

http://d.turboupload.com/d/1892930/H...NoGrp.rar.html

Follow the instructions, but also copy the 'wow.dll' file into your Halo 2 folder as well, the instructions forget to tell you that! Make a backup of 'mf.dll' as this will be overwritten and probably won't let it run under Vista, so make a copy so you can put it back!
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 23-06-2007, 02:10
FREEMAN100 FREEMAN100 is offline
CSS MilfHunter
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: uk
Posts: 127
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 3 Posts
FREEMAN100 is on a distinguished road
Send a message via MSN to FREEMAN100
Yeah it does work but it doesnt fix the fact the game is proper crap...
__________________
Do Illiter8 People Get The Full Affect Of Alphabet Soup.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 23-06-2007, 04:14
wolfsrain wolfsrain is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Europe
Posts: 500
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
wolfsrain is on a distinguished road
Crackers 2 - Microsoft 0
Same thing happened to Shadowrun, just recently.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 23-06-2007, 07:46
EMPiRE EMPiRE is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 1,097
Thanks: 3
Thanked 45 Times in 32 Posts
EMPiRE is on a distinguished road
The Halo 2 WinXP patch is up now but where is the Shadowrun WinXP patch?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 23-06-2007, 17:45
blackdog62 blackdog62 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: right here
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
blackdog62 is on a distinguished road
I've been told it works but every time I click the loader.exe it flashes for a second then its gone, any help would be appreciated. Thx

Never mind, had a duhhh moment, have it working good

Last edited by blackdog62; 23-06-2007 at 20:03.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 24-06-2007, 03:20
BaZi BaZi is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Turkey/Trabzon
Posts: 39
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
BaZi is on a distinguished road
thanx I will try it.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 24-06-2007, 15:53
Ukiman Ukiman is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Ukiman is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by blackdog62 View Post
I've been told it works but every time I click the loader.exe it flashes for a second then its gone, any help would be appreciated. Thx

Never mind, had a duhhh moment, have it working good
I'm still having the duhhh moment, how do I install through the loader.exe ?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 24-06-2007, 16:12
hssemichi hssemichi is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Austria
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
hssemichi is on a distinguished road
open up a cmd shell (start -> run -> cmd -> enter) and navigate to the folder where you extracted loader.exe (with 'cd directory').
then type

loader.exe LetterOfDVDROMDrive:\StartUp.exe

same procedure for starting the game after copying dll's - just type

Loader.exe "C:\Program Files\Microsoft Games\Halo 2\halo2.exe"

(depends on operating system language)
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 24-06-2007, 16:39
BarryB BarryB is offline
Die Hard Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: In a House
Posts: 1,983
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
BarryB is on a distinguished road
You can create a desktop shortcut using the Loader.exe, just create a shortcut on your desktop for Loader.exe, open the properties for it then:

In the Target: part of the shortcut put:

"C:\Program Files\Microsoft Games\Halo 2\Loader.exe" "C:\Program Files\Microsoft Games\Halo 2\halo2.exe"

and in the Start in: part put:

"C:\Program Files\Microsoft Games\Halo 2"

Assuming game is installed in default directory, edit as necessary if you installed it elsewhere!

As for the crap game, I made the mistake of missing a video setting! Goto SETTINGS > VIDEO > LEVEL OF DETAIL and set it to HIGH!! Then the game looks a bit better, but not much!

Halo 2? More like Halo 1.5
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 24-06-2007, 23:39
wolfsrain wolfsrain is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Europe
Posts: 500
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
wolfsrain is on a distinguished road
Don't worry, is just Microsoft who killed Bungie a long time ago(Myth serie anyone??!). Such a shame that Bungie was bought by a company which is the synonim for unimaginative.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 25-06-2007, 03:47
raven_g20 raven_g20 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Greece
Posts: 11
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
raven_g20 is on a distinguished road
im not getting this done...i installed thru loader exe to my prefered directory and not in default, dont know if that messes anything up, then i did what the info said(installed the msi, copied the files etc) and now when i run halo2.exe thru loader.exe it just flashes for a moment and nothin happens...i dont know...any help is well appreciated..thx
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 25-06-2007, 03:58
BarryB BarryB is offline
Die Hard Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: In a House
Posts: 1,983
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
BarryB is on a distinguished road
raven, Did you copy the wow.dll from the archive into the same Halo2 directory as the loader.exe, and launch it like so from a command prompt:

loader "C:\Program Files\Microsoft Games\Halo2\Halo2.exe"

Obviously you'll have to put the the path of your game directory inbetween the quotes, e.g if you installed the game to D: in a folder called Halo 2 then you'd type:

loader "D:\Halo 2\halo2.exe"

That should work if you've copied across all the correct files and installed those two msi programs, the Live installer and the VC++ redistributable.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 25-06-2007, 04:13
raven_g20 raven_g20 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Greece
Posts: 11
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
raven_g20 is on a distinguished road
BarryB thnx m8...im so stupid...i only copied loader.exe into the dir and didnt copy wow.dll...many thnx m8..works like a charm
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 25-06-2007, 04:39
Joe Forster/STA's Avatar
Joe Forster/STA Joe Forster/STA is offline
Senior forum member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Hungary
Posts: 9,266
Thanks: 4
Thanked 79 Times in 57 Posts
Joe Forster/STA is on a distinguished road
@wolfsrain: Remember the Marathon series, too (first released for the Macintosh!); I've just started playing the first Marathon in the Alpha One engine a month or two ago...
__________________
Joe Forster/STA
For more information, see the FileForums forum rules and the PC Games forum FAQ!
Don't contact me via E-mail or PM to ask for help with anything other than patches (or software in general) done by me, otherwise your request may be deleted without any reply!
Homepage: http://sta.c64.org, E-mail: sta@c64.org; for attachments, send compressed (ZIP or RAR) files only, otherwise your E-mail will bounce back!
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 25-06-2007, 05:18
wolfsrain wolfsrain is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Europe
Posts: 500
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
wolfsrain is on a distinguished road
Yup, you are right, Joe. Bungie used to be one of the most innovative companies before being bought by MS. And most of the original team left pretty fast after the purchase of Bungie by MS.
Why the hell MS tries so hard to own everything, beats me. If they needed a game division, why not create one. They do have the money. And they aren't able to keep the employees of the gaming companies that they are purchasing. So why bother...Don't remember a single game that was close to good from MS.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Windows Vista vs Windows Vienna 2009 free_to_view Hardware 4 28-11-2009 04:40
Halo 2 free_to_view General Gaming 11 16-06-2007 03:51
Frequently Asked Questions Joe Forster/STA PC Games - Frequently Asked Questions 0 29-11-2005 09:48



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:28.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2000-2010, FileForums @ http://fileforums.com