Go Back   FileForums > Game Backup > Sony PlayStation > PS2 Games

Old 11-11-2001, 00:13

dimsum5
standards for copying and playing games

im new at this whole copying ps2 games thing, so can someone help me out. i dont have a dvd writer, only a 8x cd-r writer. will i be able to copy games correctly, and will my ps2 read them if i dont have a mod chip or anything? basically im asking, can my ps2 play burned cds without a mod chip or anything special?
Sponsored Links
Old 11-11-2001, 04:13
Charlie

There you go - this'll get you going. See para 5 re: DVD games

I'll assume that you have an original game to copy such as one you have bought and wish to protect. You will need a modchip for your PS/PS2, copying software & the right PC hardware for the burning job. I recommend the Yamaha 2100/2200S (or E) CD-RW for optimum compatibility for read & write with the recommended copying software. If you take an EIDE connected burner, ensure that it is placed on the secondary IDE channel else the device will slow down the hard disk & buffer under-runs are likely to occur on non-burn-proof devices.

Go to ####://www.megagames.com or ####://www.sgt-dan.com/ or ####://www.psxcopyworld.co.uk for detailed advice.

The basics are as follows:

1/
You’ll need to get the PS/PS2 chipped to allow backups to play. Go to website ####://www.playstationmods.com or ####://www.madeiragames.com whence you can buy a mod (UK). An internal mod is recommended & if you live in the UK, they'll do it for you if you are not a soldering whizzo. You could also visit ####://www.modchip.com for their solution in USA.

2/