GameCopyWorld   -   ConsoleCopyWorld   -   CD Media World   -   CoverTarget   -   LinkWorld

Go Back   FileForums > Game Backup > PC Games > PC Games - CD/DVD Conversions

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-12-2005, 05:36
Grumpy's Avatar
Grumpy Grumpy is offline
'Retired' Moderator
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 4,866
Thanks: 266
Thanked 369 Times in 191 Posts
Grumpy is on a distinguished road
Star Wars: Knights of the Old Republic

Original Poster: Asimov
Post Date: 06-10-2004

(This method is from a thread over at CDStream)

Copy all of the contents from CD1 to a new temparary folder on your computer.
Copy all of the contents from CD2, CD3 and CD4 except the files autorun.inf and autorun.exe to the same temparary folder as those of CD1.
To keep the directory structure, when asked if you would like to replace exiting files, click yes.
Make sure not to copy the two autorun files from the last three CDs or it will not install properly.

Open the autorun.inf file with notepad and change this:

[Disk]
Disk=1
Label1=Disk1

So it looks like this:

[Disk]
Disk=4
Label4=Disk4

Save the changes.
Create a new folder in the temp diretory for a no-cd crack + patches and call it whatever you like.
Burn all the contents of the temparary folder to a DVD with any title.

Notes:
*Keep in mind that because you changed the autorun.inf file the autorun will ask you to insert the first CD. All you need to do is go into the CD and run the Setup.exe to install.
__________________
Can't find a Game Conversion? Check the 'Conversion INDEX'
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 08-12-2005, 06:26
Grumpy's Avatar
Grumpy Grumpy is offline
'Retired' Moderator
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 4,866
Thanks: 266
Thanked 369 Times in 191 Posts
Grumpy is on a distinguished road
SW: KOTOR autorun rigged

Original Poster: Killpuppy
Post Date: 11-11-2004

This is in regards to the autorun issue as mentioned by Asimov for Star Wars: Knights of the Old Republic.

Originally we had to exit the autorun installer and navigate to windows explorer to manually choose setup. BTW Good Job Asimov. I had been curious about the process for a while

While I doubt that we can enable the autorun at all, we can rig the autorun.inf file. When is done the disk will automaticly install upon insert rather than seeking the proper autorun menu.

To do this open autorun.inf with notepad.

Change these lines:

[autorun]
OPEN=autorun.exe
ICON=autorun.exe,0

to the following:

[autorun]
OPEN=setup.exe
ICON=autorun.exe,0
__________________
Can't find a Game Conversion? Check the 'Conversion INDEX'
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-12-2005, 06:30
Grumpy's Avatar
Grumpy Grumpy is offline
'Retired' Moderator
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 4,866
Thanks: 266
Thanked 369 Times in 191 Posts
Grumpy is on a distinguished road
Star Wars: Knight of the Old Republic (fully working DVD)

Original Poster: Thruba
Post Date: 11-11-2004


Copy all contents of CD 1 to a temporary folder, as mentioned by Asimov (cheers mate).
From CDs 2, 3 and 4 copy the data*.cab files (data3.cab, data4.cab and data5.cab respectively) to the same temporary folder. From CD 4 copy also the "Extras" folder.

To avoid the "Please Enter Disc 4" problem, do the following:

Open the "setup.inx" file with a hex editor (I used a demo version of UltraEdit). Do a search for "autorun.inf" in "ASCII" mode and you will find two entries. Now all you have to do is rename those entries replacing one character (I changed them to "autoruk.inf"). *Important*: Do not add or delete any character, because you will make your file unusable. Save your file as "setup.inx" (If you use UltraEdit, the program will automatically save your original file as "setup.inx.bak". You don't need this file.)

Next, make a copy of "autorun.inf" and rename the copy to whatever you named your entries in the "setup.inx" file (i.e. "autoruk.inf"). Edit the new file and replace the entries

[Disk]
Disk=1
Label1=Disk1

to

[Disk]
Disk=4
Label4=Disk4


Now you must have two .inf files in your folder. This will eliminate the "Disc 4" annoying error!

Finally, you may want to import the no-cd crack to your project, so when you install the game, you don't have to replace the .exe file to play. You will need the no-cd .exe (swkotor.exe) and i6comp 1.03b. Just do the following:

Copy all your data*.* files (data1.cab, data1.hdr, data2.cab, data3.cab, data4.cab and data5.cab) to a new temporary folder (i.e. Temp2). Copy also the no-cd crack (swkotor.exe).
Copy the "i6comp.exe" from the .zip archive to your windows folder (C:\Windows or whatever you have).
Open a command prompt pointing at your new temp folder and write exactly as you see it the following:

i6comp r data1.cab swkotor.exe

This will replace the swkotor.exe inside the cabs with the no-cd crack and modify the data1.hdr.

When the procedure is complete, close the dos box, copy the data*.* files back to your first temporary folder and replace the original data*.* files.
__________________
Can't find a Game Conversion? Check the 'Conversion INDEX'
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Grumpy For This Useful Post:
LaviTheBlade (24-05-2014)
  #4  
Old 03-01-2012, 03:36
surat2000 surat2000 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: INDIA
Posts: 13
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
surat2000 is on a distinguished road
Star Wars: Knight of the Old Republic

1 Create Temp folder and give this name KOTOR_1

2 Now copy every thing from 1 CD to temp folder

3 Now Copy data3.cab from CD2 to temp folder

4 Now Copy data4.cab from CD3 to temp folder

5 Now Copy data5.cab & Extras folder CD4 to temp folder

6 Open the "setup.inx" file with a hex editor I am using ultra edit professional Do a search for "autorun.inf" in "ASCII" mode and you will find two entries. Now all you have to do is rename those entries replacing one character (I changed them to "autoruk.inf").
*Important*: Do not add or delete any character, because you will make your file unusable. Save your file as "setup.inx" (If you use UltraEdit, the program will automatically save your original file as "setup.inx.bak". You don't need this file.)

7 Burn the dvd as temp folder name KOTOR_1 image size is 2.37 Gb

Working complete no error no problem tested in 2 pc

This complete tutorial created by Grumpy i just added some word's Say thanks to Grumpy
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 24-05-2014, 05:12
LaviTheBlade LaviTheBlade is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Texas
Posts: 1
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
LaviTheBlade is on a distinguished road
After getting incredibly frustrated, and nothing else was working, I found your post. Thank you so much for this, now I can play KOTOR again!! You are awesome!!

EDIT by Grumpy: Glad you're happy but really don't need all the swearing included.

Last edited by Grumpy; 24-05-2014 at 08:06.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Star Wars: Knights of the Old Republic II 1.0b crack request bluesdealer PC Games 2 29-04-2005 12:16
Star Wars : Knights of the Old Republic 2: The Sith Lords v2.10 Ellmout PC Games 2 18-04-2005 13:14
Star Wars: Knights of the old republic 2 Italian Atlas PC Games 6 12-04-2005 06:08
Star Wars Knights of the Old Republic 2 The Sith Lords Character Editor Hazuzi General Gaming 3 01-03-2005 15:33
Star Wars: Knights of the Old Republic copy protection problem? jerky1977 PC Games 2 26-04-2004 08:33



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:32.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2000-2010, FileForums @ http://fileforums.com