Go Back   FileForums > Game Backup > Sony PlayStation > PS2 Games

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 27-12-2002, 06:51
IVAHOTROD IVAHOTROD is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 16
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
IVAHOTROD
Strange audio problem with Messiah 2 chip

i have a messiah 2 chipped ps2 (v30003R), im encountering some weird audio problems, for example; sometimes at bootup the sony booting sound is echoing badly (like your tripping!!) then if i reboot and its ok, later in a game the same thing happens, the sound goes all tinny and echo's badly, or sometimes the background sound dissappears altogether and comes back again. I have tried pot adjustment (no, not the dope kind) with limited success. could the fault be with the messiah 2 or is the laser Fecked or the ps2 itself ?

im using Techno brand dvd-r which work fine on all other ps2's i have tried.

hope someone can shed a little light on this one

Last edited by IVAHOTROD; 27-12-2002 at 07:27.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 27-12-2002, 09:52
Danny767 Danny767 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 23
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Danny767
Have you tried soldering the CLK wire on the messiah chip to the alternative location? This is supposed to fix audio problems.

Hope this helps??
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 27-12-2002, 10:01
IVAHOTROD IVAHOTROD is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 16
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
IVAHOTROD
THE DIAGRAMS I GOT HAVE ONLY ONE LOCATION FOR THE CLK CONECTION, IF YOU HAVE DIAGRAMS SHOWING MULTIPLE LOCATIONS I WOULD BE MOST GRATEFUL TO A LINK TO THE SITE.

THANKS
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 27-12-2002, 10:05
Danny767 Danny767 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 23
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Danny767
It depends on the version of your ps2 but here is a link to a page where you can choose your version from.

http://www.messiah2.com/index.php?subpage=3
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 27-12-2002, 10:16
IVAHOTROD IVAHOTROD is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 16
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
IVAHOTROD
AH, I SEE WHATS HAPPENED, THEY HAVE UPDATED THEIR DIAGRAMS. I SEEM TO HAVE THE OLD DIAGRAMS FROM THIS SITE, THANKS FOR THE INFO....WILL POST HERE IF ITS A SUCCESS WITH THE SOUND PROBLEM.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 27-12-2002, 11:24
IVAHOTROD IVAHOTROD is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 16
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
IVAHOTROD
!!SUCCESS!! The alternative CLK point on the 30003R board worked a treat, no more "inside a barrel" sound. Thanks for the help.

This MSG Board Rulez !!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 27-12-2002, 12:50
Danny767 Danny767 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 23
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Danny767
glad to be of help. Iv got the same model ps2 which i chipped with a messiah 2 but now the disc will only spin 1/10th of a turn. Dont suppose you have any ideas on that?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 28-12-2002, 03:25
IVAHOTROD IVAHOTROD is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 16
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
IVAHOTROD
i had to do a bit of re-calibration on the laser on this model (even though its only a year old) No backups would load until i did this. if you've done the old ps1 laser tuning, its just the same for the ps2 laser, except now u have 2 pots, one for cd and dvd tuning.

by the sounds of it, you have wired a wire or two in the wrong place ?? need more info from you...is it just ps1 games this happens with or both and dvd ? did the ps2 work fine before chipping ?? Is there a clicking sound from the laser ??

if its ps1 only games not working, then check the SCEX wire, it must be on the connection shown in the diagram, not the same one for the old NEO2.2 SCEX connection (i fell for this one at the start cos it was an easier point)

cant think of anything else except for the the bit where u have to cut a track on the back of the messiah 2 chip due to production fault on some chips where it fails to initialise.

i suggest going round all your solder points and verify them all
checking for bridges.

hope this helps.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 28-12-2002, 08:51
Danny767 Danny767 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 23
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Danny767
Cheers for that. Iv removed the chip now and its still the same. No discs will load at all it just turns 1/10th of a turn then stops. No clicking and iv checked for bridging but found none.

Thanx
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 28-12-2002, 17:35
IVAHOTROD IVAHOTROD is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 16
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
IVAHOTROD
did the ps2 work ok before you fired the messiah2 into it ?also, check all your ribbon cables are all correctly/firmly in place.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 29-12-2002, 01:55
Danny767 Danny767 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 23
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Danny767
Yeah it worked fine before. Checked the ribbon cables they all seem ok. I think the motherboard is gone to be honest.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 29-12-2002, 03:24
rms2001's Avatar
rms2001 rms2001 is offline
Die Hard Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Desolate No-where, AZ, USA
Posts: 1,061
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
rms2001
Send a message via ICQ to rms2001 Send a message via AIM to rms2001 Send a message via MSN to rms2001
Maybe the whole laser assembly crapped out??? Just a thought…
__________________
[SIZE=1]NTSC Ver1.0 XBox w/ [URL=http://www.gameshopusa.com/]X2.3 Lite[/URL] flashed with X2 4981.06
120GB WD 7200RPM 8mg cache
Samsung SDG-605B
* All stuffed in a beautiful translucent green case

UK PAL Ver1.4 XBox ([i]not chipped yet[/i])
Stock 8gb WD
Philips 6035/21
* All stuffed in a beautiful Crystal Clear case[/SIZE]


[I]Having a BMW that says “Made in the USA” is like having a Rolls-Royce that says “Made in Japan”[/I]
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 29-12-2002, 05:03
IVAHOTROD IVAHOTROD is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 16
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
IVAHOTROD
too much of a coincidence to be honest

ok before chipping - not ok after chipping ??

i think it is possibly a bridge on one of the connections, its not hard to do it and not see it, trust me, ive been doing these things
for years, and every now and then one comes round to give me a headache !!

One just recently, chipped it prefectly, switched it on, and nothing worked, checked and re-checked all points same result, turned out to be the smallest ribbon cable wasnt even pushed into its slot, it was sitting just underneath the slot and appeared to be in, that one cost me about three hours of my life , lol !!

but seriously, go over all the points with a magnifying glass to rule
out the obvious. failing all of the above, yes your ps2 is definitley Fecked !!!
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 29-12-2002, 05:48
Danny767 Danny767 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 23
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Danny767
Ok cheers for the guidance ill have one last look over it and then it looks like a trip to the dustbin for the thing!!!

Thanx again
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 29-12-2002, 06:52
IVAHOTROD IVAHOTROD is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 16
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
IVAHOTROD
forgot to ask....what wattage of soldering iron are you using, if its over 18w then you may have cooked something on the motherboard or maybe a component has moved slightly of place ?

also, keep your 3.3v wire as short as possible .

last ditch attempt...hope u get it sorted.

cheers
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:17.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2000-2017, FileForums @ http://fileforums.com