Go Back   FileForums > Game Backup > PC Games > PC Games - CD/DVD Conversions

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 19-11-2008, 12:40
theimperatorum theimperatorum is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: italy
Posts: 57
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
theimperatorum is on a distinguished road
Need For Speed Undercover (DVD9 to 1x DVD5)

NFS UNDERCOVER DVD9 TO DVD5 CONVERSION (MULTI 3 GER\ITA\FRE)

1-Create a folder on pc and name it NFSUndercover
2-Copy the dvd9 contenent in this folder
3-Extract the file Group114.cab in other folder. Must create a file text (0kb) and rename it with the same name of other language files (same extenction).recompress with winace with cab option (name it Group114.cab)
4-Now copy the Group114.cab file in NFSUndercover folder. It's All

have tested and works 100%

Last edited by theimperatorum; 19-11-2008 at 15:09.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 19-11-2008, 15:04
ravd ravd is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: ???
Posts: 188
Thanks: 0
Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
ravd is on a distinguished road
Need For Speed Undercover (DVD9 to DVD5)

1) Copy DVD content to NFSUndercover folder

2) Open notepad and copy/paste this into it and Save As... Filename: makecab-compress.bat Save as type: All files (*.*)
Code:
@echo off

SET /p des=Type cab name without extension: 
SET cab=%des%.cab
SET ddf=%des%.ddf

if exist %des% del %des%
if exist %ddf% del %ddf%
md %des%
echo .OPTION EXPLICIT >%ddf%
echo .Set CabinetName1=%cab% >>%ddf%
echo .Set DiskDirectory1=%des% >>%ddf%
echo .Set MaxCabinetSize=2048000000 >>%ddf%
echo .Set MaxDiskSize=2048000000 >>%ddf%
echo .Set InfFileName=del.me1 >>%ddf%
echo .Set RptFileName=del.me2 >>%ddf%
echo .Set Cabinet=on >>%ddf%
echo .Set Compress=on >>%ddf%
echo .Set CompressionType=LZX >>%ddf%
echo .Set CompressionMemory=21 >>%ddf%
for /f "usebackq skip=5 tokens=2* delims=\" %%I in (`extrac32.exe /e /l %des%\ %cab%`) do (
echo %des%\%%~nxI>>%ddf%
)
echo Make md5/sfv or edit ddf/files if needed before continuing...
pause
makecab.exe /f %ddf%
for /f "skip=11" %%I in (%ddf%) do del /F "%%I"
del del.me1 del.me2

SET des=
SET cab=
SET ddf=

pause
3) Put makecab-compress.bat to 'NFSUndercover' folder

4) Run bat file and type Group114 and press Enter

Don't continue after it extracts files and pauses

1. Goto 'Group114' folder where extracted files are
2. Replace unneeded language files with dummy file
3. You only need to replace files with dat mentioned in filename SOUNDSPEECHCopspeechdat_XX_big, other ones are too small to make any difference
4. Don't replace SOUNDSPEECHCopspeechdat_en_big

After replacing files, you can continue batch progress

5) After repacking, move repacked Group114.cab from 'Group114' folder to 'NFSUndercover' folder, overwrite when asked

Delete empty 'Group114' folder. Group114.ddf and makecab-compress.bat

6) Edit 'Support\localization.ini' file and remove language entries under [LOCALES] for languages replaced in Step 4

7) Burn or make image with label NFSUndercover


Need for Speed Undercover FULL BACKUP (DVD9 to DVD5)


1) Use same makecab batch script mentioned earlier to compress Group2.cab and Group116.cab

2) Delete files from 'DirectX' folder

download BLANK_DXSETUP.7z

Extract it to 'DirectX' folder

3) Burn or make image with label NFSUndercover
Attached Files
File Type: 7z BLANK_DXSETUP.7z (7.5 KB, 601 views)

Last edited by ravd; 10-12-2008 at 23:35.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to ravd For This Useful Post:
sandywolle (27-12-2014)
  #3  
Old 19-11-2008, 15:09
theimperatorum theimperatorum is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: italy
Posts: 57
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
theimperatorum is on a distinguished road
NFS UNDERCOVER DVD9 TO DVD5 CONVERSION (MULTI 3 GER\ITA\FRE)

1-Create a folder on pc and name it NFSUndercover
2-Copy the dvd9 contenent in this folder
3-Extract the file Group114.cab in other folder. Must create a file text (0kb) and rename it with the same name of other language files that will eliminated (same extenction).recompress with winace with cab option (name it Group114.cab)
4-Now copy the Group114.cab file in NFSUndercover folder. It's All

have tested and works 100%

Example for the italian version. This is the Cab after the recompression:

powergrab1sp9.jpg

Last edited by theimperatorum; 19-11-2008 at 15:23.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 19-11-2008, 17:55
E-Z E-Z is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 8
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
E-Z is on a distinguished road
Just tried ravd's method and it works. Although I did have a bit of trouble creating the dummy files. I thought just creating a new txt file and renaming it would be ok but it's still recognised as a txt file. So I just made a couple of copies of one of the copspeech files and renamed them. Installs fine.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 20-11-2008, 00:10
PUNDIT PUNDIT is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: SRBIJA
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
PUNDIT is on a distinguished road
Smile

theimperatorum metod is OK now,install and uninstall works on Winxp32,thanks

Last edited by PUNDIT; 20-11-2008 at 00:14.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 20-11-2008, 01:08
coder75 coder75 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: @workplace
Posts: 3
Thanks: 5
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
coder75 is on a distinguished road
Just tried ravd's method and it works, thanks a lot !
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 20-11-2008, 02:08
mis2 mis2 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Poland
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
mis2 is on a distinguished road
DVD9 to DVD5 Full backup (nothing ripped)

Version :Multi 10
Languages:cs,da,en-uk,es,fi,hu,nl,pl,ru,sv

Recompress all cab files except Group10.cab(movies) and Group114.cab (sound) in Winace only !
because with powerarchiver doesn't work correctly (only errors)

Compression - maximum
Image size after recompress 4.35gb
Method tested 100 % and it works
sorry for my bad english

edit: Instalation tested on Vista x64 , XP x86, and XPx64

Last edited by mis2; 20-11-2008 at 05:18.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 20-11-2008, 09:13
ravd ravd is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: ???
Posts: 188
Thanks: 0
Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
ravd is on a distinguished road
when making dummy files with notepad or renaming txt file then make sure you don't leave .txt extension

Easy to do if you have unticked "Hide extensions for known file types" in windows settings. (Control Panel -> Folder Optrions -> View Tab -> Advanced Settings) Any advanced windows user should have this unticked.

Of course batch file won't pack renamed txt files if there is .txt extension

filename.txt <- Wrong way

filename <- right way

Here is how i usually do my dummy files using batch file

Code:
ECHO. >dummy
Code:
REM DUMMY FILES FOR MULTI10

ECHO. >SOUNDSPEECHCopspeechdat_en_big
ECHO. >SOUNDSPEECHCopspeechdat_ru_big
ECHO. >SOUNDSPEECHCopspeechdat_sp_big

REM DUMMY FILES FOR MULTI3

ECHO. >SOUNDSPEECHCopspeechdat_fr_big
ECHO. >SOUNDSPEECHCopspeechdat_ge_big
ECHO. >SOUNDSPEECHCopspeechdat_it_big
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 21-11-2008, 02:19
Pigkiller Pigkiller is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Old Germany
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Pigkiller is on a distinguished road
hi all.

the RAVD Conversation works fine for me and my German Version of NfS U.

u need only use the batch and sure the dummy files for the other speeches.

But don't use the fake DirectX.exe // the game doesn't start after Install and makes a lot of errors.

After use the batch from ravd and burning as udf/iso, the game is 4186 MB big.

Cheers and sorry for my bad english
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 21-11-2008, 02:25
valyemil81 valyemil81 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Romania
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
valyemil81 is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by mis2 View Post
DVD9 to DVD5 Full backup (nothing ripped)

Version :Multi 10
Languages:cs,da,en-uk,es,fi,hu,nl,pl,ru,sv

Recompress all cab files except Group10.cab(movies) and Group114.cab (sound) in Winace only !
because with powerarchiver doesn't work correctly (only errors)

Compression - maximum
Image size after recompress 4.35gb
Method tested 100 % and it works
sorry for my bad english

edit: Instalation tested on Vista x64 , XP x86, and XPx64
This method works 100% for me on Vista x64
It took me about 1h to recompres all .cab but worth it.
For the largest (Group2, Group14, Group 112, Group116 and Group132) archive I compress 2 at time cause on my Core2 Duo if I compress only one CPU worked only at 50% .

Final size of disk 4,36 GB (4.681.966.887 bytes)

Great job all of you
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 21-11-2008, 05:38
ravd ravd is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: ???
Posts: 188
Thanks: 0
Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
ravd is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pigkiller View Post
But don't use the fake DirectX.exe // the game doesn't start after Install and makes a lot of errors.
There is no need for DirectX setup if you keep your computer updated with latest DirectX provided by microsoft, Was your errors because old directx files?

Quote:
Originally Posted by gentilu View Post
I use same makecab batch to compress Group114, Group2, Group116 and the disk have the size 4,790,078,488... why is the big size?
Did you fake DirectX?
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 21-11-2008, 06:26
ravd ravd is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: ???
Posts: 188
Thanks: 0
Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
ravd is on a distinguished road
Other cabs doesn't compress so well but here is some which you can compress, Group11 -16MB Group14 -9MB Group112 -8MB

But just compressing Group2, Group116 and faking directx (multi10) size is 4,36 GB (4 686 203 472 bytes) of course if people with not legimite copy tries my full backup conversion it will not fit, there is no need add crack on disk (online activation)
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 21-11-2008, 14:43
sic(6)SaNdMaN sic(6)SaNdMaN is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Germay
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
sic(6)SaNdMaN is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by mis2 View Post
DVD9 to DVD5 Full backup (nothing ripped)

Version :Multi 10
Languages:cs,da,en-uk,es,fi,hu,nl,pl,ru,sv

Recompress all cab files except Group10.cab(movies) and Group114.cab (sound) in Winace only !
because with powerarchiver doesn't work correctly (only errors)

Compression - maximum
Image size after recompress 4.35gb
Method tested 100 % and it works
sorry for my bad english

edit: Instalation tested on Vista x64 , XP x86, and XPx64
Great Idea!
After recompressing, I can tell that you can also skip recompressing of the other two biggest files:
Group116.cab
Group14.cab
because they're already max compressed. So It also won't last for an hour, but only need some minutes to finish everything!

Now I'll test, if my Game is working
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 21-11-2008, 22:17
h1tw4n h1tw4n is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: home
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
h1tw4n is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by theimperatorum View Post
NFS UNDERCOVER DVD9 TO DVD5 CONVERSION (MULTI 3 GER\ITA\FRE)

1-Create a folder on pc and name it NFSUndercover
2-Copy the dvd9 contenent in this folder
3-Extract the file Group114.cab in other folder. Must create a file text (0kb) and rename it with the same name of other language files that will eliminated (same extenction).recompress with winace with cab option (name it Group114.cab)
4-Now copy the Group114.cab file in NFSUndercover folder. It's All

have tested and works 100%

Example for the italian version. This is the Cab after the recompression:


works perfectly !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! and works for all version (english, spanish, italian, etc) sorry for my english........
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 23-11-2008, 08:21
ravd ravd is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: ???
Posts: 188
Thanks: 0
Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
ravd is on a distinguished road
Never use powerarchiver to recompress cabs. Lots of problems with cab files

I'm not sure about WinAce, seems to work now OK and its compression seems to be better than makecab.exe if mis2 got down to 4,35GB by just compressing cabs.

But most compatible method to recompress is makecab
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
INDEX - CD2DVD Conversion Index **UPDATED: 23-10-2017** Grumpy PC Games - CD/DVD Conversions 120 01-11-2017 06:01
Command & Conquer: Red Alert 3 (MULTI 4) DVD9 to 2xDVD5 jta PC Games - CD/DVD Conversions 22 05-08-2012 17:55
Need For Speed Undercover (DVD9 to 2x DVD5) ravd PC Games - CD/DVD Conversions 7 09-03-2010 15:07
Phantasy Star Universe (DVD9 to 2 DVD5 OR DVD9 to 1 DVD5) Heretic666 PC Games - CD/DVD Conversions 6 26-12-2006 07:28



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:03.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2000-2017, FileForums @ http://fileforums.com