Go Back   FileForums > CD & DVD > CD/DVD Copy Protections & Utilities

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 28-03-2002, 14:24
Ronin48 Ronin48 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Ronin48
Incoming Forces - Macrovision logo screen?

Hi there,

I've just made my first attempt to dupe a Safedisk2 protected disk (Incoming Forces). I used Clony XXL with my Plextor PX-W124TS and all seemed to go OK.

When I start the copy of the game I get a Macrovision Safedisk2 logo onscreen for a few seconds then the game menu appears. The game craps out with a Direct3D error when trying to load but I think it's because my D3D is broken 'cos the original disk craps out with the same error.

Is it usual to see the Macrovision logo on copies of Safedisk 2 disks? Does it's appearence indicate the copy is either good or bad?

TIA,

R.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 28-03-2002, 14:31
themis_t's Avatar
themis_t themis_t is offline
Die Hard Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Greece!Athens....(You know the place with the Parthenon,don't you?)
Posts: 1,493
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
themis_t
i think this means that the copy is bad...have you enabled the aws?
__________________
You don't believe it?it's Magic!

Oloi oi ellines [URL=http://www.forums.gr/forumdisplay.php?s=&forumid=63]edo[/URL]!!!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 28-03-2002, 16:07
gh0sth@cker's Avatar
[email protected] gh0sth@cker is offline
Die Hard Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Ireland
Posts: 2,357
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
gh0sth@cker
Never seen the Macrovision logo coming up before. But it wouldn't be a sign of a bad copy I wouldn't think. If it's a bad copy then it'll say something Please Insert Correct CD.
__________________
[COLOR=Black][B]A black hole is when god divides by zero...[/B][/COLOR][COLOR=Black][/COLOR]
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 28-03-2002, 16:24
Ronin48 Ronin48 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Ronin48
Yep AWS was on, and everything seemed to go OK. Guess I'll have to fix the damned D3D stuff & try the game out then.

Thanks for your comments.

R.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 29-03-2002, 14:31
themis_t's Avatar
themis_t themis_t is offline
Die Hard Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Greece!Athens....(You know the place with the Parthenon,don't you?)
Posts: 1,493
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
themis_t
try using betablocker with the image....
__________________
You don't believe it?it's Magic!

Oloi oi ellines [URL=http://www.forums.gr/forumdisplay.php?s=&forumid=63]edo[/URL]!!!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 29-03-2002, 14:38
Einstein Einstein is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 94
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Einstein
If the original craps out with the same error, then it won't be the copy either.

Direct3D error could be your current video drivers are not fully compatible with the version of DirectX your running.

Try updating both your graphics card drivers & DirectX to latest versions.

Hope it helps.

Regards,
Einstein
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 29-03-2002, 15:10
themis_t's Avatar
themis_t themis_t is offline
Die Hard Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Greece!Athens....(You know the place with the Parthenon,don't you?)
Posts: 1,493
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
themis_t
the version of direct x that the cd needs in order to play is included on the cd data...normally
__________________
You don't believe it?it's Magic!

Oloi oi ellines [URL=http://www.forums.gr/forumdisplay.php?s=&forumid=63]edo[/URL]!!!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 29-03-2002, 15:28
packer's Avatar
packer packer is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: JHB, S.A.
Posts: 1,122
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
packer
This is strange, i have never seent the logo come on a SD2 game but i have seen it pop up on a SD1 game
__________________
Lite-on 32123s Sony CRX-140E


The Ultimate Jedi
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 29-03-2002, 15:38
themis_t's Avatar
themis_t themis_t is offline
Die Hard Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Greece!Athens....(You know the place with the Parthenon,don't you?)
Posts: 1,493
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
themis_t
,aybe it's and sd1...(i don't think so)but we don't know..
__________________
You don't believe it?it's Magic!

Oloi oi ellines [URL=http://www.forums.gr/forumdisplay.php?s=&forumid=63]edo[/URL]!!!
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-04-2002, 10:40
Eagle's Avatar
Eagle Eagle is offline
Moderator-out-of-business
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Crollywood
Posts: 1,016
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Eagle is on a distinguished road
i have nfs 4 - road challenge uk version. it uses sd 1 and when i run the game a safedisc 'splash-screen' shows up while authenticating the cd. (fyi: it does this with the original cd!)

i think its a kind of 'feature' that can be en/disabled
__________________
"impossible" only means that you have not tried everything.
Please, [url="http://www.fileforums.com/search.php?s="]SEARCH[/url] the forums before asking!
[color=red]Don't ask for help with WAREZ.[/color]
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 02-04-2002, 11:23
gh0sth@cker's Avatar
[email protected] gh0sth@cker is offline
Die Hard Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Ireland
Posts: 2,357
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
gh0sth@cker
Quote:
Originally posted by Eagle
i have nfs 4 - road challenge uk version. it uses sd 1 and when i run the game a safedisc 'splash-screen' shows up while authenticating the cd. (fyi: it does this with the original cd!)

i think its a kind of 'feature' that can be en/disabled
Are you talking about the game's splash screen, showing the logo or picture of the game, cos this is on just about all Safedisk games (this is when it's checking the protection). But I've never seen a Macrovision logo on the splash screen
__________________
[COLOR=Black][B]A black hole is when god divides by zero...[/B][/COLOR][COLOR=Black][/COLOR]
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 02-04-2002, 12:35
Eagle's Avatar
Eagle Eagle is offline
Moderator-out-of-business
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Crollywood
Posts: 1,016
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Eagle is on a distinguished road
no. like i said: its a splash screen from SAFEDISC!

ok, screenshot here (~190kB)
__________________
"impossible" only means that you have not tried everything.
Please, [url="http://www.fileforums.com/search.php?s="]SEARCH[/url] the forums before asking!
[color=red]Don't ask for help with WAREZ.[/color]

Last edited by Eagle; 02-04-2002 at 12:44.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 02-04-2002, 13:47
gh0sth@cker's Avatar
[email protected] gh0sth@cker is offline
Die Hard Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Ireland
Posts: 2,357
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
gh0sth@cker
huh....I've got that game too. I might go and try it out. But I don't think it'll be the same cos this one was from a box set of six games (knockdown price) so it probably won't have ne protection. If I can find it, I might give it a go, then again, I probably couldn't be bothered looking.

Trying is the first step to failure Homer Simpson
__________________
[COLOR=Black][B]A black hole is when god divides by zero...[/B][/COLOR][COLOR=Black][/COLOR]
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 02-04-2002, 14:25
themis_t's Avatar
themis_t themis_t is offline
Die Hard Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Greece!Athens....(You know the place with the Parthenon,don't you?)
Posts: 1,493
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
themis_t
Not always themis_t
__________________
You don't believe it?it's Magic!

Oloi oi ellines [URL=http://www.forums.gr/forumdisplay.php?s=&forumid=63]edo[/URL]!!!
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 02-04-2002, 15:51
Monty Burns's Avatar
Monty Burns Monty Burns is offline
Die Hard Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Springfield
Posts: 1,173
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Monty Burns is on a distinguished road
I only saw the sd2 splash screen once, this was while installing From Dusk Till Dawn which uses a sd2 protected setup.exe.
__________________
[b][i]Monty says:[/i][/b]

Here's a phone. Call somebody who cares.

Ah, Monday morning.... Time to pay for your two days of debauchery, you hungover drones.

I could crush him like an ant. But it would be too easy. No, revenge is a dish best served cold. I'll bide my time until.... Oh, what the hell. I'll just crush him like an ant.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 00:33.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2000-2017, FileForums @ http://fileforums.com