Go Back   FileForums > Game Backup > PC Games > PC Games - CD/DVD Conversions

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-03-2006, 14:57
DarkLeftos's Avatar
DarkLeftos DarkLeftos is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Greece
Posts: 121
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
DarkLeftos is on a distinguished road
Sims 2 MegaPack v3 (Original + 3 expansions) - Incl. Fix for Official Patches

The Sims 2 MegaPack (TS2 + UNI + NL + OFB in 2xDVD-5)
________________________________________

For people that have bought the original The Sims 2 along with its expansions but can't bother with 9(?!) CDs, here is a nice solution on how to put them altogether in two single-layer DVDs.

IMPORTANT: This new updated version does not have the patching problem of the previous Megapack and allows you to use all future official patches and expansions. Below is a note for users that have used the previous Megapack on what was wrong.

Current testing status: Fully Working
Future Plans: New improved version on the works in cooperation with getaway.


-------------------------------------------------------

1. Install the original Sims 2 and all expansions on your hard disk.
2. Download and install Inno Setup and ISTool (http://www.innosetup.com)
3. Download my Sims 2 MegaPack Inno Setup file from here (http://www.geocities.com/yleftos/sims2mpv3.zip)
4. Open the script file, and change to the Script tab on the left, I have included the instructions on the few lines that need to be changed inside the Script as comments, it's really, really easy. You just have to change the paths to the ones you've installed the game.
5. After you've compiled the Setup, go to the folder you've selected to save it and you'll find a "Sims 2 MegaPack v3 Setup.exe" (if you hadn't changed the setup name parameter) as well as some BIN ones with the same name.
6. In the same folder create a "OFB Image" folder and include Daemon Tools or Alcohol as well as your full Sims 2 Open For Business CD1 Image (you’ll have to make that in Alcohol, I won’t provide information about that here.)
7. In the same folder create a "Post-Install" folder and include the Sims 2 Start Menu package which can be downloaded from here (http://www.geocities.com/yleftos/sims2startmenu.zip). This package has the shortcuts needed by the game's installer whenever you patch the game or install a new expansion. This is an important step. You'll have to extract the contents of the zip in every computer you install this MegaPack to, in the "C:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Start Menu\Programs" folder. Without doing this you won't be able to install any patches or expansions. Note also that these shortcuts are only dummy shortcuts and won't work to play the game.
8. Burn all the contents of the folder to two DVDs, fitting the “Sims 2 MegaPack v3 Setup.exe” and as many BINs as you can on the first DVD (each BIN is about 1GB), and put the rest of the BINs as well as any extras (OFB Image, Post-Install, etc.) on the second DVD! You're done!

Approximate size of all the folder's contents: 5.39GB

The how-to-install part is quite easy to guess. You install the game from the custom installer, mount the mini-image on Daemon or Alcohol and you're good to go. I remind you again that this updated version of the MegaPack is fully compatible with all future official patches and expansions, but you still need to have the 4th CD from the original Sims 2 with you whenever installing a new expansion.

________________________________________

NOTE FOR USERS OF PREVIOUS MEGAPACK (v2):
If you’d like to correct the script file instead of downloading the new one (which requires Sims 2 Open For Business too), I have found that the problem that didn’t allow the game to be patched with official patches (a “The Sims 2 is not properly installed” error popped-up) is that I had set the wrong parameters for the Start Menu folders in the Registry section. So, find the following line…

Root: HKLM; SubKey: SOFTWARE\EA GAMES\The Sims 2; ValueType: string; ValueName: Folder; ValueData: {commonstartmenu}\Προγράμματα\EA GAMES\The Sims 2\; Flags: uninsdeletekey

...and replace it with…

Root: HKLM; SubKey: SOFTWARE\EA GAMES\The Sims 2; ValueType: string; ValueName: Folder; ValueData: {commonprograms}\EA GAMES\The Sims 2\; Flags: uninsdeletekey

Do the same for the Sims 2 University and Sims 2 Nightlife subkeys.

Also, correct the following lines (add the words in bold)…

Root: HKLM; SubKey: SOFTWARE\EA GAMES\The Sims 2; ValueType: string; ValueName: EPsInstalled; ValueData: Sims2EP1.exe,Sims2EP2.exe; Flags: uninsdeletekey

…and…

Root: HKLM; SubKey: SOFTWARE\EA GAMES\The Sims 2 University; ValueType: string; ValueName: Suppression Exe; ValueData: Sims2.exe; Flags: uninsdeletekey

That’s it for here. Now you'll have to download the Start Menu package (http://www.geocities.com/yleftos/sims2startmenu.zip) and extract the contents to your
"C:\Documents And Settings\All Users\Start Menu\Programs" folder after you compile the setup and install the megapack (obviously you'll have to include it on the DVDs as it has to be extracted on every computer the megapack's installed. You're done.

You only need to do this if you’re still using the v2 of the MegaPack (that is, if you don’t have Open For Business yet.)
__________________
[B]~DaRkLeFtOs~[/B]

[I]"Mr. Worf, scan that ship." "Aye, Captain... 300 DPI?"[/I]

[SIZE=1]ALBATRON PX865PE PRO - Chieftec ATX 420W - Intel Celeron D 2.93GHz - 1GB DDR (333 MHz) - CHAINTECH GeForce FX 6800 128MB - Realtek AC'97 onBoard - Seagate 80GB (SATA) + WD 80GB (IDE) + WD 20 GB (IDE) - Windows XP Professional SP2[/SIZE]

[B]Want to convert your WAVs, MP3s and OGGs fast and easy? Newbie to audio encoding? Use [URL=http://wav2mp3lame.sourceforge.net]Wav2MP3 Wizard[/URL]![/B]

Last edited by DarkLeftos; 09-03-2006 at 13:28.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 09-03-2006, 08:04
BeetleJuice BeetleJuice is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 13
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
BeetleJuice
Send a message via ICQ to BeetleJuice
I couldn't find the "ISTool" when i d/led inno setup. Is it required or located at another site? Or do you mean one of the two "Toolbar's" listed there?

sims2mpv3.zip did not include any instructions ????

Adjust your inner download link there's a "typo" from "http://www.geocities.com/yleftos/sims2startmenu.zip)"

to

"http://www.geocities.com/yleftos/sims2startmenu.zip"


How does the install know that there will be two dvds and know to ask for dvd #2 when the install runs out of files at the end of dvd #1?

Could this be done on a single dual layer dvd?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-03-2006, 13:23
DarkLeftos's Avatar
DarkLeftos DarkLeftos is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Greece
Posts: 121
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
DarkLeftos is on a distinguished road
Quote:
I couldn't find the "ISTool" when i d/led inno setup. Is it required or located at another site? Or do you mean one of the two "Toolbar's" listed there?
You should download the QuickStart Pack.
Quote:
sims2mpv3.zip did not include any instructions ????
The file inside the archive if opened with Inno Setup or ISTool has all the instructions needed in the Script section.
Quote:
Adjust your inner download link there's a "typo" from "http://www.geocities.com/yleftos/sims2startmenu.zip)"

to

"http://www.geocities.com/yleftos/sims2startmenu.zip"
Problem fixed.
Quote:
How does the install know that there will be two dvds and know to ask for dvd #2 when the install runs out of files at the end of dvd #1?
It just doesn't find the next bin file needed on the CD/DVD, so it asks for the next disc. The same thing happens if you install it from your hard drive, and it doesn't find the next bin file in the same folder, so it just asks you to browse for the folder that has the needed file.
Quote:
Could this be done on a single dual layer dvd?
Sure, it can be done, if you change the line that says...
Compression=zip
...to...
Compression=lzma/ultra
Note however, that using LZMA/Ultra compression will take almost a whole night to compress. Just FYI, took a bit above 3 hours on an AMD 64 3400+ processor.

Hope I've answered all your questions.
__________________
[B]~DaRkLeFtOs~[/B]

[I]"Mr. Worf, scan that ship." "Aye, Captain... 300 DPI?"[/I]

[SIZE=1]ALBATRON PX865PE PRO - Chieftec ATX 420W - Intel Celeron D 2.93GHz - 1GB DDR (333 MHz) - CHAINTECH GeForce FX 6800 128MB - Realtek AC'97 onBoard - Seagate 80GB (SATA) + WD 80GB (IDE) + WD 20 GB (IDE) - Windows XP Professional SP2[/SIZE]

[B]Want to convert your WAVs, MP3s and OGGs fast and easy? Newbie to audio encoding? Use [URL=http://wav2mp3lame.sourceforge.net]Wav2MP3 Wizard[/URL]![/B]
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-03-2006, 06:56
BeetleJuice BeetleJuice is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 13
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
BeetleJuice
Send a message via ICQ to BeetleJuice
Quote:
You should download the QuickStart Pack.
Where is this located I wasn't able to find it?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 14-03-2006, 11:45
DarkLeftos's Avatar
DarkLeftos DarkLeftos is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Greece
Posts: 121
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
DarkLeftos is on a distinguished road
Sorry for the late reply. I thought it was easy enough to find...

http://www.jrsoftware.org/isdl.php#qsp
__________________
[B]~DaRkLeFtOs~[/B]

[I]"Mr. Worf, scan that ship." "Aye, Captain... 300 DPI?"[/I]

[SIZE=1]ALBATRON PX865PE PRO - Chieftec ATX 420W - Intel Celeron D 2.93GHz - 1GB DDR (333 MHz) - CHAINTECH GeForce FX 6800 128MB - Realtek AC'97 onBoard - Seagate 80GB (SATA) + WD 80GB (IDE) + WD 20 GB (IDE) - Windows XP Professional SP2[/SIZE]

[B]Want to convert your WAVs, MP3s and OGGs fast and easy? Newbie to audio encoding? Use [URL=http://wav2mp3lame.sourceforge.net]Wav2MP3 Wizard[/URL]![/B]
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 14-03-2006, 14:20
madmax4's Avatar
madmax4 madmax4 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Hellas
Posts: 13
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
madmax4
Quote:
Originally Posted by DarkLeftos
I remind you again that this updated version of the MegaPack is fully compatible with all future official patches and expansions, but you still need to have the 4th CD from the original Sims 2 with you whenever installing a new expansion.
i think that i have wrote a conversion that doesn't need the 4th cd;you can use your home-made dvd instead.but i can't find it anymore in the forum...probably deleted...
__________________
ONE FOR ALL AND ALL FOR ONE!!!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 14-03-2006, 18:45
Grumpy's Avatar
Grumpy Grumpy is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 5,233
Thanks: 637
Thanked 1,057 Times in 456 Posts
Grumpy is on a distinguished road
@madmax4
Quote:
i have wrote a conversion that doesn't need the 4th cd..............but i can't find it anymore in the forum.
Things were shifted around a bit but your conversion is still here.
(Its post #3)
__________________
Can't find a Game Conversion? Check the 'Conversion INDEX'
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 15-03-2006, 04:06
madmax4's Avatar
madmax4 madmax4 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Hellas
Posts: 13
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
madmax4
Ok man! i needed my own conversion because i didn't remember how i did it...
no problem.
__________________
ONE FOR ALL AND ALL FOR ONE!!!
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 15-03-2006, 04:07
Grumpy's Avatar
Grumpy Grumpy is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 5,233
Thanks: 637
Thanked 1,057 Times in 456 Posts
Grumpy is on a distinguished road
@madmax4
__________________
Can't find a Game Conversion? Check the 'Conversion INDEX'
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 26-03-2006, 23:08
robo989 robo989 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Wales
Posts: 74
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
robo989 is on a distinguished road
I seem to be having some problems with this guide

I'm sure its just me but...

Before I was using the Sims 2 Megapack V2, which works fine...

I got open for business the other day and wanted to do a V3 megapack from it so followed all the steps...

but when I got to play, after copying over the crack from reloaded (same thing happens without the crack using original)...

I get a dialogue box coming up that says "Some installation files were corrupted during install, please reinstall" or something like that...

When I then just reinstall open for buisness over the top of the megapack the game then works fine!!!

Any ideas?

Thanx Rob
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 07-04-2006, 03:24
Yonsi Yonsi is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Spain
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Yonsi is on a distinguished road
Hi!

How can I make this setup for a Spanish version? Is it too hard to do? Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 27-07-2006, 10:09
ongy2k3's Avatar
ongy2k3 ongy2k3 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
ongy2k3 is on a distinguished road
Exclamation The Sims 2 Megapack FIX!!!!

As You May Know, If You Install The Sims 2 Megapack v2, You Cannot Add Expansion Packs Or Patch The Game. I Managed To Fix This Problem Without Using What 'DarkLeftos' Said. E-Mail Me On ongy2k3**********com And I Can Send U The Files And INstructions Or I May Later POst Them ON Here
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 27-07-2006, 17:27
Grumpy's Avatar
Grumpy Grumpy is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 5,233
Thanks: 637
Thanked 1,057 Times in 456 Posts
Grumpy is on a distinguished road
@ongy2k3
Quote:
As You May Know, If You Install The Sims 2 Megapack v2, You Cannot Add Expansion Packs Or Patch The Game. I Managed To Fix This Problem Without Using What 'DarkLeftos' Said. E-Mail Me On ongy2k3**********com And I Can Send U The Files And INstructions Or I May Later POst Them ON Here
Hmm nothing special, you probably got the answer from cd-2-dvd.com as it has been posted on there for many many months now on what to do!
Quote:
Or I May Later POst Them ON Here
That would have been your better option right from the start instead of asking people to email you. If you have something to share then share it.
__________________
Can't find a Game Conversion? Check the 'Conversion INDEX'
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 28-07-2006, 06:22
ongy2k3's Avatar
ongy2k3 ongy2k3 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
ongy2k3 is on a distinguished road
Talking Sims 2 Megapack Fix

-Grumpy-

Firstly, No I Did Not Get Anyhelp From The Site You Mentioned.

Secondly, Was Going To Post Them But I Just Needed To Write Instruction Files. I Have Now Don The So You Can Download Then From http://thesims2fix.50webs.com

Last edited by ongy2k3; 28-07-2006 at 06:30.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 28-07-2006, 07:15
Grumpy's Avatar
Grumpy Grumpy is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 5,233
Thanks: 637
Thanked 1,057 Times in 456 Posts
Grumpy is on a distinguished road
@ongy2k3
Quote:
-Grumpy-
Now now dont get 'Grumpy'

What you have posted is not the same information I believed was on the other site.
It looks like a job well done btw.
Not that I have any of the Sims games to be able to test them.
__________________
Can't find a Game Conversion? Check the 'Conversion INDEX'

Last edited by Grumpy; 28-07-2006 at 07:21.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The original SIMS (No expansions!) Segageo64 PC Games 0 29-05-2002 08:51
THE SIMS NO-CD PATCHES Croc PC Games 3 27-09-2001 15:21
Sims no expansion patches needed! Also if possible Mortal Kombat 4 crack The Plague PC Games 0 10-08-2001 02:27
The Sims Livin' Large I burnt it with no cracks or patches at all I will tell u. Trojin PC Games 0 29-11-2000 14:29
Will someone plz help me None of the Sims no cd/fixed exe patches work!!! (they all crash during ini Slick PC Games 0 05-11-2000 13:45



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:25.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2000-2017, FileForums @ http://fileforums.com