Go Back   FileForums > Game Backup > Sony PlayStation > PS2 Games

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 20-06-2004, 02:56
acem77 acem77 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 12
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
acem77
novachip problems playing online enabled backups. what should i do?

what i want to do is have 2 playstations hooked up at my house online at the same time. so me and my friends can play as a team against or with other people online.

the 1st ps2 has a magic 3.1 in it.
it works great for playing dnas patched games online.

the 2nd ps2 has an old novachip in it. it seems to have problems booting most online games they lock up at the 1st few loading screens.
so my guess is there is some anti cheat lockout for starting games with a action replay/gameshark. since using one is the 1st step that must be done to start a p2 backup with a novachip i may be **** out of luck. or the novachip its self has some problems with online games.
the nova works great with any other non online games and a few older ones.

a few games that dont work and are online.
Resident_Evil_Outbreak_USA
Serious_Sam_Next_Encounter_USA
Syphon_Filter_The_Omega_Strain_Usa
Champions of Norrath: Realms of EverQuest

i would hate to have to rip out buy and replace my nova when over all it seems to work.
so i guess i am hoping for a patch to get by the ar/ga check.
or the next best all around cheaper mod chip that will let me play online
backups.

some things i was not sure about. what are the odds of getting banned from running 2 copies of the same games online. say an original and a backup patched with the origials dnas code/id?

is it ok to keep running games on line with my magic 3.1? i read that some chips can be detected. i am guessing if i got online i should not worry.

the new chips that say you can turn them off. is that for when you boot a backup and play on line you turn it off after it boots up. or to keep the system form being banned when playing an original game online cuz thier servers can detect the mod chip?

i think i will go with a magic 3 as a replacement for my novachip.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 20-06-2004, 04:49
lufcfan's Avatar
lufcfan lufcfan is offline
Die Hard Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Brighouse, England
Posts: 2,983
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
lufcfan is on a distinguished road
Send a message via AIM to lufcfan Send a message via MSN to lufcfan
No whatever you do, don't replace with Magic 3. Replace it with a Duo. 3's are a load of crap IMHO
__________________
[SIZE=3][COLOR=orange][B][COLOR=blue]PS2, [/COLOR][COLOR=yellowgreen]XBOX[/COLOR] & [COLOR=darkolivegreen]Xbox 360[/COLOR] installs / repairs in [U][COLOR=red]West Yorkshire,[/COLOR][COLOR=red] UK[/COLOR][/U] - [COLOR=#ff0000]Nationwide Service [/COLOR][COLOR=darkorange]-[/COLOR]Please Contact me by PM for more info[/B][/COLOR][/SIZE] :)

[B][SIZE=4][COLOR=#ff0000][COLOR=seagreen]360 DVD Drive Fw.[/COLOR] [COLOR=orange]Upgraded/Recovered/Restored -[/COLOR] Bad Flash? No Problem! [COLOR=blue]PM for info[/COLOR][/COLOR][/SIZE][/B]

[B][SIZE=4][COLOR=#ff0000][COLOR=yellowgreen]XBOX 360[/COLOR] [COLOR=blue]v1.0[/COLOR] [COLOR=blue]- [/COLOR][/COLOR][COLOR=red]Samsung TS-H943A [COLOR=orange]w/ iXtreme 1.4 Fw.[/COLOR] :D [/COLOR][/SIZE][/B]
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 20-06-2004, 10:07
Warlock's Avatar
Warlock Warlock is offline
Retired FF Mod
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: US
Posts: 3,533
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Warlock is on a distinguished road
Yes, definately go with a Duo or magicV over the magic 3.1. They cost about the same.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 20-06-2004, 10:09
seaneyb2003's Avatar
seaneyb2003 seaneyb2003 is offline
Die Hard Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 2,666
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
seaneyb2003 is an unknown quantity at this point
if you want a bit more class get a matrix infinity. But yes duo is good i can vouch for that as i have one in mine.
__________________
[COLOR=Black][B]if it isnt broke dont fix it![/B]
[B]www.consoleupgrades.co.uk
For All your console needs[/B]
[COLOR=RoyalBlue][B]UK'S No.1 I.C.E [URL=www.audiorebel.co.uk]www.audiorebel.co.uk[/URL][/B][/COLOR]
[/COLOR][COLOR=DarkSlateBlue][/COLOR]
[COLOR=Black][B][/B][/COLOR][COLOR=DarkSlateBlue][/COLOR]
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 20-06-2004, 10:52
lufcfan's Avatar
lufcfan lufcfan is offline
Die Hard Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Brighouse, England
Posts: 2,983
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
lufcfan is on a distinguished road
Send a message via AIM to lufcfan Send a message via MSN to lufcfan
There are 3 good reasons not to go for Magic 3 :

Magic V
Matrix Infinity
Duo
__________________
[SIZE=3][COLOR=orange][B][COLOR=blue]PS2, [/COLOR][COLOR=yellowgreen]XBOX[/COLOR] & [COLOR=darkolivegreen]Xbox 360[/COLOR] installs / repairs in [U][COLOR=red]West Yorkshire,[/COLOR][COLOR=red] UK[/COLOR][/U] - [COLOR=#ff0000]Nationwide Service [/COLOR][COLOR=darkorange]-[/COLOR]Please Contact me by PM for more info[/B][/COLOR][/SIZE] :)

[B][SIZE=4][COLOR=#ff0000][COLOR=seagreen]360 DVD Drive Fw.[/COLOR] [COLOR=orange]Upgraded/Recovered/Restored -[/COLOR] Bad Flash? No Problem! [COLOR=blue]PM for info[/COLOR][/COLOR][/SIZE][/B]

[B][SIZE=4][COLOR=#ff0000][COLOR=yellowgreen]XBOX 360[/COLOR] [COLOR=blue]v1.0[/COLOR] [COLOR=blue]- [/COLOR][/COLOR][COLOR=red]Samsung TS-H943A [COLOR=orange]w/ iXtreme 1.4 Fw.[/COLOR] :D [/COLOR][/SIZE][/B]
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 20-06-2004, 10:54
seaneyb2003's Avatar
seaneyb2003 seaneyb2003 is offline
Die Hard Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 2,666
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
seaneyb2003 is an unknown quantity at this point
yea hehehe,

i rememeber bout 2 year's ago when the magic 3.1 was the best chip.
__________________
[COLOR=Black][B]if it isnt broke dont fix it![/B]
[B]www.consoleupgrades.co.uk
For All your console needs[/B]
[COLOR=RoyalBlue][B]UK'S No.1 I.C.E [URL=www.audiorebel.co.uk]www.audiorebel.co.uk[/URL][/B][/COLOR]
[/COLOR][COLOR=DarkSlateBlue][/COLOR]
[COLOR=Black][B][/B][/COLOR][COLOR=DarkSlateBlue][/COLOR]
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 20-06-2004, 11:02
lufcfan's Avatar
lufcfan lufcfan is offline
Die Hard Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Brighouse, England
Posts: 2,983
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
lufcfan is on a distinguished road
Send a message via AIM to lufcfan Send a message via MSN to lufcfan
Then we realised just how crap it really was, lol!
__________________
[SIZE=3][COLOR=orange][B][COLOR=blue]PS2, [/COLOR][COLOR=yellowgreen]XBOX[/COLOR] & [COLOR=darkolivegreen]Xbox 360[/COLOR] installs / repairs in [U][COLOR=red]West Yorkshire,[/COLOR][COLOR=red] UK[/COLOR][/U] - [COLOR=#ff0000]Nationwide Service [/COLOR][COLOR=darkorange]-[/COLOR]Please Contact me by PM for more info[/B][/COLOR][/SIZE] :)

[B][SIZE=4][COLOR=#ff0000][COLOR=seagreen]360 DVD Drive Fw.[/COLOR] [COLOR=orange]Upgraded/Recovered/Restored -[/COLOR] Bad Flash? No Problem! [COLOR=blue]PM for info[/COLOR][/COLOR][/SIZE][/B]

[B][SIZE=4][COLOR=#ff0000][COLOR=yellowgreen]XBOX 360[/COLOR] [COLOR=blue]v1.0[/COLOR] [COLOR=blue]- [/COLOR][/COLOR][COLOR=red]Samsung TS-H943A [COLOR=orange]w/ iXtreme 1.4 Fw.[/COLOR] :D [/COLOR][/SIZE][/B]
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 20-06-2004, 11:10
seaneyb2003's Avatar
seaneyb2003 seaneyb2003 is offline
Die Hard Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 2,666
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
seaneyb2003 is an unknown quantity at this point
yup then the real daddys came on the scene. Like now its all varied between magic v duo and matrix infinity i would personally use these 3 chips beacause of there relibility.
__________________
[COLOR=Black][B]if it isnt broke dont fix it![/B]
[B]www.consoleupgrades.co.uk
For All your console needs[/B]
[COLOR=RoyalBlue][B]UK'S No.1 I.C.E [URL=www.audiorebel.co.uk]www.audiorebel.co.uk[/URL][/B][/COLOR]
[/COLOR][COLOR=DarkSlateBlue][/COLOR]
[COLOR=Black][B][/B][/COLOR][COLOR=DarkSlateBlue][/COLOR]
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 26-07-2004, 12:25
acem77 acem77 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 12
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
acem77
the problem was my action replay after some testing i found it to be true.
most new online games will not boot with a action replay being used 1st even if they are the original copies.
i ended up buying a games shark 2 ver 4.
this will let me boot any ps2 dvd or cdrom backup with my old nova chip.
it is cool cuz the nova is so old the dnas does not detect the chip.
i can play the original or copies.
on my magic modded system i have to make a copy of the online game and patch it for to get past the dnas check. an original copy will fail the dnas check.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 13-09-2004, 08:41
Netto Netto is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Brazil
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Netto is on a distinguished road
I have the same problem!

Please acem77, tell me if you have really tested an original copy of GameShark 2 version 4 or the Region X with the Novachip!

Games like Resident Evil Outbreak and Burnout 3 don't works with my old GameShark 2.

I need your help!

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 13-09-2004, 09:22
Dustpuppy Dustpuppy is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Sweden
Posts: 189
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Dustpuppy
Send a message via ICQ to Dustpuppy Send a message via Yahoo to Dustpuppy
One thing went thru my mind.
Why not use the dna patched backup in your magic3 console and the original in your nova? shouldn't that work if your the games not detects your novachip?
__________________
SCPH-102 w/Stelth mod
SCPH-30004 R w/DUO mod
LG GSA-4040B
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 13-09-2004, 09:39
Netto Netto is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Brazil
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Netto is on a distinguished road
Unhappy

Quote:
Originally Posted by seaneyb2003
hey,

the best thing to do is update your gameshark 2 like swap magic 3 or even get a soldered chip such as duo or matrix infinity. We have alot of respected installers on this forum just check out the ultimate info sticky. You wont go wrong there.
I don't have money to change the modchip now!
This is why I need an easy solution!

The best way for me is buy an original copy of Region X, but I don't know if it works well with novachip + those games!

HELP!
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 13-09-2004, 10:10
TylerDurden's Avatar
TylerDurden TylerDurden is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: FileForums
Posts: 5,530
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
TylerDurden is on a distinguished road
Send a message via AIM to TylerDurden
Duo's cost like $25. You dont have $25?



Tyler!
__________________
[B]V7 Ps2 Messiah 2
V13 PSTwo DMS4 Pro and HD-Connect(Installed myself)[/B]
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 13-09-2004, 10:20
seaneyb2003's Avatar
seaneyb2003 seaneyb2003 is offline
Die Hard Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 2,666
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
seaneyb2003 is an unknown quantity at this point
man im sure someone will have a modchip at a good price even lower than your swap crap disk. What version ps2 u got?
__________________
[COLOR=Black][B]if it isnt broke dont fix it![/B]
[B]www.consoleupgrades.co.uk
For All your console needs[/B]
[COLOR=RoyalBlue][B]UK'S No.1 I.C.E [URL=www.audiorebel.co.uk]www.audiorebel.co.uk[/URL][/B][/COLOR]
[/COLOR][COLOR=DarkSlateBlue][/COLOR]
[COLOR=Black][B][/B][/COLOR][COLOR=DarkSlateBlue][/COLOR]
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 13-09-2004, 10:38
Netto Netto is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Brazil
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Netto is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by TylerDurden
Duo's cost like $25. You dont have $25?

Tyler!
I live in Brazil!
Here one good modchip cost like R$300 (reais) or US$100 (dollar).

Understood?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
does anyone else having problems with ver 1-3 ps2 playing dvd-r backups? Kadawg PS2 Games 16 12-04-2004 07:41
Backups online bballer PS2 Games 2 03-03-2004 20:58
Problems with backups on Magic 3.1..... m0hx PS2 Games 26 14-09-2003 04:04
Problems with Booting up DVD-R Backups cl0ckw0rk1337 PS2 Games 21 31-08-2003 08:50
Problems playing Battlefield 1942 online Maikosch PC Games 0 15-02-2003 03:37



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:15.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2000-2017, FileForums @ http://fileforums.com