Go Back   FileForums > Off Topic > Hardware

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-02-2010, 14:29
mfaiyazali mfaiyazali is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: fiji
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
mfaiyazali is on a distinguished road
Unhappy Help!!! Please..........

hello guys iam having a very wierd problem with my computer recently....When ever i try to turn on the cpu it turns on for 1 second and than turns off by itself , than it turns itself on without me pushing the power button on the cpu , after that it turns off ...this process continues for about 3-5 minutes and than eventually the cpu boots and the desktop comes up. Once the desktop comes up the computer doesnt turn off and it even doesnt give me any errors ...it just runs normal..........{Very Wierd} My computer is only 6month old.........

Could anyone pliz tell me wat is wrong with my computer?


Pliz help!!!!!

Last edited by mfaiyazali; 03-02-2010 at 14:32.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 03-02-2010, 15:47
Joe Forster/STA's Avatar
Joe Forster/STA Joe Forster/STA is offline
Senior forum member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Hungary
Posts: 9,355
Thanks: 4
Thanked 146 Times in 89 Posts
Joe Forster/STA is on a distinguished road
The PSU may be acting weird. Check the wall outlet by plugging a lamp (a not very precious one ) into it; does its light tremble? If the PSU is dying, I would stop experimenting because it can burn out the complete insides of your PC: motherboard, cards, hard disks (with important data)!
__________________
Joe Forster/STA
For more information, see the FileForums forum rules and the PC Games forum FAQ!
Don't contact me via E-mail or PM to ask for help with anything other than patches (or software in general) done by me, otherwise your request may be deleted without any reply!
Homepage: http://sta.c64.org, E-mail: [email protected]; for attachments, send compressed (ZIP or RAR) files only, otherwise your E-mail will bounce back!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-02-2010, 11:18
mfaiyazali mfaiyazali is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: fiji
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
mfaiyazali is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by Joe Forster/STA View Post
The PSU may be acting weird. Check the wall outlet by plugging a lamp (a not very precious one ) into it; does its light tremble? If the PSU is dying, I would stop experimenting because it can burn out the complete insides of your PC: motherboard, cards, hard disks (with important data)!
Thanks for replying.......the wall outlet is working fine as i hve other things pluged into it which works fine.........but deas 1 thing i dont understand is that if the powersupply waz dying {coz thatz wat i thought 2} how cum it works on my other cpu?..Very Weird man..........
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-02-2010, 11:56
Joe Forster/STA's Avatar
Joe Forster/STA Joe Forster/STA is offline
Senior forum member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Hungary
Posts: 9,355
Thanks: 4
Thanked 146 Times in 89 Posts
Joe Forster/STA is on a distinguished road
Explain what you mean by "it works on the other CPU": is that a double-core CPU or what? If so, perhaps, the corner of the CPU got chipped off. (This was a frequent problem a few years ago...)
__________________
Joe Forster/STA
For more information, see the FileForums forum rules and the PC Games forum FAQ!
Don't contact me via E-mail or PM to ask for help with anything other than patches (or software in general) done by me, otherwise your request may be deleted without any reply!
Homepage: http://sta.c64.org, E-mail: [email protected]; for attachments, send compressed (ZIP or RAR) files only, otherwise your E-mail will bounce back!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-02-2010, 12:40
mfaiyazali mfaiyazali is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: fiji
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
mfaiyazali is on a distinguished road
Well actually iam runing on a quad processor.Wat i meant waz that i tried the PSU on my other pc which has a Duo processor....both are of the same chipset...
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-02-2010, 13:56
Joe Forster/STA's Avatar
Joe Forster/STA Joe Forster/STA is offline
Senior forum member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Hungary
Posts: 9,355
Thanks: 4
Thanked 146 Times in 89 Posts
Joe Forster/STA is on a distinguished road
Then the motherboard may be dying. Hey, got an idea! Check the little button battery (usually of type CR2032) that keeps the CMOS alive when the PC is otherwise switched off; when the battery was bad (that may happen even with a brand new one, although rarely), such boot failures were common on my PC's.
__________________
Joe Forster/STA
For more information, see the FileForums forum rules and the PC Games forum FAQ!
Don't contact me via E-mail or PM to ask for help with anything other than patches (or software in general) done by me, otherwise your request may be deleted without any reply!
Homepage: http://sta.c64.org, E-mail: [email protected]; for attachments, send compressed (ZIP or RAR) files only, otherwise your E-mail will bounce back!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-02-2010, 16:09
DABhand DABhand is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Near my PC
Posts: 5,411
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
DABhand is on a distinguished road
Could be one of the following.

1. Not strong enough PSU for his current system build.

2. His jumpers are incorrectly set, i.e. HDD lights, Power switch etc.

3. As said Mobo could be on its way out.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-02-2010, 18:06
JoyBoy's Avatar
JoyBoy JoyBoy is offline
Sex Machine
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Bizzaro World
Posts: 2,583
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
JoyBoy is on a distinguished road
Why has no one told the OP to call Ghostbusters?
__________________
#FileForums on EFNET
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-02-2010, 19:28
mfaiyazali mfaiyazali is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: fiji
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
mfaiyazali is on a distinguished road
Ive got a feeling that the motherboard is dieing as i have changed the ram, the PSU {1000w now, before it waz 600w}.......Now the cmputer just turns on and off,on and off...but no desktop cums up...........Thanks guys for helping me out.......This is indeed a great forum...............Thanks once again.........
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-02-2010, 19:33
mfaiyazali mfaiyazali is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: fiji
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
mfaiyazali is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by JoyBoy View Post
Why has no one told the OP to call Ghostbusters?
I did bro but the ghostbusters got busted themselves while stealing my stuff.........lol .

Last edited by mfaiyazali; 04-02-2010 at 19:40.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 06-02-2010, 03:03
JoyBoy's Avatar
JoyBoy JoyBoy is offline
Sex Machine
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Bizzaro World
Posts: 2,583
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
JoyBoy is on a distinguished road
Bustin' makes me feel good!
__________________
#FileForums on EFNET
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 23-12-2010, 22:32
Derius Derius is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Derius is on a distinguished road
I think the first step is you just install the new window. Then hope there will be no problem in your PC. If the problem will be still there then again tel me what error is?
So first step is yours o install the new windows in your PC.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 23:03.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2000-2017, FileForums @ http://fileforums.com