Go Back   FileForums > Off Topic > Hardware

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-11-2009, 02:53
steeveshephord steeveshephord is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: uk
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
steeveshephord is on a distinguished road
Question Dual channel

Hello,

I'm currently running 2x1gb sticks and 2x512mb sticks of DDR400 on a ASUS A8N-SLI S939 motherboard running Windows XP home

So my question is are both sets of ram running in dual channel, what set takes priority ex. channel 1-3 or 2-4 for timings, and any other relevant info you may have.

Thanks,
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 10-11-2009, 03:24
DABhand DABhand is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Near my PC
Posts: 5,411
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
DABhand is on a distinguished road
Yeah if patching RAM's are in specific channels then they are dual'd.

Not sure on that motherboard but most asus works like Channels 1+2 and 3+4, so have you 2 1GB sticks on 1 and 2, your half gig on 3 and 4. All of them will be dual'd.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-11-2009, 04:20
Luciel's Avatar
Luciel Luciel is offline
I am looking at you...
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: MŠlaga, Spain.
Posts: 2,692
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Luciel is on a distinguished road
Yes, but it depends on what slots they are, all ASUS mobos as far as i know work in both ways, for AMD itīs 1 & 2 and then 3 & 4, for Intel mobos, itīs 1 & 3 and then 2 & 4.
__________________
I didn't ban you, BW did!
cd-2-dvd.com

Quote:
Are you by chance a poet or writer ? Just wondering, your writing style is quite a shock to those of us who are used to illiterate warez kiddies going "OMG WT!F whErEz Da CRACKS !" all the time. You should bundle your signatures and get them published
Quote:
Ever though that you never got viruses because...
... Norton didn't find them?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 19-11-2009, 05:30
[Psych] [Psych] is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: In a heap :-)
Posts: 201
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
[Psych] is on a distinguished road
Depends on the board/chipset moreso than the type of CPU (intel/amd) it supports i've found. It's usually 1+2, 3+4, or 1+3, 2+4 as previously stated (or 1+2+3+4 of course). Not sure why you want to know which will have 'priority' as I don't understand what you mean. For dual-channel to work properly you need to make sure matched pairs are fitted (speed and size ideally). Although dual-channel will most likely still work on your board, I would see about getting rid of those 512 sticks and maybe placing some more 1GB sticks in (check your chipset doesn't have a celing of 2GB though).
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 19-11-2009, 13:22
DABhand DABhand is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Near my PC
Posts: 5,411
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
DABhand is on a distinguished road
I didnt notice the naughty url in his sig before lol
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 19-11-2009, 14:27
Joe Forster/STA's Avatar
Joe Forster/STA Joe Forster/STA is offline
Senior forum member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Hungary
Posts: 9,344
Thanks: 4
Thanked 135 Times in 83 Posts
Joe Forster/STA is on a distinguished road
... not anymore...
__________________
Joe Forster/STA
For more information, see the FileForums forum rules and the PC Games forum FAQ!
Don't contact me via E-mail or PM to ask for help with anything other than patches (or software in general) done by me, otherwise your request may be deleted without any reply!
Homepage: http://sta.c64.org, E-mail: [email protected]; for attachments, send compressed (ZIP or RAR) files only, otherwise your E-mail will bounce back!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
IRC Channel Now Live JoyBoy PC Games 22 07-04-2014 13:19
Is the Ps2 game Black on dual layer DVD? maxxxpain PS2 Games 6 04-04-2006 13:47
concerning previous posts & Dual DVD Burners unclebob CD/DVD-Writers 1 24-01-2006 02:28
DVD-R Dual layer for Ps2 backups. Any Success? maxxxpain PS2 Games 6 24-10-2005 04:10
Serious problem with my Dual Channel RAMs GLH Hardware 40 10-09-2005 15:22



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:44.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2000-2017, FileForums @ http://fileforums.com