Go Back   FileForums > CD & DVD > CD/DVD-Writers

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 26-10-2006, 11:44
rocwood rocwood is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: ireland
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
rocwood is on a distinguished road
changing burn speed

I have a philips DVDR1640P dvd/cd rewriter and cannot change the write speed. Well it lets me change it but when the burn begins the speed changes. I need to burn at 2x speed or the DVD's wont play in my DVD player. I pick 2x speed from drop down menu in Imgtool burn and when the DVD starts to burn the speed is 2.4x. I contacted philips and updated firmware, they said this should work but it has'nt. Can anyone help PLEASE
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 26-10-2006, 13:59
Joe Forster/STA's Avatar
Joe Forster/STA Joe Forster/STA is offline
Senior forum member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Hungary
Posts: 9,406
Thanks: 6
Thanked 166 Times in 103 Posts
Joe Forster/STA is on a distinguished road
There's no significant difference between 2x and 2.4x speed; I don't think that a DVD player can detect THAT! However, the speed difference can also be caused by using DVD+R(W) instead of DVD-R(W) or vice versa. Note the plus sign and the hyphen! These are different standards; your DVD player may be abe to play only one of them (probably, the hyphen one). Read the manual of your DVD player (again), carefully.
__________________
Joe Forster/STA
For more information, see the FileForums forum rules and the PC Games forum FAQ!
Don't contact me via E-mail or PM to ask for help with anything other than patches (or software in general) done by me, otherwise your request may be deleted without any reply!
Homepage: http://sta.c64.org, E-mail: [email protected]; for attachments, send compressed (ZIP or RAR) files only, otherwise your E-mail will bounce back!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 26-10-2006, 14:11
rocwood rocwood is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: ireland
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
rocwood is on a distinguished road
You would think there would be no difference. I got the rewriter last year the one I had before copied at 2x speed and they worked in the DVD player, now when i copy them at 2.4x the message disc error comes up. I am using DVD-not+

Last edited by rocwood; 26-10-2006 at 14:14.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 26-10-2006, 14:17
Joe Forster/STA's Avatar
Joe Forster/STA Joe Forster/STA is offline
Senior forum member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Hungary
Posts: 9,406
Thanks: 6
Thanked 166 Times in 103 Posts
Joe Forster/STA is on a distinguished road
As far as I know, the burner "communicates" with the disc, reading in the speeds that the disc itself supports. Perhaps, the reason why you can only write that particular disc at 2.4x speed instead of 2x is that you're using a different (lower quality?!) media... See http://www.digitalfaq.com/media/dvdmedia.htm for a media quality guide.
__________________
Joe Forster/STA
For more information, see the FileForums forum rules and the PC Games forum FAQ!
Don't contact me via E-mail or PM to ask for help with anything other than patches (or software in general) done by me, otherwise your request may be deleted without any reply!
Homepage: http://sta.c64.org, E-mail: [email protected]; for attachments, send compressed (ZIP or RAR) files only, otherwise your E-mail will bounce back!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 26-10-2006, 14:28
rocwood rocwood is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: ireland
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
rocwood is on a distinguished road
I have tried different discs, but will try a better quality disc and see what happens.....thanks
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 27-10-2006, 06:02
rocwood rocwood is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: ireland
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
rocwood is on a distinguished road
Now I have tried sony dvd-r 1x-4x, when i use this disc, i get no option, burn at 4x speed. When i use a 1x-2x disc it writes at 2.4x, I never had this problem with my old dvd-cd rewriter, and that is the only thing I have changed on my computer and the only reason i changed it was it broke.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 27-10-2006, 08:10
Sidney Sidney is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Home on the range
Posts: 239
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Sidney
Only Philips have the expertise to suport your drive.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 27-10-2006, 08:45
rocwood rocwood is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: ireland
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
rocwood is on a distinguished road
i'll try them again, they said by downloading the latest firmware my problem should be solved.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What is max speed to burn DC images? camperkillers DC Games 3 25-08-2002 13:48
Safe Speed to burn DC games? JHyi823 DC Games 3 25-04-2002 18:23
How to burn Need For Speed: High Stakes ? TwysteD PC Games 3 18-09-2001 15:01
Audio-only discs, burn speed not listed Wayniac CD/DVD Recordable Media 4 05-06-2001 22:57
HELP SPEED DEVILS BURN??? tammikm DC Games 0 15-11-2000 11:59



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 13:36.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2000-2017, FileForums @ http://fileforums.com